We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clan and handy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijdskolk 19, 1012 PV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clan and handy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel has some great pros and cons.
Let me start with the pros:
1) it is huber-clean: housekeeping deserves the Nobel prize. Literally, I walked in my room on socks (and I would never do that anywhere but in spotless, private homes);
2) is walking distance from the Central Station and yet is not in a sketchy spot as it could be. For someone who, like me, walked around charged like a mule, it was a perfect ending of a long trip;
3) it is silent and you can really sleep like a baby; let me add that I saw personally the receptionist scalding a small group of fellows who gathered in the reception room around the fireplace and were load (and lousy). She asked them firmly to be quiet as people may be sleeping. it was 11 AM. I loved her instantly as she gave a clear sign of the ongoing policy of quiet and respect.
3) Receptionists and service are courteous and helpful.
The cons:
1) a bit pricy for what it is; it qualifies for a 100-120 Euros at the max but it charges 50 euros more;
2) breakfast is insanely expensive;
3) some of the surroundings are sketchy and you feel like you don't want to walk around alone; it is not the hotel's fault, I mean, there are bunch of young fellows from all over Europe who land in Amsterdam to blow their aheads away. The closer to the RL district, the easier to find situations.

I think I would have given a better rate if the prices were just a bit lower. I would certainly recommend this hotel or come back if available at a deal price. It is really a gem in such a location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskia K, Sales Coordinator at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for you review. What a honor to win your Nobel prize for housekeeping! We are very proud at our housekeeping staff and of course have I forwarded your review to them. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you another time in Amsterdam and our hotel.

With best regards,

Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    1,190
    304
    67
    41
See reviews for
205
1,100
140
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

If you love Amsterdam, you love its idiosyncrasies, that's what makes it, well, Amsterdam! And the Inntel fits the bill perfectly, with its 1970s retro chic (or is it original?) the eerie photographic artwork that adorns the walls of the hotel (and lift!) with the strange eyes that follow you as you walk along the corridor, to my room, that was obviously built as a single, (by the size of wall behind the bed) and the three-quarters bed that stuck out from it, and was billed as a "double" room! The triangular wardrobe (how is that supposed to work?) and the fact that the hotel is in two separate buildings, so you have to get a lift to the second floor, walk over a bridge link, and then up another lift! But you can't fault the location, or the service at the hotel (although the check out took a little longer than would have been wished, but that was the rush of guests leaving just before the deadline).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskia K, Sales Coordinator at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. I hope to see you again the next time you visit our area!

With best regards,

Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland Co
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We enjoyed the welcoming fireplace in the lobby, and the location which was walking distance from the train station. The hotel staff was helpful and the room was comfortable. We thought the breakfast was too expensive so never had it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskia K, Sales Coordinator at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel comfortable and our staff helpful. I hope to see you again, the next time you visit our area!

With best regards,

Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
170 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a great place to do some city hopping, I was able to get a great price and the hotel did not disappoint. Everything was in walking distance, a very safe neighbourhood in the middle of Amsterdam. The hotel is easy to find, its clean and the rooms are quiet.
We had a superioir room and it was a good size.
The staff was very friendly, but when we asked for a nice sushi place they sent us to an all you can eat. Maybe they are just not sushi fans...

I would return, but I would not eat breakfast there again, it is just too outrageously expensive, even though it has a nice selection.
i recommend the hotel and would return.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard view and it was super quiet to sleep. As well the superior room was big enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskia K, Sales Coordinator at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comment you posted on this website. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel and found it save and clean. When you would to do some shopping again in Amsterdam we are happy to welcome you at Inntel Hotels.

With best regards,

Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great location you can walk to it from the Train Station.
Clean rooms ,bathrooms and free wifi.
Staff were really friendly and helpful esp with directions it is easy to get lost on those small streets
A nice little bar downstairs with a fire to warm up after walking around. There are a good range of places to eat close by. The breakfast was a normal buffet I think a little over priced next time I will check out a few places for some tasty waffles.

Room Tip: If on the second floor and you like to sleep in then get a room a little further from the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskia K, Sales Coordinator at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear swissheidi2006,

Thank you for the comment you posted on this website! We aim to make every stay a success through our colleagues and I am extremely pleased to read that we were able to show this. I will be sure to share your comment with the reception staff and hope hope to see you again in our hotel.

With best regards,

Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Hello Fellow Travelers, I stayed at this property on September 24th, 2013. The location is great and is smack in the middle of downtown Amsterdam. The metro station is two blocks away also. The rooms are not modern nor are the bathrooms. It's not bad though. For the price, what can you expect? You are probably less than a 10 minute walk from the famous RL district- that is IF you can find your way back without getting lost (get what I mean?).

For my next stay, I will venture somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskia K, Sales Coordinator at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Tom S,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community. Nice to read that you have enjoyed Amsterdam and the central location of our hotel. We hope to welcome you again the next time you visit The Netherlands.

With kind regards,

Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Picked Inntel Hotel as it was centrally located and not too far walk from the Amsterdam Central Station. Clean and decent room. There are alot of shops and eateries near the hotel, making it very convenience. As it was pretty chilly out there, there is a fireplace at the lobby, you will feel at home and warm the minute you entered the lobby.

I would have given it a better rating if:
1) the wifi is less buggy. the connection wasn't very stable and we always encountered authentication error. we are not too sure why even though it was full bar connection.
2) the real life human posters on the bed head. I feel quite uncomfortable about it though this seems to be the theme of the hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskia K, Sales coordinator at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Charlotte_Mumsie,

Thank you for the comment you posted on this website. It is nice to read that you feeled at home when you entered the lobby and our hotel. We would like to apologize for the Wi-Fi did not function properly during your stay. We are aware of the problem and can assure you that we did our utmost to solve the problem. Unfortunately there was a defect with our supplier. They handled our complained and the WiFi is working again as it should. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Amsterdam.

With best regards,

Sales coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#141 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,053 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#113 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre

Address: Nieuwezijdskolk 19, 1012 PV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Amsterdam is a true experience. Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre is the ideal starting point for exploring the city. Located in the heart of Amsterdam at a traffic-free square between Central Station and the Dam, the hotel is within walking distance to the canals and all city highlights. Our 4 star hotel featuring stylish rooms and suites, provides free WiFi internet throughout the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Hotel Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam Centre
Amsterdam Golden Tulip
Hotel Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.