We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“march 2012” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #110 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    548
    191
    35
    32
See reviews for
114
421
75
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens,Greece
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

In general the hotel was good. But my first dissapontment was as soon as i arrived at the hotel. They had some kind of a problem with their system so there was a huge que at the reception area.The receptionist were quite rude! I had to wait an hour and a half. So i had to go to an appointment i had without having a shower. However when i arrived everything was arranged. The location of the hotel is not very convinient becaus eyou have to take a taxi to the center or walk around 15 minutes to puclic transportation.The rooms were ok, although you would expect more for the price you pay. Breakfast was quite good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I spent four nights at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam. It was generally a positive experience with clean well-designed rooms, free wifi and friendly staff. However, there were a few exceptions. The hotel is located quite a distance from the city center and transit does not run very late even on weekends. A taxi costs about 25 Euros each way and this adds up quickly. Additionally, the second floor smelled like cigarette smoke and the business center had only two computers in it (one missing a mouse), and each “free” breakfast advertised in the lobby came with a surprise *22.5 Euro charge revealed upon checkout. Make sure you do you research before you book a stay at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Aan de Amstel.

Room Tip: Ask about smoke-free floors and double-check the price of any ammenity you may think is free before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBvO, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying at the Mercure Amsterdam Hotel aan de Amstel. It is unfortunately to hear from you that you did not have a pleasant stay. We have a completely non-smoking hotel. It is possible that some of our guest do not honour our non-smoking policy. We took care of the smell immediately. Regarding the breakfast incident, we searched for the “free” breakfast sign, but could not locate it. It is possible to include breakfast in the room package.

We do hope to welcome you again in the Mercure Amsterdam Hotel aan de Amstel.

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Fuss free check-in.

Well maintained room. Wireless internet is handy. Quietness is achievable.

Detail is appreciated such as multi-language printed languages on notes and toiletries.

I was just slightly surprised of the small room and only shower (no bath) against the price.

Breakfast buffet is rather average.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The worst thing about the hotel is its location. Apart from being far from city centre, distance to the nearest metro or tram station was 10 minutes walk. The rooms were very clean and seemed to be newly furnished but they were small. The thing that annoyed us the most was when we asked for a pair of slippers they first said that they didn't have and afterwards the hotel manager found two pairs but charged them for 3.50euro per pair!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My friend and I were in this hotel for a 4 day trip in Amsterdam (my travel agency booked it). Manouk de Witte, who is responsible for the Bookings, was really very helpfull giving us all important information requeried. I got every single mail answered before we arrived. The rooms are very clean, big and confortable . Room 3018 wonderfull panorama!! the breakfast buffett (was included in our hotel package), was just "great", such a variation of food!!!. The staff was very friendly, specially in the small restaurant in the evenings. The prices are not expensive because the portions are really big, so you can share with your partner.
The hotel is only about 10/15 minutes to walk to the Tram station (Overamsel), from there you are in only 10 minutes in Centraal Station. Just watch out: you have to go on top of the bridge when you leave Overamsel station,( fisrt you go under the bridge to get out of the station, and then you have to "go on top of the bridge"), to get to the hotel. You can´t reach the hotel if you go under the bridge. Thank you very much to all the staff from Mercure Hotel, we had a great time in Amsterdam and defentely recomend this hotel . We will come again!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBvO, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear you had a good experience in our hotel. These compliments will encourage our team to keep the service level high. We are looking forward of welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards from Amsterdam,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
383 helpful votes 383 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Good clean, quiet hotel. Go for the rooms in the new tower.

Gym very limited and not a lot in the immediate vicinity but not too far from town and the Arena so perfectly acceptable

Room Tip: Go for the newer rooms on the new tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#105 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, ACCOR, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.