We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel with some flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Save Saved
You added Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
“Okay hotel with some flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Have been here i 4 nights and had a pleasant stay. The hotel is nice situated just out side the busy city center but the tram and the metro is just nearby. The cleaning is not the best I we seen. There has been leftovers from breakfast on the trays in the hallway out side the room all day. The staff was informed about it but did not do anything about it. The water won't go out of the sink but again that don't seem to matter to the staff.
The breakfast buffet is fantastic though and all in all I've had a great stay in this fantastic city but there is something that could be better.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as we try to improve our services every day.

It is correct that we are located just in the outskirts of Amsterdam, but in retrospect the public transportation is fairly close by and in walking distance. Next to that we offer our guests the possibility to rent bicycles and even a Vespa scooter. This means of transportation allows you to see more of the city.

Recently we have introduced the boot trip to the city centre. The boat leaves every day at 10:00 and will dock at the Anne Frank house. A nice way to start your day in Amsterdam.

As the General Manager of this hotel I am very proud of our breakfast buffet. It is in my believe that we serve one of the best breakfast buffet in Amsterdam. Especially due to the extended range of our breakfast products.

I can recommend you to have a look at our loyalty program Le Club Accorhotels at our website. We offer various deals to our loyal guests throughout the year.

I hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again and again thank you!

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    452
    161
    33
    26
See reviews for
98
315
67
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Exceptionally fast and service-minded staff in the reception and hotel but, strangely enough,unbelievably slow kitchen service on most occasions during a longer stay. Fresh and well planned rooms, free wifi throughout the premises. Relatively close to the airport with taxi.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is important for us in order to improve our services towards our guest. It was unfortunate to read that your stay was not up to your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for that.

I will address your comments about the quality of food to our Operations Manager in order to prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns and we will do our utmost best to prevent future occurrence. I hope to welcome you again in the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City.

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polmont, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked this hotel in alpha rooms for a great price.
The hotel itself is just outside the centre and easily accessible via the metro lines. We used gem daily and if you are in Amsterdam for 3 days or more, you would be better getting a 3 day pass, it works out a lot cheaper.
We were staying on the 11th floor overlooking the canal that the hotel is situated beside.
We were bed and breakfast and the breakfast was great. There were plenty of options to choose from including a cooked breakfast and cereals, fresh juices and pastries.
Our room was large and bright. We had a lovely bathroom area too.
The staff were very friendly and helpful,at all times.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

just back from a long weekend. Hotel is well located near to plenty of bars and restaurants. The hotel was very clean and staff were great. The hotel room was fairly small and the bathoom was also small(no bath). Our room was situated next to the lift so there was noise during the morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Regarding the room, if the room is not up to your expectations please contact our quality manager who is available 24/7 and he or she will do their utmost best to give you a suitable solution. I would have hoped I had the opportunity to provide you with another room.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

had another 4 nights in this lovely hotel, once again very clean and tidy, staff really friendly and helpful. even moving us to a room with a bath tub on request. Breakfast beautiful with so much choice in very smart room. staff in the breakfast area very helpful with area information etc. always friendly and seems to remember us well. little bit expensive in the bar but to be expected. keep up the good work see you again soon hopefully.
if you are staying here walk over the large bridge to the no. 25 tram stop to central station. kennedy line. a 24 hour ticket will cost just over 7 euros. you can then go anywhere in the city backwards and forwards to the hotel very cheaply. such an efficient service up until midnight.everyday.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor room with a view to the city for a great look at night, curtains open lights of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as we try to improve our services every day.

As the General Manager of this hotel I am very proud of our breakfast buffet. It is in my believe that we serve one of the best breakfast buffet in Amsterdam. Especially due to the extended range of our breakfast products.

I can recommend you to have a look at our loyalty program Le Club Accorhotels at our website. We offer various deals to our loyal guests throughout the year.

I hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again and again thank you!

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My first time in Amsterdam after many years and the hotel prices in the city are not for the faint hearted. I booked this hotel many months in advance for a three night stay (pre-paid), the check-in was excellent and extremely friendly. The hotel has two buildings as such with different lifts taking you to a certain part of the hotel (they are not linked). My building was the one with the lift past the reception area (the other lift is adjacent to the entrance). Good room, privilege non-smoking. Size was not the greatest but this is Amsterdam and I have seen smaller. Well decorated, clean, free WiFi, decent sized bathroom, it did the job for three nights. I never took breakfast or had meals at this hotel, I did use the bar which was fine and normal hotel prices.

The Metro is about 10 minute walk away, it's two Metros to Amsterdam Central (the change is seamless, you walk across from one side of the platform to the other). Else there is a 10 minute walk the other way over the bridge to take the tram 25, which takes about 25-30 minutes to Amsterdam Central. For the night owls, there is also a night bus from the city which stops next to the Metro station (however confusingly the bus stop is not called by the name of the Metro stop). The immediate location was a business area, nothing to see, but did not bother me in the slightest.

I would return to the hotel in the future when visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam city from 01/11/13 till 03/11/13. I forgot my coat in the room while checking out. I called the hotel the next day and asked them how could I retrieve it. They told me there was nothing left behind in the room. I told them I could give the exact location of where I left my coat, but they said there was no coat left behind and that I might have lost it somewhere else. I explained this was not the case and told them where it was.

Furthermore, when we arrived there there were two single beds in the room although we requested a double bed and had booked the room in advance.

I am specially upset that they denied that my coat was left behind. There is one word for that: "stealing".

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Our housekeeping department looked everywhere for your coat but was unable to find it. Please accept my sincerest apologies for that as I can understand your frustrations.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.