We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 overnights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Save Saved
You added Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #116 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“3 overnights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Located at the side of Amstel river its a nice and clean htl.Very quite and a bit far from the city center.For bussines people its OK also for groups.Rooms are nice and as higher as you are you have better view.Staff is good and helpful.For breakfast you have many choices.You can walk about 500 meters to the metro stop which takes you to downtown in aprx 10 min.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    470
    173
    31
    30
See reviews for
103
355
69
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel, the hotel are clean, the room big enough, and the service are good. the hotel located in the side of Amstel river, and the hotel also provide a river cruise tour from the hotel to Anne Frank huis at the reasonable price (only 5 euros). The hotel provides free driks at minibar, free internet and also a bathrobe, (I didn't know if these facilities applies for all room type or not, maybe you should ask them first). But even the name of the hotel is Amsterdam city, its location are far from city center. If you want to use public transportation from schiphol, you better take a train to RAI convention. and then you take Metro 50 or 51 to Overamstel station (only 2 stops from RAI). But from the overamstel station you must take a walk around 500 m and pass under the rail bridge until you find Joan Muyskenweg street, the environment are not nice since it have no shelter (if rain) and lack of information (almost nobody there), but you can see the hotel from the distance, so you won't get lost. that's why we suggest if you bring a luggage, you better take a cab instead of train or bus. it's only cost you 31 euros (nett) from the hotel to schiphol no matter what the traffic.

Room Tip: Please choose the room which facing the Amstel river, don't take the room facing another buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

If you expect this is in the city, the answer is no. If you expect a walking distance from city centre, it is not. But it is a nice, spacious hotel, if you are prepared to walk a bit, and take Metro..then a good choice. Good free wifi, good breakfast, and nice bathroom.
Presently the metro line to Overamstel (Line 50) is not working, hence, you need to take line 54 until Duivendrecht, then bus 58 (in the loop-station to Joan Myskenweg...from the bus stop, on your far right, you already can see the hotel, standing tall, next to the river side. Go straight, turn right at the junction then walk another 500m I think.

Room Tip: Upper floors, River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We spent 1 night due to a flight change over. Hotel is close to Airport and about 15 euros to downtown. Subway is about a 10 min walk and this is the way to get around. Hotel is newer and very clean. Lots of tour companies use this Hotel so check in and out can be a hassle if you are at prime times. Breakfast 2 for 1 price is very good as is the selection. Rooms are on the small size even if you upgrade they are small. Very quiet location and the quest load using the lounge is very low. Service in Lounge area is spotty. For the price and what you get including distant location from downtown this hotel is still a great deal. Rooms were well equipped, clean, but small. Front desk people were very helpful and were not in a hurry to take the time to explain on how to get around. Overall for a first time to Amsterdam I would use this Hotel as a starting point until you get orientated with the city. good value for the dollar.

Room Tip: try to upgrade to the biggest room they have, I think it is a suite especially if staying for more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I took the airport shuttle to and from Mercure which was quick and easy. Most of the staff were helpful with directions as it is situated slightly away from the centre. The metro station is only a short 7-10 minute walk away and then ten minutes on a train to Centrum. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The television was large and the bathroom was good. Our only slight issue was location - just be aware that it is not in Centrum, the main area of the city. In addition to this, I called reception a few times requesting basic things like new mugs and cutlery which were essentially ignored. Other than this we were happy with the cleanliness of the hotel and we had a comfortable four night stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear sir/madame,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our room was nice and big, nice view of the river.

Nothing nearby to walk to, went for drinks in the hotel restaurant/bar. Service took forever they kept walking by us...someone finally came after 30 minutes and it took another 30 minutes to get the 2 drinks we ordered.

We should've took a taxi into town instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.