We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel not too far from airport or city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #112 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice hotel not too far from airport or city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

From Schipol it's one stop to Zuid station (3 Euro) then 2 stops on metro (get unlimited pass from tourist info) to Overamstel (very easy). A brisk 5 min walk or 10 min with luggage to hotel. You can see it in distance from Overamstel. Hotel is clean, beds v comfy and a great shower.

Good selection for breakfast (cereal, cooked breakfast, cold meats, Pastries etc) and kept us going until afternoon. I thought the metro was quicker than tram to centraal station but you can also get tram 25 from hotel and gives you more flexibility than metro. I would definitely stay here again.

Tips: get unlimited pass (metro, bus, tram) approx 20 Euro for a 4 day pass from tourist info at Schiphol.
This doesn't include train from airport though but saves any hassle later. Much cheaper than taxi. Give yourself 45 mins - hour hotel to airport door to door. Also the offline Tripadvisor city guide was v handy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read your experiences where up to your expectations.

Every day we strive to serve our guests even better. Your review will definitely motivate my staff. Next to that I was pleased to read about your positive experience about our breakfast buffet.

I hope to welcome you again in the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam aan de Amstel.

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    577
    195
    37
    34
See reviews for
119
443
76
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashdod
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellent hotel from the point of view of comfort, room, clearness, sleep, TV programs, Wi-Fi internet, restortan, breakfast, staff.
Disadvantage - far from the city center. You need walk for abour 15 min and travel or by metro or by tramway the same time.
The hotel is good solution for tourist group and car traveler.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is important to us in order to improve our services towards our guests.

It is correct that we are located just in the outskirts of Amsterdam, but in retrospect the public transportation if fairly closeby and in walking distance. Next to that we offer our guests the possibility to rent bicycles and even Vespa scooters.

I hope to welcome you again in the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam aan de Amstel.

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip. Clean and comfortable without being anything special. Breakfast was very good, a wide choice of cooked food, cereals, fruit, pastries etc. The restaurant is very good and not over-priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Sharing your experiences enables us to improve our services towards our guests. We are located in the outskirts of Amsterdam but with several transportation options it is very easy to access Amsterdam.

As the General Manager of this hotel I am very proud of our breakfast buffets. It is in my believe that we serve one of the best breakfast buffets in Amsterdam. Especially due to the extended range of our breakfast products and fresh orange juice.

I hope to welcome you again in the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam aan de Amstel

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

An OK average hotel.

Had a very disappointing experience with the sauna room, which is advertised on the in-house TV channel, but was not even turned on when I wanted to use it.

Otherwise quite OK, but nothing to write home about.

Restaurant and bar OK, although the Wild Boar steak was not worth the approx. 25 EUR. All in all, convenient because the hotel is so close to the Amsterdam RAI for the trade shows and such. Other than that, nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Sharing your experiences enables us to improve our services towards our guests. We are located in the outskirts of Amsterdam but with several transportation options it is very easy to access Amsterdam.

Currently our hotel has a gold certificate in Green Key. To preserve energy we turn on the sauna on request. During your next visit at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam aan de Amstel if you would like to use the sauna, please contact the reception and they will be happy to answer any questions.

I hope to welcome you again in the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam aan de Amstel.

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martignas-sur-Jalle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

staff indeed service minded. It was clean, modern and a cosy bar/bistro. Open redwine from Mercure wine card has however been open for too long!. The rooms very very clean and bathroom new and confortable

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Sharing your experiences enables us to improve our services towards our guests.

I was pleased to read that your stay was up to your expectations. It is in my believe that the rooms should be spotless and I am pleased to read that our guest have that experience.

I was disappointed to read about your wine experience. Mercure is very proud of their Grand Vin Mercure wines and these should always be served with the highest quality. Please rest assure that we are taking the appropriate measures to prevent future occurrence.

I hope to welcome you again in the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam aan de Amstel during your next visit to Amsterdam.

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

once again an enjoyable stay at the mercure amsterdam. this was our fourth visit this time independently and it was just as always. Extremly clean, warm and efficient. we like this hotel as it is a short walk to both metro station and tram. metro was 2.70 euros for a one hour ticket or 7.40 euros for 24 hour period, ideal to keep popping in and out of town. the staff were very helpful and polite at all times. the modern room overlooking the canal and amsterdam was very comfortable with a huge bed!!!. always plenty of hot water tea and coffee making facilities.
a real mixture of guests from around the world, breakfast was one of the best we have had,
looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read your experiences where up to your expectations.

As the General Manager of this hotel I am very proud of our breakfast buffets. It is in my believe that we serve one of the best breakfast buffets in Amsterdam. Especially due to the extended range of our breakfast products and fresh orange juice.

Every day we strive to serve our guests even better. Your review will definitely motivate my staff.

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam aan de Amstel en I hope to welcome you again next year.

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#101 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.