We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'You'll be surprised!'” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijdskolk 19, 1012 PV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“'You'll be surprised!'”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Yes you will certainly be surprised, especially when, despite cancelling in good time and having an email in confirmation, they charge your credit card anyway! Then deny all knowledge for 2 days, then refund to the card you asked them not to (as you've paid it off and this will put it in credit!) without notice.

It's probably a lovely place to stay, but when someone royally messes up you expect a little humility, perhaps even an apology, but none of that was on offer in this case...

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    986
    248
    52
    37
See reviews for
175
873
127
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

When approaching this hotel you get the impression that you have made a mistake when choosing it. However, the truth is totally opposite to that. It is a quite big hotel. Very pleasant with interesting interior. Rooms are smaller than usual but very nice. The size does not matter this time. It is very clean and warm:)
The location of the hotel is perfect - you will find yourself in city center in a minute yet that crowd will not bother you if you want to have a good and peaceful night sleep.
And last but not least, a few nice Amsterdam coffee shops are just across the hotel lobby:))).

If you ask me about the downside...well, one could expect at least breakfast to be included in this price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel was well located close to the central station and the center of the city (Dam square). The staff was very friendly, the service was excellent. As an example, they provided a vase for flowers directly when we asked for it. All you need for a week-end stay. The location also makes it easy to walk to the station in 5 min to take the train to Schiphol airport, which only took 15 min.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Got there around 11 pm, instead of being greeted after a long flight, was given hard time by the front desk personnel who insisted on having the same credit card the was put on line even though we had a print out of the reservation with our name on it and a valid passport to confirm identity? We have always made reservation through booking.com and we always get asked at check in if we would like to charge a different card or the one that s on file. Had a long argument with the horrible person at the front desk, who's face turned red when I simply told him that he does not want to do his job, after he said that it will give him headache to change it. Fortunately , my husband remembered which card he used on line and gave it to him. Terrible room, had to use 2 elevators, won't recommend it for sure

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights with my girlfriend and it was a hop skip and a jump from everywhere. The location was about 5 mins from the Central Train Station. 15 mins max walk from the farthest museums. We were about a 5 min was from the Red Light District also.

The hotel itself is clean in the lobby with a nice bar (with fire), the halls are a bit 1970's, but the rooms are clean with comfy beds.

I would stay here again if I was in Amsterdam.The price was OK, but not that cheap as there was nothing else included other than the room.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on a Saturday and Sunday. We walked from Central station to the hotel it's 5 minutes away. When staying in this hotel you're pretty much in the centre of everything. It's near Dam square, shopping, the red light district we walked everywhere. The hotel provides umbrellas when raining which is a nice touch. The rooms are average size and spotless, beds are comfortable! I wasn't sure what to make of it when we first arrived but I did like the hotel. There is a small bar downstairs with a nice fire. We didn't have breakfast included and the hotel is not cheap but most hotels in Amsterdam are more expensive than the likes of Dublin. Also free WIFI for guests! If I was returning to Amsterdam I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a beautiful modern room. When you walk into your room, the TV is on with a welcome messaged with your name. A really nice touch :) The staff was helpful and called a taxi for us when we left for the airport at 4 am. There are also umbrellas available to borrow if it rains. We were mistakenly charged for a breakfast upon checkout, but after insisting we did not have one breakfast at the hotel, they took it off our bill. Location is great, on a street with many restaurants and stores. Very close to Centraal station and all of the other recommended tourist areas.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre

Address: Nieuwezijdskolk 19, 1012 PV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam-Centre is situated in the historical heart of the city. Within walking distance you'll find many shopping streets and department stores. Because of the unique location at traffic free square, we can guarantee an undisturbed goodnight sleep. All air-conditioned rooms are modern and warm decorated. Always need access to the Internet? The hotel offers FREE WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Hotel Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam Centre
Amsterdam Golden Tulip
Hotel Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.