We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical Mercure with some to be improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    641
    215
    42
    39
See reviews for
134
487
76
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for a visit to Amsterdam. It is only ten minutes on the Train from the city centre and you can also get a night bus. The hotel itself is lovely, newly refubished and very clean and modern. The reception guy upgraded us and we were thrilled. Will stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here for one night for business in the Zuid-Oost area. Quiet hotel with good service, nice bar, comfortable rooms. You always need a taxi to go into town or to the business area as the hotel is a bit isolated. They redoing the dining room but expect this to be only better after they have redone the bar area. Competitive price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as we try to improve our services every day.

It is correct that we are located just in the outskirts of Amsterdam, but in retrospect the public transportation is fairly close by and in walking distance. Next to that we offer our guests the possibility to rent bicycles and even a Vespa scooter. This means of transportation allows you to see more of the city.

Recently we have introduced the boot trip to the city centre. The boat leaves every day at 10:00 and will dock at the Anne Frank house. A nice way to start your day in Amsterdam.

I hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again and again thank you!

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

It's not in the city but near the Zuidas, the businesspart of Amsterdam on the south of Amsterdam. Big Mercure hotel. I liked it . Coffee and tea facilities on the room. In 20 minutes by underground in the city center. The only minor things were the renovation so the reception was somewhere else and there was a long queue. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Our renovation of the ground floor has been completed. We have introduced a new and unique welcoming concept and a new restaurant concept. I hope to welcome you again in our new restaurant: FLOORrestaurant lounge.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I already knew that this hotel was far from the city center but it was still on the water which was nice. The rooms were spacious and we even had a king size bed. The lobby has just been renovated and looks very nice! The staff was great too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as we try to improve our services every day.

It is correct that we are located just in the outskirts of Amsterdam, but in retrospect the public transportation is fairly close by and in walking distance. Next to that we offer our guests the possibility to rent bicycles and even a Vespa scooter. This means of transportation allows you to see more of the city.

Recently we have introduced the boot trip to the city centre. The boat leaves every day at 10:00 and will dock at the Anne Frank house. A nice way to start your day in Amsterdam.

I hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again and again thank you!

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuver, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed here for one night during a business trip -14-04-2014 - 15-04-2014-.
The Mercury Hotel Amstel is a good hotel, rooms are nice and clean. No complaints about that. Service was done in a professional manner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel was very good in all aspects. My only complain is that when i reached the hotel on Sunday April 6th at 10.20 am i was told that i had to stay until 2pm to have the room, unless i paid extra Euro 30 to have a room rightaway. another colleague and many others were kept waiting in the lobby untilm 2pm! No other hotel has done this. I will not use this hotel again nor will my colleagues unless you are more attentive to clients who had flown for 10 hrs or more just to sit in your lobby with robotic reception staff. Unbelievable..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

I have addressed your issues to our Front Office Manager who will take immediate action on this. Please accept my apologies for all the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay. You did not received the highest quality Mercure stands for.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#100 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,737 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
3.3 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Casa 400
Hotel Casa 400
#60 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
4.4 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#39 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.