We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near RAI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Save Saved
You added Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #119 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    469
    173
    31
    30
See reviews for
103
355
69
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We had a wonderful stay. the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and welcoming. The food in the restaurant was fabulous. There was a mix up with a meal and they gave it too us at no charge. Very good customer relations.
We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone.
We arrived for Queens day, not know what it was or what to do. The staff were very informative and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

On the internet it says that it has AC (air Con) but in reality the rooms are boiling hot and to my surprise they didn't even had a Fan when i asked them. The staffs were very rude and was not willing to help at all. I didn't like that hotel at all and if they could have refund me i would appreciate. Will never advice anyone to go there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBvO, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.
As my assistant already mailed you, I would like to inform you as well. First of all my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience it may have caused you.
Please allow me to say that we do have AC (airco) in our hotel. Unfortunately it was not clear to us that the airco was not working. After your feedback, we checked the room and we saw that this was due to a technical failure.
If you do have more questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kindest regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Hotel is excellent, location is poor for access to Amsterdam and nothing is in the vicinity.
Ideal for arrival by car. Room service efficient, restaurant good for Holland. Car parking expensive but free spaces available over night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riihimaki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Service in the hotel was poor. Employeers are too young and green. They are irresponsibles. The rooms at the lower side are small and the beds ar narrow. Better side is the new one. The hotel situation are at the storage area. Never go there again!
Eveyone must paid some Amsterdam taxes when you are leaving from the hotel..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBvO, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. Please allow me to respond on your review.
We do have young professionals at service in our hotel. We are sure this is very important for the community and their learning process. At the other hand we also have personnel who have the experience to guide them to ensure the best service to our guests.
It is indeed a fact that the hotel is located just outside the city centre of Amsterdam. At this stage the city of Amsterdam is redeveloping the area into a residential and commercial quarter. Nevertheless, the view on the Amstel is unique for an hotel in Amsterdam.
Due to government regulations every hotel in Amsterdam charges guests city tax. This tax is a small amount which needs to be paid at check out. This is mentionned when you book your room on accorhotels.com or any other website.
Thank you again for being our guest and it is our hope we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.