We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25 Euro by Taxi from the Airport : airport hotel?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Mercure Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Haagseweg 20, 1066 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #142 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“25 Euro by Taxi from the Airport : airport hotel?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

...arriving late in a cold night, already jetlagged, and having to get up early in the morning: do you wait for the 30 min interval bus? If you do not and take the taxi, it will be 25 Euro ( for ref I had paid some 50 Euro for a taxi ride from La Defense in Paris to CDG) Unhappy with the cost of the ride, you arrive at a Mercure that is not the flagship of the chain. It looks tired.

The shuttles to airport run on time but to call this an airport hotel is 'limit'. My business travel agent needs to do more research!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    273
    140
    24
    13
See reviews for
70
198
68
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
saronnolu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

The hotel has a parking but they request money for day. It was the terrible thing that I faced. But please inform that accross the road there is a FREE parking lot. It is not easy to get city center ,In the weekend shuttle bus hours are very rare.
But it can be said it is a clean hotel with great breakfast

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, VT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Perfectly acceptable hotel for a business trip and proximity to airport. Shuttle to airport ran as scheduled. Not a hotel that would be a special part of a getaway.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino, Piemonte
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

I've been at this Hotel after a business day in Amsterdam, and I appreciated it mostly because of its proximity to Schiphol Airport: since I had a flight in the morning after my night stay, it has been ok taking advantage of the free shuttle.
On the other hand, the position is not amazing at all, facing the Highway and being far from everything else.
The building is modern and quite quiet, despite the works they were doing in that period. It has no character and it is very anonymous: a typical resort for business people in hurry.
I didn't find a lift. The basicly furnished room was clean, as well as the bathroom.
Much better if you have a car (large parking), so you can reach a restaurant different from the one offered by the Hotel. I had not a good experience here: heavy food for too high prices.
A very good and rich breakfast compensated my disappointment for the evening dinner.
The staff was quite friendly and available to give information.
I did appreciated the computer station with free internet connection.
It is nice the quiet meadow with a pond in the middle.
The check-in was good and fast. The check-out was a bit complicated because of a problem with the voucher released by the travel agency.
It depends on personal needs, but I would like better to spend a night in Amsterdam elsewhere (maybe even a three stars hotel), especially if I would travel as a tourist.
My answer "yes" to the question below ("would you recommend this hotel to a friend?") is mainly due to the average comfort and it is more addressed to one-night visitors who may be fast leavers from the airport the morning after.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I won't stay here again. I chose it because it was cheap, near the airport and had shuttle service to and from the airport. The staff was friendly at check-in and check-out and the elevator worked. The hotel was old and dark and tired. There were bare wires hanging out of the ceilings of the rooms and hall-ways. The bed wasn't very comfortable. There is a different shuttle schedule in the weekends than during the week and we wasted a good bit of time waiting for the shuttle to come to take us to the airport. This is the sort of place your secretary books you when you forget to send her flowers for Secretary's Day.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

If you are looking for a fair room at a fair price with proximity to Schiphol airprot, the Mercure will do. The room was small, reasonably clean, with basic furnishings. The lobby had computers with free internet. The hotel bar was not outrageously priced. The hotel is isolated off of a freeway interchange, with shopping limited to a small gas station with convenience store adjacent to the hotel. The shuttle service was free and on time. Staff were cordial.

I have used the A4 for this purpose before.
I prefer the Mercure for its lower rates and free shuttle in both directions.
I prefer the A4 for the size of the rooms and quality of the furnishings.
Both the Mercure and the A4 were rather slow on check in. The surge of arrivals off of the incoming shuttles overstrains desk staff and results in long lines.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

Booked this hotel at Schipol when we missed our connecting flight and KLM whose flight had been late were not interested.
Cost 75 euros for night.
pleasant modern hotel clsoe to airport with free shuttle running every hour.
Staff were ok
room small but adequate
didn't eat in the hotel as it seemed a bit expensive
not a lot closeby t the hotel
returned on the shuttle to the airport for a meal

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Airport

Address: Oude Haagseweg 20, 1066 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 152 non smoking rooms, situated 10km from Schiphol Airport,between the highway A4, A9 & A10,Mercure Amsterdam Airport is the ideal hotel for business and leisure purposes.We have 6 suites, 16 recently renovated conference rooms, a Business Point M., a restaurant and a cozy bar with terrace over-looking the lake "Nieuwe Meer".The Rai Congress Center and the city center are easy to reach by car,taxi or public transportation.We offer you a complimentary shuttle service to and from Schiphol Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.