We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice big rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our room was nice and big, nice view of the river.

Nothing nearby to walk to, went for drinks in the hotel restaurant/bar. Service took forever they kept walking by us...someone finally came after 30 minutes and it took another 30 minutes to get the 2 drinks we ordered.

We should've took a taxi into town instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    638
    214
    42
    39
See reviews for
131
486
76
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just spent a weekend at this hotel and cannot fault the hotel, its staff and the food. The Hotel is very clean, comfortable and modern. It has a beautiful terrace overlooking the canal which was lovely and relaxing to sit out on in the evening. The food, albeit, some a little expensive was fantastic. Would definitely recommend the Mercure Burger. We didn't have the breakfast. at €22.50 pp we thought was too expensive so ate when got into town, and there is so much to choose from.
The Hotel is a little out the way of the City Centre but does provide a very relaible shuttle service at €5pp its well worth it. They also do return journeys. The hotel also offer a canal boat into the City, we didn't use this facility as it only leaves once at 10am and doesn't return until 8.30pm, so unless stay out all day or make your own way back. If you have the money, we would recommend to get a taxi to the hotel from the airport. The journey wasn't as easy as advised by use of trains and metro, especially as the Metro wasn't running on our arrival, so took 2 hours to get to hotel. The hotel provide a service to take you to the airport. At €37, it was worth the comfort and no stress. Be prepared to do lots of walking unless your confident on a push bike, mind those trams those.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

First time been there was great! Meet few staff that really friendly and helpfull. Located near schipol, 15-20 min cycling to Ajax arena. Close to RAI, free bike provided, boat transport to amsterdam central everyday at 10am cost 5€ only. What else i need?!
Room also clean there is a smoking floor also. Cant wait to back again. Cheers!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is the 4th year on the run I've stayed here for sensation white. Perfect location. Take the metro from Amsterdam Central to Amstel fir a 5min walk to hotel. Alternatively €20 in a cab if you're out late. It's handy for Amsterdam arena, take metro to the gig and shirt taxi ride home afterwards. Great breakfast!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Large modern hotel with spacious rooms, guests seem to be people with business in the area or bus tour groups, a few independent tourists. Easy, short trip from Schipol on train to Ams-Zuid change for Metro to Overamstel, then 10 minute walk to hotel. The (day) staff were friendly and helpful. I had a large comfortable room including a refrigerator on 15th floor with a distant view of the downtown. The local area is industrial, with car dealership, along river and deserted on weekends. Get a GVB day-pass from the front desk and take the Metro #51 to downtown -- 10 min walk again plus 10 min on train. Be sure to get on correct train when coming back from city center. Didn't see any bus stops near hotel, no tram. Also no options for food/drink in area except hotel restaurant/bar. Not a good choice for first-time visitors to AMS but excellent quality and value for knowledgeable travelers.

Room Tip: "A" tower is taller than "B" tower with view of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamme, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Rooms are not cheap, but they are clean, practical and well equipped. Bathroom has a spacious shower. Then there is the breakfast... 22,5 euros is a bit... steep... OK, I don't think I have seen a buffet with a wider choice. But hey, there is only so much one can eat in the morning, right? If breakfast is more expensive than most main dishes in the hotel restaurant, something is not right.

The biggest ripoff is the hotel parking. I would expect it to be complementary for hotel guests. Or even a small additional fee. But 24 euros per day? Or not even per day, from the moment you are parked for seven hours of more, you pay 24 euros for that day...

What made me give 4 stars then? The quality of the breakfast and the very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#101 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,732 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
3.3 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Casa 400
Hotel Casa 400
#58 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,588 reviews
4.4 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#105 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.