We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed in the hotel for 9 nights from August 11th-20th in room 204. When I was booking, the front desk was more than helpful in making sure we had a smoking room at the front of the hotel. I was very pleased with the service before we even got there! When we arrived it was early morning, and check in isnt until 2 or 3, but the hotel was nice enough to store our bags for us while we walked around the city. I wasnt feeling very well so we came back to the hotel around noon and we were pleasantly surprised to find that our room was ready!
The room was VERY clean, beds were VERY comfy, and the concierge was VERY helpful! The air conditioning was great too! The view from our room was very nice, with centraal station to the left, and dam square to the right. Lovely french doors opened up onto a small balcony. I enjoyed waking up in the morning, making a coffee and opening the doors to watch the city pass by... there were always so many people! lol
I cant comment on the restaurants food, but the coffee was nice.
This was my first trip to Amsterdam and this hotel made it great! The central location was key, always easy to find and a short walk or tram ride from wherever you are in the city. When I visit Amsterdam again, I will definitely be staying here!
The only thing I would say needs to be improved ( and its not really that big of a thing) is the shower drainage. Didnt really bother me, but it might bother some.
Thanks Hotel Amsterdam for a very memorable stay at your hotel, hope to be seeing you in the near future!
Mel and Ryan

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
We were very pleased that your stay has been a pleasant one. Especially because you stayed 9 nights so had a good chance to experience the hotel and its services. We know that not everyone is pleased with the drainage in some of the new bathrooms. We opted for a system where you can shower without having to take any steps into a cabin but in some rooms the water splashed into the dry part which can cause some discomfort.
We hope to welcome you again in the future

Rene Wildeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    272
    96
    40
    30
See reviews for
46
247
43
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

My cousin and I stayed here for a week in Aug. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly as well. While the room was a bit small, it was no smaller than some hotel rooms in NYC that I've stayed in. We had no issues during our week stay.

Our room had a balcony with french doors that did open up and faced the street. Even though we had a street view room, it was surprisingly quiet during the day. The bathrooms are a bit different than those in the U.S. in that the shower area is smaller and there is no shower curtain so the entire bathroom tends to get wet. However, the cleaning crew did a very nice job cleaning and wiping down the bathroom on a daily basis. While many people from the States may not be used to this, I was as this is done in countries in Asia as well. Keep in mind that you're in another country and not everything is the same as it is at home.

I would definintely recommend staying here to anyone and everyone! It is centrally located and smack in the middle of the heart of Amsterdam. Also, while there is a tram stop right in front of the hotel, you can save yourself a few euros and just walk to the hotel from Amsterdam Centraal. It's only about a 10 min walk.

I'm not really sure why some people have left such negative comments such as "MefoandMeho's." If you want all the bells and whisles in a hotel room then suck it up and pay the extra $200 /night up front on a room at a luxury hotel rather than trying to be a cheap skate and complaining about it after the fact then blaming it on the establishment not meeting your wants/expectations.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
We appreciate that you took the time to post a review. Especially comments from clients who stayed several days, such as you, are valued because they have a good idea of the hotel, our good things and our shortcomings. Every individual has a different perception and expectation so we also respect comments of guests not happy with their experience at our property and try to improve. We hope to see you back in the future
Rene R.F. Wildeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

my husband and i stayed in the amsterdam de roode de leeuw the end of aug for 4 nights,and i have to say i am really fussy where i stay. it HAS to be clean for a start,and it helps if the staff are friendly,and i like a comfy bed. the amsterdam came out tops on all fronts,the hotel may be an older property,(but then again you are in amsterdam and the whole city is full of older properties!)but it was fine,you never get complete home from home in any hotel,unless you pay for it,but we had everthing we needed,the rooms were cleaned every day,nice fresh towels,everyday,and ok the room was on the small side,but HELLO! its amsterdam,everywhere is small!! we stayed here about 7 yrs ago,and it has had a refurb,it might not be everyones taste,but its clean,comfy and quiet. we had a smoking room,which was requested and paid for,and it didnt stink like everyone says,ok we both smoke,bit not heavily,so think i would notice if it was smelly.cannot comment on the breakfast/restaurant,because we didnt use it,but the menu and restaurant look nice and cosy.and you can sit in the window and watch the world go by,literally!! the ONLY problem we had was when we checked out we were charged for using the mini bar,adding about 30€ to our bill.(we never use the mini bar,in any hotel because its too expensive,and just 5 mins away there is a shop) we couldnt prove we didnt have it,but after saying we didnt have it,a few times,the receptionist apologised for the mistake and removed it from our bill,no questions asked. all in all we had a fantastic time at the amsterdam,and in amsterdam,and we will definately be staying here again,in the very near future,depending on how nice i am to my husband!!!! lol!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, September 8, 2009
We thank you for your comment and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. The title of your review suggests that everybody is complaining but fortunately many customers are happy to stay with us and we do our utmost to make them happy. The last 2 "negative" comments were made by guests who did not stay overnight at our property for different reasons. We sincerely apologize for the wrong minibar charge. Due to illness of 2 porters, the minibars were not filled on a daily basis causing some wrong charges. We hope you will not wait 7 years to come back so advise you to be very nice to your husband.
Looking forward to welcoming you again
Rene R.F. Wildeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

This hotel is one of the best I have stayed in. Great location, clean friendly and helpfull staff.

This is not a large hotel like say a Marriott, but you get a more personal touch, unlike the big corporate hotels.

This hotel is a short walk from the train station Amsterdam CS. And has a tram stop right outside.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, September 8, 2009
Many thanks for having taken the time for your comments. Yes, we are not a large chain hotel.
We have nothing against chain hotels and they have made a great contribution to the hotel industry but we have choosen to operate as a fully independent , privately owned hotel with all the pros and cons.
A pro is that we can act quickly and work with state of the art technology behind the scene while looking very traditional in the front of the house. We invest large sums to train our staff in order to make them customer driven. But as we are all human beings we do not succeed in all cases so a continuous effort is required. We are happy that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one and hope to have the pleasure of your visit again in the future
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England UK
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

They overbook the rooms, don't let you know until you arrive, then send you to another Hotel without even an apology or complimentary drink. very Very rude!!!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
I regret that we were in an overbooked situation and had to accommodate you in another hotel around the corner.
If this happens we use to accompany the guests and assist with the luggage but I know that on the evening of your arrival no porter was available due to illness.
I sincerely apologize for the fact that this was not handled well and hope that you had a pleasant stay in Amsterdam despite this unfortunate incident.
Rene R.F. Wildeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbage
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We booked this hotel with expedia for a 10 wedding anniversary weekend trip basing our choice on the pictures on the website which looked really nice. The lobby of the hotel was small, efficient and the hotel staff courteous, friendly and helpful. Our room 114, was quiet possibly the worst I have ever seen.
Although advertised as 4 star hotel our room was dark, poorly decorated, with stained walls and carpet and a view of next doors air conditioning units. The bathroom looked like it was built over 10 years ago, was not very clean but we didn't stay to find out. We asked for a different room but none was available until the next day. We dumped our bags, searched the immediate area and booked into the crown plaza a few streets away. We checked out of the Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw within 2 hours and were told that we would be refunded for one of our two night booking. If all you want is a room to rest your head then its probably fine but absolutely not a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
We sincerely regret that the room we offered did not meet your expectations. It is true that this room has not much of a view but being an inside room it offers the possibility to sleep right in the middle of the city without hearing any noise. This room was refurbished 9 years ago and this floor is scheduled for renovation in 2011. Unfortunately no hotel can refurbish their rooms every 2 or 3 years. Yes, the bathroom will be done at the same time and is not the same standard as the 75% of our bathrooms which were renovated in the past 2 years. We were pleased to learn that you found a room meeting your expectations in the Crowne Plaza but note that their rooms were only recently renovated after more than 15 years of use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We stayed here for over a week, and were very impressed with this hotel. The location cannot be beat - very convenient, just off Dam Square and right by a tram stop. The front desk and housekeeping staff were helpful and friendly. Shopping, dining, nightlife and everything else are just steps away. Although our interior room lacked an impressive view, we found it to be very quiet and peaceful, even with the window open. (This is not always the case with Amsterdam hotels). Also, the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept on. The all-you-can-eat breakfast was very good, although we ended up sampling different nearby options to save money throughout our stay.

Our room was smaller than the typical American hotel room we are used to. This was not a problem for us, but might be for some folks. I would not recommend trying to cram more than 2 people to a room. Also, the bathroom was a bit odd to us, as the door was see-through. In my experience, this is not unusual for a European hotel, but could be awkward if you're not used to it.

We greatly enjoyed our stay and found ourselves looking forward to returning after each day of sightseeing. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, July 24, 2009
We were very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at our property. Yes, we know that not everybody appreciates the opaque glass doors in some of the bathrooms and shall certainly correct this upon a next renovation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future

Rene Wildeman and his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. Sure, you can find fancier 4 star hotels in Amsterdam, but what we may lack in glitz we more than make up for in authentic friendliness and true hospitality. All of our bathrooms are all new, and our rooms are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.