We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet away from the Action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #111 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Quiet away from the Action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We spent 1 night due to a flight change over. Hotel is close to Airport and about 15 euros to downtown. Subway is about a 10 min walk and this is the way to get around. Hotel is newer and very clean. Lots of tour companies use this Hotel so check in and out can be a hassle if you are at prime times. Breakfast 2 for 1 price is very good as is the selection. Rooms are on the small size even if you upgrade they are small. Very quiet location and the quest load using the lounge is very low. Service in Lounge area is spotty. For the price and what you get including distant location from downtown this hotel is still a great deal. Rooms were well equipped, clean, but small. Front desk people were very helpful and were not in a hurry to take the time to explain on how to get around. Overall for a first time to Amsterdam I would use this Hotel as a starting point until you get orientated with the city. good value for the dollar.

Room Tip: try to upgrade to the biggest room they have, I think it is a suite especially if staying for more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    546
    190
    35
    32
See reviews for
114
420
74
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I took the airport shuttle to and from Mercure which was quick and easy. Most of the staff were helpful with directions as it is situated slightly away from the centre. The metro station is only a short 7-10 minute walk away and then ten minutes on a train to Centrum. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The television was large and the bathroom was good. Our only slight issue was location - just be aware that it is not in Centrum, the main area of the city. In addition to this, I called reception a few times requesting basic things like new mugs and cutlery which were essentially ignored. Other than this we were happy with the cleanliness of the hotel and we had a comfortable four night stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear sir/madame,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our room was nice and big, nice view of the river.

Nothing nearby to walk to, went for drinks in the hotel restaurant/bar. Service took forever they kept walking by us...someone finally came after 30 minutes and it took another 30 minutes to get the 2 drinks we ordered.

We should've took a taxi into town instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just spent a weekend at this hotel and cannot fault the hotel, its staff and the food. The Hotel is very clean, comfortable and modern. It has a beautiful terrace overlooking the canal which was lovely and relaxing to sit out on in the evening. The food, albeit, some a little expensive was fantastic. Would definitely recommend the Mercure Burger. We didn't have the breakfast. at €22.50 pp we thought was too expensive so ate when got into town, and there is so much to choose from.
The Hotel is a little out the way of the City Centre but does provide a very relaible shuttle service at €5pp its well worth it. They also do return journeys. The hotel also offer a canal boat into the City, we didn't use this facility as it only leaves once at 10am and doesn't return until 8.30pm, so unless stay out all day or make your own way back. If you have the money, we would recommend to get a taxi to the hotel from the airport. The journey wasn't as easy as advised by use of trains and metro, especially as the Metro wasn't running on our arrival, so took 2 hours to get to hotel. The hotel provide a service to take you to the airport. At €37, it was worth the comfort and no stress. Be prepared to do lots of walking unless your confident on a push bike, mind those trams those.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

First time been there was great! Meet few staff that really friendly and helpfull. Located near schipol, 15-20 min cycling to Ajax arena. Close to RAI, free bike provided, boat transport to amsterdam central everyday at 10am cost 5€ only. What else i need?!
Room also clean there is a smoking floor also. Cant wait to back again. Cheers!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, ACCOR, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.