We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay and check - in particularly - shame about the shuttle driver on departure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Mercure Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Haagseweg 20, 1066 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #126 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay and check - in particularly - shame about the shuttle driver on departure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Excellent check-in , I was very late to the hotel , 23.00ish on the 24th July , but he kept the bar open so I could get a drink before we did formalities and he looked after my luggage save me going to the room and back again .... Room excellent and quite , breakfast also good - really no down sides except the very miserable shuttle driver on the Friday 25th am , very sarcastic and was soliciting for a tip . In complete contrast to the guy that was on the previous evening of the 24th who was superb .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAir, Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Amsterdam Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive as well as constructive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. We hope that we can welcome you soon back again at Mercure Amsterdam Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    250
    133
    22
    11
See reviews for
67
175
67
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Ok, the rooms are very comfortable, breakfast is excellent and the staff is helpful.
But for the amount of money spent you would expect much, much better: the rooms are impersonal and rather small, the location is horrible (between a motorway and a gas station, in the middle of nowhere...) and there is no swimming pool (I admit this is not a "big" issue, but not having any and charging over a hundred euros per night is not forgivable !)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacile, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, 20 minutes by bus from the city center. I went there on business for a couple of days, and I booked it again for another business trip with some colleagues.
Excellent international breakfast, clean room and kind personnel.
Near the airport but without the noise of the planes.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

3 of us stayed here for 1 night before going to the airport. We stayed on the 3rd floor and had 3 big luggages with us. It was quite a bit of a hassle getting them into our room because the elevator is small and old with no automatic doors. The room was quite spacious and reasonably priced but the service is not that great. There was a line for the check in and only 2 staffs, service was very slow. Also, when we asked for assistance to help open the sofa bed in our room, they said it would take 30 minutes. They didn't open the sofa bed yet despite the fact that we already told them in advance that there will be 3 people in the room. But if you are looking for a hotel within reasonable distance from the airport and quite far from the city center, this is the hotel.

Room Tip: First floor rooms recommended if you have a lot of luggage because the elevator is small and very ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We booked with ACCOR Club membership, which may offer some advantages.
Getting there: Directions from the airport are good. If travelling by car, note that the entrance is from Oude Haagseweg/Anderletchlaan. I suggest putting the full address into the sat nav and having the driver study the map in Mecure’s confirmation email.
Parking: Free while checking in and unloading the car. Overnight during the week was expensive. There are parking spaces across the road which may be free.
Reception: The high point of the hotel! Five stars plus to the delightful receptionists who checked us in and out, welcomed us, provided us with directions to airport and the city and even reminded me watch my handbag while in the city centre. You are very valuable employees and I hope Mercure will check the roster for pm July 15; am July 16; and am July 17 and reward you.
Location: Situated in a leafy garden but very close to motorway. Our room on the Oude Haagseweg side was quiet even with window open. There are walking tracks close by but we didn’t see any restaurants or street life. It’s a short bus trip to the city centre and airport (free shuttle). Ideal if passing through or overnighting before/after a flight but it’s not my choice for a longer Amsterdam city experience.
Inside: It’s a long walk from reception to the elevator, which has a very heavy door that has to be opened manually. This is likely a fire safety requirement, not a perversion of Mecure.
Room: Bigger than the Mecure in Gronningen: frig, tea/coffee tray, safe, blackout curtains, cakes of soap, shampoos, tissues. Pleasant leafy outlook. The bath towels were so thin it was hard work to dry oneself. Wifi was included, TV was pay only.
Eating: Because of the isolation we opted to eat dinner at the hotel. Food was somewhere between bland and tasteless and service (LOL) was snooty at first, slow to non-existent thereafter. We were one of three tables with one or two people at each, but we waited an hour for our main course. Not a word from the waitstaff, no offer of another drink, no explanation. Another long wait to order coffee and get the bill.
Breakfast on our first morning was as bad. Mainly empty dishes: “Of course more bacon/ eggs/pancakes/fruit/ tomato is coming madam,” was the supervisor’s disdainful reply. Half an hour later I gained the impression that they were always coming and rarely there. A half full tray of croissants was snatched, by the same supervisor, from under my husband’s hand and did not reappear for 30 minutes.
The poor dining service is the reason for a 3-star not 4-star rating.
On the second morning with different staff, breakfast was much better. Dishes were generally available and replenished quickly, as they were at the Mecure in Gronningen. The toaster was the best I experienced in five weeks in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights after a Viking Rhine River cruise...what a great experience! The staff was wonderful and very helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable. Bus stop (easiest way to go into Amsterdam) a block away. Free shuttle to airport to catch our train to Paris. Best surprise: a fantastic little restaurant in hotel bar area! Great food and great staff! The hotel is also in a lovely setting.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Airport

Address: Oude Haagseweg 20, 1066 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 152 non smoking rooms, situated 10km from Schiphol Airport,between the highway A4, A9 & A10,Mercure Amsterdam Airport is the ideal hotel for business and leisure purposes.We have 6 suites, 16 recently renovated conference rooms, a Business Point M., a restaurant and a cozy bar with terrace over-looking the lake "Nieuwe Meer".The Rai Congress Center and the city center are easy to reach by car,taxi or public transportation.We offer you a complimentary shuttle service to and from Schiphol Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.