We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent stay ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Mercure Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Haagseweg 20, 1066 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasent stay ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I chose to stay at the Mercure Amsterdam Airport due to the price and proximity to Schipol airport when I arrived and got through customs I only had a very short wait for the free transfer to the hotel. Check in was fast and the staff friendly and helpful. I took the 197 bus into Amsterdam centre and back which was very quick although rather busy going into the city being approximately 3pm on a Friday. I used the room service and even though I called only a few minutes before the kitchen was due to close they were more than happy to prepare what turned our to be a delicious meal I had the dutch wild mushroom risotto and for desert ice cream cake. The room was clean although a little tired looking especially the bathroom where there seemed to ve an issue with the drain from the bathtub as when I was showering the bath started filling up and when I got out the floor was very wet. Check out was fast and efficient and as always with hotels from the accor group I have stayed with again first class service from the friendly staff I would not hesitate to stay here again if transferring from Amsterdam Airport Schipol although if visiting Amsterdam for more than one night I would choose an accor hotel nearer the city centre. Many thanks to you for a lovely stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAir, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind reaction and compliments about your stay with us. It is a great pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay and that you are a loyal guest of Accor. Thank you again and I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    314
    152
    27
    15
See reviews for
84
233
77
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Sadly, I have to say we were really disappointed with this stay.

The good first - Good check in, nice interaction from reception and a welcome late check out of 12pm. Amazing bed.

The bad - This was a special stay for us and I had asked for an upgraded room if possible, we were delighted to see that outside our room it said 'privilege' so thought this had been done! When we got inside we found a very small but functional room overlooking the pond which in turn overlooked the road. Probably the nicest view from this hotel which is situated literally in between 2 busy roads and a motorway. None of the 'privilege' offerings such as comp water and robes were in the room, nor did we get extra TV channels or anything and when we later inspected the sign outside the room you can see it is one of those ones you can slide up and down to hide the sign - I'm guessing therefore that it was just a standard room where someone had pushed the sign up by mistake. Not the end of the world but would have been nice it it wasn't so misleading. The bathroom was not great, very grotty looking - nothing that a lick of paint and some fresh sealant wouldn't solve but kind of uninviting. Its the sort of room where you don't want to spend much time but because of the location you don't really have a choice!

With regards to the location, again we were disappointed. It's too far away from the airport to be a true airport hotel and way too far away from the city to be a reasonable distance to commute in without a car. On the way to the hotel we got off the train far too early and ended up having to walk the last few miles on foot with our luggage and when we eventually saw the hotel, there appeared to be no way in! Very difficult to find the entrance on foot and could certainly use better lighting. In addition, with no travel information readily available in reception or in the rooms, we found ourselves very lost and again, this discouraged us from going out into the city on the night we were there as we weren't sure whether we would get back OK!!

The bar prices are extortionate - 6,5 euros for a beer is way too much however the service in the bar was certainly decent.

Overall, I would not return to this hotel as I simply felt it didn't meet my expectations, I was expecting a relaxed weekend away in a 4* hotel however I came away feeling disappointed, ripped off and certainly not relaxed! Would I stay in a Mercure again? Maybe in the UK but definitely not this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAir, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share experiences. I am very sorry to read your stay did not meet your expectations. I would like to offer my sincerest for the occured problems. We will take the appropriate measures to prevent future occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

It was an older hotel, small rooms but very clean. Wifi was pretty good. The location was not the best, but I guess it is to be expected for an airport hotel. Bus stop is across the street from the hotel, take number 197 which takes you to downtown Amsterdam. There is a free shuttle to airport, however.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAir, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. I am glad to read you have enjoyed your stay. I hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
287 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Went for a conference there for 2 days. Good business hotel with conference and practical rooms/breakfast and food. Shutlle bus goes only once an hour so I had to take a taxi as I was in a hurry. Cost about 20 Euro. Hotel is close to airport (like 15 min drive).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAir, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay and I am glad you have enjoyed your stay. I hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel ! Take the bus 197 (3 min walking from the hotel, 2? and not included in the gvb lines) and 20 minutes later you are in the center of Amsterdam. The breakfast is very good. Ask the shuttle for free (airport-hotel) !
I realy recommend this hotel !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureAir, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences. It is a great pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay with us and you would recommend the hotel. I hope you will visit us again and your stay will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fenelon Falls Ontario
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Excellent service from airport. Our free shuttle was there waiting after going through customs. That was great. Very fast checkin. Went to our room that was very clean. unfortunately some lights were not working in the room. Reported to front desk and nothing was done. We went to bed so it was not a big deal. Took the 197 bus to downtown. Only a 5 minute walk from hotel and 2 euros to downtown. Stop is on opposite side of road. Found meals at hotel a little on expensive side. Breakfast is 21.50 euros per person. So we decided to eat in Amsterdam. Great all you can eat sparerib dinner for 10.00 euros. Cannot be beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAir, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments about your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay. I hope to welcome you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amsterdam
2.3 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#116 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
#165 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 829 reviews
7.7 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#213 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#124 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
2.0 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#217 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#126 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Airport

Address: Oude Haagseweg 20, 1066 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 152 non smoking rooms, situated 10km from Schiphol Airport,between the highway A4, A9 & A10,Mercure Amsterdam Airport is the ideal hotel for business and leisure purposes.We have 6 suites, 16 recently renovated conference rooms, a Business Point M., a restaurant and a cozy bar with terrace over-looking the lake "Nieuwe Meer".The Rai Congress Center and the city center are easy to reach by car,taxi or public transportation.We offer you a complimentary shuttle service to and from Schiphol Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.