We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean room with easy access to city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #105 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
jross24
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice clean room with easy access to city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Mercure, it took us a little while to find it as we were not familiar with the transport system however once there we were checked in quickly and got into our room. The room was clean and tidy and decorated to a good standard. Our room was small and compact however we didn't mind as we spent most of our time out exploring.

Unfortunately we didn't sample any of the hotels food however we did find the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the metro and then a few stops into the center. It was very access to the main sights in Amsterdam as long as you don't mind a short walk and a few stops on the metro.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is important to us in order to improve our services towards our guests.

It is correct that we are located just in the outskirts of Amsterdam, but in retrospect the public transportation is fairly close by and in walking distance. Next to that we offer our guests the possibility to rent bicycles and even a Vespa scooter.

I was pleased to read that the room was up to your expectations.

I can recommend you to have a look at our loyalty program Le Club Accorhotels at our website. We offer various deals to our loyal guests throughout the year. I hope to welcome you again in the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City.

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    515
    182
    35
    30
See reviews for
112
392
72
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife, 12 year old daugter and I travelled to Amsterdam recently and stayed at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City.

Upon arrival I was told they didn't have any record of our booking. We booked through Lastminute.com months previously and had already paid. It took nearly 2 hours for the hotel to resolve with Lastminute. It took that length of time because the staff were busy checking everyone else in and dealing with other queries. The lack of effort and communication was very frustrating.

The hotel were not sypathetic at all and advised it was a fault at Lastminutes end. We've used Lastminute before and never had any problems but mistakes do happen. Finally it was resolved.....only to be told there is no room ready for us so we had to leave our bags in the storage area and head out.

When we arrived back the room was ready. There is no such thing as a family room at this hotel. It's a double room with 3 single squeaky beds. They just move the beds in and out depending on the booking. In our room we found some ladies underwear, I assume from the previous guest.

Two days into the trip I checked my bank account and there was a 'hold' of around 80 euros. Not knowing what this was for I phoned the bank and they advised it was Mercure. I spoke to reception and they advised I was charged for breakfasts, which is a concern as we didn't have breakfast once in the hotel. I asked why I'd been charged and the guy on the desk advised it's not the hotels fault, it's a system problem. Right, so the 'system' just decided our room was having breakfast that day, but not any of the others we stayed. Sure. Again the attitude of the staff was not helpful in the slightest. Take a bit of responsibility, explain it's a mistake, apologise and fix it.

I asked for this 'hold' to be removed and was told it would be quicker to have it removed at the time of check out. I said no, I want it removed now. So they did, but the 'hold' on my bank account didn't release for 5 working days after we checked out. So if anyone has similar issues it IS quicker (but 2 working days) to have errors removed at check out.

In the room the towels are very small so request extra.

Wi-fi and air con were very good.

Amsterdam was fun, the hotel experience was not. It's an average hotel, not a 4 star by any stretch, it's just a shame we experienced terrible customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed there for a week, the room was on the old building, but the apartment had a bathtub, and all was very clean, the room was excelente, big, very nice!
The hotel is good for conventions, and conferences.
Just one point I listen the guests complaining about the elevator, that has no capacity to support the number of the guests in the peek times, and to be fast enough. Someday it tooks 15mins waiting in the 22 floor. Its not in the city center, but not too far. The breakfast are marvellous, some attendants in the front desk are very polite and prestatives,
I really enjoyed my stay there!

Room Tip: Get a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riihimaki, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our family stayed here for two nights. Beforehand we had requested a room somewhere from the new part of the hotel. Our request was heard and the rooms were located in one of the top floors. The hotel is located quite far from the city centre. Though it's simple to take the tram there. Breakfast was excellent! The selection of the food was huge. The rooms were comfortable with nice beds, tv and big bathrooms. The staff was friendly!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as we try to improve our services every day.

It is correct that we are located just in the outskirts of Amsterdam, but in retrospect the public transportation is fairly close by and in walking distance. Next to that we offer our guests the possibility to rent bicycles and even a Vespa scooter. This means of transportation allows you to see more of the city.

As the General Manager of this hotel I am very proud of our breakfast buffet. It is in my believe that we serve one of the best breakfast buffet in Amsterdam. Especially due to the extended range of our breakfast products.

I can recommend you to have a look at our loyalty program Le Club Accorhotels at our website. We offer various deals to our loyal guests throughout the year.

I hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again and again thank you!

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Apparently 4* this hotel is well situated man has clean comfortable rooms. Our room was small but had all we needed. Only used it to sleep in but air con was a bit noisy. Didn't have the expensive breakfast as it would have cost about £15 each. Noted free coffee in the logia during breakfast hours so that would have been a bonus if we had sussed it out in time

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlemmermeer
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Last November we stayed with a group in the Novotel on Europaboulevard and now with the same group in this hotel. And now the Mercure. Interesting location at the end of the high way and within walking distance of a subway station.

Public places were spotless and even the smokers areas were clean. Checking in was quick and to the point. A mix up in the group reservation took a few minutes to clear up but it was done well. Staff at reception set the tone for the rest, friendly, professional, taking their job seriously. I asked for an extra blanket to put over my feet (I'm very tall and they stick out) and was warned that someone might be in my room when I got up there. Service was not that quick but it was close.
Lobby and especially the bar look a lot more inviting than they did in the Novotel. The bar was cosy and actually offered more room that you'd think at first glance. Good selection of whiskey, poor selection of beer with only Heineken and Palm on draught, I would have liked to see a drinkable lager. A coffee machine were you can grab a free coffee to go is a nice touch.

My room was also spotless including the easy to miss higher areas and under the beds. Two oversights in maintenance, the bathroom door didn't close fully and the thermostat on the shower really needed calibrating. Rooms look and feel modern.I had a privilege room which means a kettle, nespresso machine and a few free softdrinks in the mini bar. Room is not very big but certainly big enough. Here we also had the big issue with hotels in the Accor group and the main point that keeps me from rating this as excellent. The Accor hotels insist on using synthetics in their bedding which means an extremely hot duvet and me waking up absolutely soaking.

Dinner was a group affair but quite good. What shows skill to me is if you have to serve a dozen pieces of veal at the same time and they're still pink in the middle. It wasn't very adventurous but it was good food done well.
Breakfast was a varied selection of what you'd expect and in ample supply. Only thing I failed to spot was soup for the Asian guests even though there was a bus load of Koreans. It can be rather crowded when there's three busses of tourists wandering around finding breakfast.

Our meeting room was set up well even though they got a standard chair that's not comfortable for more than 90 minutes. Still, the acoustics were so much better than in the Novotel it was a pleasure. Extra extension cords arrived within minutes of us asking for them. Only real problem that took half an hour to fix was our room getting part of the audio presentation of the next room. Hotel supplies snacks in the morning and afternoon to keep you fresh and activated.

I like this place, I'd recommend it if the location works for you. It's run well and has some good staff working there. The only thing keeping me from rating it higher is the fact that I always wake up soaking wet in a Mercure or a Novotel because of their duvets and pillows.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as we try to improve our services every day.

It is correct that we are located just in the outskirts of Amsterdam, but in retrospect the public transportation is fairly close by and in walking distance. Next to that we offer our guests the possibility to rent bicycles and even a Vespa scooter. This means of transportation allows you to see more of the city.

I was pleased to read that the room was up to your expectations.

As the General Manager of this hotel I am very proud of our breakfast buffet. It is in my believe that we serve one of the best breakfast buffet in Amsterdam. Especially due to the extended range of our breakfast products.

I can recommend you to have a look at our loyalty program Le Club Accorhotels at our website. We offer various deals to our loyal guests throughout the year.

I hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again and again thank you!

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.