We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good in a nice position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Mercure Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Haagseweg 20, 1066 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Sacile, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good in a nice position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice hotel, 20 minutes by bus from the city center. I went there on business for a couple of days, and I booked it again for another business trip with some colleagues.
Excellent international breakfast, clean room and kind personnel.
Near the airport but without the noise of the planes.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    216
    122
    21
    11
See reviews for
55
158
65
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

3 of us stayed here for 1 night before going to the airport. We stayed on the 3rd floor and had 3 big luggages with us. It was quite a bit of a hassle getting them into our room because the elevator is small and old with no automatic doors. The room was quite spacious and reasonably priced but the service is not that great. There was a line for the check in and only 2 staffs, service was very slow. Also, when we asked for assistance to help open the sofa bed in our room, they said it would take 30 minutes. They didn't open the sofa bed yet despite the fact that we already told them in advance that there will be 3 people in the room. But if you are looking for a hotel within reasonable distance from the airport and quite far from the city center, this is the hotel.

Room Tip: First floor rooms recommended if you have a lot of luggage because the elevator is small and very ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked with ACCOR Club membership, which may offer some advantages.
Getting there: Directions from the airport are good. If travelling by car, note that the entrance is from Oude Haagseweg/Anderletchlaan. I suggest putting the full address into the sat nav and having the driver study the map in Mecure’s confirmation email.
Parking: Free while checking in and unloading the car. Overnight during the week was expensive. There are parking spaces across the road which may be free.
Reception: The high point of the hotel! Five stars plus to the delightful receptionists who checked us in and out, welcomed us, provided us with directions to airport and the city and even reminded me watch my handbag while in the city centre. You are very valuable employees and I hope Mercure will check the roster for pm July 15; am July 16; and am July 17 and reward you.
Location: Situated in a leafy garden but very close to motorway. Our room on the Oude Haagseweg side was quiet even with window open. There are walking tracks close by but we didn’t see any restaurants or street life. It’s a short bus trip to the city centre and airport (free shuttle). Ideal if passing through or overnighting before/after a flight but it’s not my choice for a longer Amsterdam city experience.
Inside: It’s a long walk from reception to the elevator, which has a very heavy door that has to be opened manually. This is likely a fire safety requirement, not a perversion of Mecure.
Room: Bigger than the Mecure in Gronningen: frig, tea/coffee tray, safe, blackout curtains, cakes of soap, shampoos, tissues. Pleasant leafy outlook. The bath towels were so thin it was hard work to dry oneself. Wifi was included, TV was pay only.
Eating: Because of the isolation we opted to eat dinner at the hotel. Food was somewhere between bland and tasteless and service (LOL) was snooty at first, slow to non-existent thereafter. We were one of three tables with one or two people at each, but we waited an hour for our main course. Not a word from the waitstaff, no offer of another drink, no explanation. Another long wait to order coffee and get the bill.
Breakfast on our first morning was as bad. Mainly empty dishes: “Of course more bacon/ eggs/pancakes/fruit/ tomato is coming madam,” was the supervisor’s disdainful reply. Half an hour later I gained the impression that they were always coming and rarely there. A half full tray of croissants was snatched, by the same supervisor, from under my husband’s hand and did not reappear for 30 minutes.
The poor dining service is the reason for a 3-star not 4-star rating.
On the second morning with different staff, breakfast was much better. Dishes were generally available and replenished quickly, as they were at the Mecure in Gronningen. The toaster was the best I experienced in five weeks in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights after a Viking Rhine River cruise...what a great experience! The staff was wonderful and very helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable. Bus stop (easiest way to go into Amsterdam) a block away. Free shuttle to airport to catch our train to Paris. Best surprise: a fantastic little restaurant in hotel bar area! Great food and great staff! The hotel is also in a lovely setting.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

4 of us stay for 2 nights. The hotel itself is dated but fine. We met some lovely staffs during our stay, UNTIL check-out! The front desk staff on that day (July 19th, around 11am, darker skin, not tall, woman) was very rude! She seems to lack of everybody else's passion for work at all! Other staffs we've met were smiley and greeted us every time. But not her!
When we asked sperated bills for the 2 rooms (can we have separated bills, pls?) she didn't reply in anyway, no words, no nod or shake of head, but kept doing her thing. So I asked again, and she relied :" I'm doing it right now!" impatient and very rude. In the mean time, other dutch guests approached her and she became very friendly. Because our friends and us had a misunderstanding (they thought we will pay, we thought they already paid), so it took sometime to figure out how to pay the bills. She said something like "they already check-out, but i'm telling you they didn't pay!" with her eyes rolling at us.
We are Asian who go to the netherlands almost every month, we were never treated that way, certainly not in a so-called 4 star hotel. So we begin to wonder if she is a "racist" or just only serve caucasians or locals.
I feel so angry about her behaviour and decide to write this bad review. I don't think I'll ever stay in this hotel. (too bad other staffs are so nice)
Oh, did I mention at the end she said "thank you for staying with us and have a nice day" while she is busy doing other work, looking down to her files and without a slight of smile or actually mean it? We felt she meant "go away and don't come back".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

At short notice I needed an hotel at the airport for an overnight stay before flying back to London. The staff on reception were so friendly, more than you might normally expect from an Airport location. Room was clean and comfortable. I decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant which based on the menu should have been good. Sadly the service let the whole thing down. The wait to have your order taken was reasonable and the waiter took the time to explain the different fish dishes (Cod and Salmon). Then the wait.....it was so long! Nothing happened for probably thirty or forty minutes and when it did arrive having ordered the Cod I got the Salmon. They weren't sure how to tell the difference even though the Salmon had Salmon Eggs on the top and was showing pink on the flesh. Another long wait. They promised 6 minutes it took fifteen to twenty. It was good by the time I got my supper but to be honest I was just wanting to go to bed and forget all about my dinner. Oh well it was an airport!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Airport

Address: Oude Haagseweg 20, 1066 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#105 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 152 non smoking rooms, situated 10km from Schiphol Airport,between the highway A4, A9 & A10,Mercure Amsterdam Airport is the ideal hotel for business and leisure purposes.We have 6 suites, 16 recently renovated conference rooms, a Business Point M., a restaurant and a cozy bar with terrace over-looking the lake "Nieuwe Meer".The Rai Congress Center and the city center are easy to reach by car,taxi or public transportation.We offer you a complimentary shuttle service to and from Schiphol Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.