We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Mercure Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mercure Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Haagseweg 20, Amsterdam 1066 BW, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Willemstad, Curacao
1 review
“Good friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Good price quality relation. Room is convenient and complete equipped. Reaction on service request (one desk light was not functioning) was fast and adequate. Overall friendly and cooperative staff. Breakfast buffet is very well provided. Nice atmosphere in the restaurant area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAir, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. It is a great pleasure to read you have had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your kind words. I hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    209
    113
    21
    10
See reviews for
50
141
62
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is quite close to the airport but far away from the city centre. We had to take a bus to the city centre which took approx. 25 mins. The rooms were big and whoole ambience of this hotel is lovely. The breakfast buffet was the best part of our stay. From fresh orange juice to eggs made as you want, they had a royal breakfast spread. After the heavy breakfast there, we didn't have lunch on any of the days.
Absolutely recommendable if you are willing to travel a bit to get to the city centre.
We also got a free airport transfer on the day we left. Their transfer buses leave every hour I think from morning 6 o clock.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAir, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay with us. It is a great pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay and appreciated our services. I hope we can welcome you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Mercure Amsterdam airport for 2 nights in late December 2013, just after Christmas, and had a wonderful time.

I agree with pretty much all of the previous reviews. For what you pay for, you can't really ask a lot more from this hotel. So I'll summarise in pro's and cons:

Pro's:
1. Lovely staff - welcoming, helpful, accommodating.
2. Restaurant - fabulous breakfasts - all continental options (juice, tea, coffee, breads, pastries, fruit, cereals, bacon, cheese, eggs, pancakes, donughts, salad, freshly squeezed OJ in the coolest machine I've ever seen, biscuits). We also had an evening meal in the resturant which was yummy, and I'd definitely recommend!
3. Free shuttle bus to and from the airport (runs every 15 mins from 6pm to 10pm and in the morning until 11am, but you can request it at any other time of the day, which we did).
4. Good beds - ours was huge and really comfortable.
5. Gym/leisure facilities - located at the end of the first floor - basic (1 bike, treadmill, cross-trainer, weights etc).
6. For those with a car - there is a petrol station just outside the hotel. Oh, and an M&S Food for those who get peckish!

Cons:
1. Distance from Amsterdam - NOT a fault of the hotel but just beware that you cant walk into the city centre. There is a bus (2 euros per person) which you can catch from just outside the hotel (go out of the hotel main entrance, cross the road and turn right, walk about 500m and the stop going towards the city will be there). The buses are scheduled to run about once every 20 minutes on every day of the week incl Sundays (but we did wait longer on the Saturday for about 40 minutes). BEWARE - DON'T get a taxi from the hotel/city - it costs a LOT (50 euro's) - definitely get the bus!

We paid 75 euros per night for the both of us (through booking.com). Compared to other options around Amsterdam I have to say, I think that this was really good value for money and would definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAir, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much for all your kind words about our hotel. It is a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay. We are indeed not located in the city centre of Amsterdam, but we also think the bus running across the street is very convenient for our guests to go into town.
Thank you again for your kind review and I hope to welcome you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messines
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Booking the hotel, we only paid about 80 $ for a regular room and it was not bad at all.
As it was not too crowded in November we could make a choise and got a room on the fountain side. It was quit. The room itself was confortable, however for our rate no courtesy water was available. There was central heating and air conditioning, so we did not have to freeze.
The staff is very helpfull and nothing was too much to ask.
It's true that the shuttle should have normal service before 18:00 but the time he is in service, he is on time.However, if arriving in Amsterdam between 12:00 and 18:00, the shuttle comes for pick up when you apply for.
Resume : to recommend.

Room Tip: rooms on the "fountain side" are quit located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAir, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your review about your stay with us in the Mercure Amsterdam Airport Hotel. I am glad to read you have enjoyed your stay. I hope to welcome you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gb
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Comparing this Hotel to the Mercure in Tilburg, this one is much much better. Breakfast is better, rooms are bright.
Mercure Tilburg should be improved to match the standards of this Mercure in Amsterdam Airport.
Only problem is it is 12km away from Airport and away from city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAir, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. I am glad to read you have enjoyed your stay. I hope to welcome you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Airport

Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Airport Hotel
Mercure Amsterdam Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Airport
Address: Oude Haagseweg 20, Amsterdam 1066 BW, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 152 non smoking rooms, situated 10km from Schiphol Airport,between the highway A4, A9 & A10,Mercure Amsterdam Airport is the ideal hotel for business and leisure purposes.We have 6 suites, 16 recently renovated conference rooms, a Business Point M., a restaurant and a cozy bar with terrace over-looking the lake "Nieuwe Meer".The Rai Congress Center and the city center are easy to reach by car,taxi or public transportation.We offer you a complimentary shuttle service to and from Schiphol Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.