We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One lift to third floor would be nice.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijdskolk 19, Amsterdam 1012 PV, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One lift to third floor would be nice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

After our stay, we were quite unimpressed by the service we received. Even asking for a phone charger was out of the question.
I think the hotel could possibly address a few issues ie a few smoking rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    538
    821
    212
    54
    35
See reviews for
137
666
108
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vaasa, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Excellent location in the heart of the city and close to the wonders of the Red Light District.

I asked for a quiet room and got one in the back side of the hotel on 4th floor. The view towards Nieuwe Kerk was actually nice and the room was indeed quiet so I had no trouble sleeping. The room was small, very basic and a little bit worn out. There were some nasty stains in the toilet when I arrived. Showering wasn’t a very pleasant experience as water temperature varied a lot all the time. Not really what you’d expect in this price range.

Service at the front desk was always very friendly and informative. Breakfast was good but also a bit expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is situated as central as you can get it.

Nice service
Quick check in and out
nice breakfast
close to everything


The rooms are what you need , no more no less

I would stay here again.

Travelled with 10 other people and everybody was happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights, the location couldn't be better within walking distance to the sights and plenty of cafes, restaurants, shops and bars. The room was very spacious and comfortable, with a large and modern bathroom.
Staff was nice and helpful.
I will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great looking decor inside. Rooms were good. Very clean and the beds were comfy. Located in the center not too far from the station or dam square. We didn't visit any of the restaurants outside but there are restaurants and fast food places.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I arrived at the hotel, handed over my itinerary, and to my shock it was for the previous week. At this point the hotel had two options. Let me stay 3 nights that I had previously paid for, or charge me again. They chose to charge me again, at an even higher rate. I asked to speak to the manager. The duty manager offered me 'free breakfast' or '10%' off. I declined and they said the hotel manager would call me that day. They did not. They avoided me for the rest of the trip and then charged my credit card the full amount for another three night stay.
This is the first time in 16 years of business travel all over the world that this has happened. I have since contacted the hotel's customer service to see if I can get back some of the 1,000 euro they charged me for a 3 night stay. They once again blamed me for an honest mistake and have kept the 1,000 euro. If I charged my customers for something they did not receive, for an honest mistake, I would have no customers.
I am truly appalled by this hotel, and the attitude of their management team.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. There are plenty of similar hotels, that are more affordable, on that street alone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Front Office Manager at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hotel management contacted Mr. Sijavy and have handled his complained.

Rob Clerc
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre

Also Known As:
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre Hotel
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Hotel Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam Centre
Amsterdam Golden Tulip
Hotel Tulip Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijdskolk 19, Amsterdam 1012 PV, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam-Centre is situated in the historical heart of the city. Within walking distance you'll find many shopping streets and department stores. Because of the unique location at traffic free square, we can guarantee an undisturbed goodnight sleep. All air-conditioned rooms are modern and warm decorated. Always need access to the Internet? The hotel offers FREE WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Amex, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.