We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and Clean just in need of a spruce up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijdskolk 19, 1012 PV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spacious and Clean just in need of a spruce up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked a short staty at the Inntel Hotel, Amsterdam for New Year. The booking process was easy via Laterooms.com and the reservation was all ready upon arrival.

Getting to the Hotel is straightforward from Central Station, it is just 5-10 min walk down Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal (easier access than Damrak) on the left a few blocks down.

The hotel itself, upon arrival there is a good impression with very friendly and polite staff and a clean lobby leading to a bar/comfortable seating area with an open fire.

The room we had was on the second floor, accessed via a lift which requires your room card to call it. There were two sets of doors to the room, presumably to help reduce noise as it was next to the dining area and it worked! the room was extremely quiet we didn't hear anyone outside the room despite the hotel being fully booked. The next room had a family with some children and we didn't hear them either.

Rather unusually, the room had a couple of steps up to the bed area from the bathroom, this wasn't a problem although i could imagine getting up half asleep in the night (for the toilet) and forgetting could be a potential risk. I can only assume not all rooms have this feature.
The bed was very large and comfortable with bedside table and lights, the only note here is lack of sockets, there was only one at low level which the lamp used so not convienient for charging your phone and it was slightly worryingly loose on the wall. The room had a/c with climate control and a thermostat electric radiator on the wall as well and a couple of comfortable chairs, TV with BBC1,2,News amongst other channels, there is a wardrobe with pincode safe.

The decor was a little old in my opinion with a need to be spruced up but the room and bathroom were very clean. The only negative was the water pressure in the bathroom made for a very disappointing shower, there was also a bath which took a while to fill because of the pressure and the lighting in the bathroom was not great (2 recess halogen) leaving the bath/shower a little dark for bathing.

A nice touch was the quite extensive minibar fridge and snacks, although usual hotel prices there is a lot to choose from if you want something. Outside there are a wealth of small supermarkets, cafes, take-away's which are open very late.

For location, cleanliness and comfort I would consider staying again if the price was not so high as I had paid (though it was New Year).

Room Tip: Overlooking the square may be a better view but it could be noisy at night at the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    1,036
    259
    54
    38
See reviews for
179
921
128
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Good reception, typical european simple hotel, everything is clean and in place and order.
At night you just might hear some noise from people how came late but it dont last for long, rooms are small but okay and clean and organized, bathrooms are clean and organized, but water is not very good, very cold or very hot, not easy to adjust..

breakfast not very tasty but its okay still you cant complain!

overall stay is very good

Room Tip: i took deluxe room, i guess higher range rooms will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the end of October. I had heard horror stories about European hotel rooms, but this one is great! It was large and comfortable, with a full bathroom, and the hotel itself is very funky. The location can't be beat, as it is smack between Central Station and the Square. One word of caution. If you have a car, which we did, it is not possible to park right outside the hotel, but there is a parking garage just across the street. It took us several tries to find the entrance. Having a car in Amsterdam is a dumb idea anyway, but we were there on business and kind of needed one. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in July whilst travelling around Europe. The hotel is well placed within walking distance of the Central Station and a good rate when compared to others nearby.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful with plenty of good advice about were to eat and how to get tickets for attractions which we purchased direct from the reception.
Our room was a long way away from the reception and in an adjoining building but at least that meant it was nice and quiet.
The breakfast buffet was amazing and well worth the money! it set us up well for a day of exploring Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

First of all - location. Quiet but central, 5 min walking distance to central station, dam, 2 min walking to the shops, restaurants. No complaints about the service - attentive, professional and
helpful (undersigned arrived to the hotel almost 3 hours before check-in time but room was provided without any problem). Extremely good breakfast and amazing design of the breakfast room. The only slightly negative point is the size of the room - it is decent size for 1-2 nights stay but on my opnion a bit small if you are going to spent 3 or more nights there.
Overall - very good place to stay during short city break

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights.

Firstly the pro's:
Location - good central location close to central station & city centre
Service - staff always helpful & speak english
Fresh air - could open window
Tea & coffee making facilities

Con's
Size - rooms are very small as is toilet & shower area. Toilet is against the wall so you kinda have to sit sideways
Noise - we found the room quite noisy. Could clearly hear people talking outside the room in the hallway
Towels - seriously the towels should have been replaced years ago. They are tiny, threadbare little things that have been washed way to many times!
Cleanliness - average, carpet not cleaned, still some rubbish left from previous ppl. Second last day we didnt even get our glasses replaced, tissues refilled or toilet paper replenished

Overall a very average hotel, wouldnt stay here again there are better places to stay for the cost

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have never had such an amazing experience staying in a hotel. The rooms were beautiful, the beds were comfortable and it was nice and quiet when trying to sleep. The staff were fantastic in their service. Always seemed to put guests first - that sounds like a pretty obvious thing to say but you'd be surprised - they were always very helpful with directions as Amsterdam can be quite difficult to navigate if you haven't been there before.
Definitely reccomend and definitely staying there again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre

Address: Nieuwezijdskolk 19, 1012 PV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam-Centre is situated in the historical heart of the city. Within walking distance you'll find many shopping streets and department stores. Because of the unique location at traffic free square, we can guarantee an undisturbed goodnight sleep. All air-conditioned rooms are modern and warm decorated. Always need access to the Internet? The hotel offers FREE WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Hotel Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam Centre
Amsterdam Golden Tulip
Hotel Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.