We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw to your Saves list
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel - Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Roode Leeuw. Central location was perfect: an easy walk from Central Station, and close enough to walk almost everywhere. If you use the tram, they're right across the street or around the corner.
Dam Square is very noisy (there's an amusement park set up there) but the noise didn't bother us at all (except if we opened the window, and then heard faint shrieks from the riders thrown up in the air).
Absolutely terrific, friendly, and helpful staff. I even emailed them with lots of question before our trip, and they promptly answered.
This hotel has an elevator, which should not be taken for granted in Amsterdam.
We had the breakfast, which was offered at a special reasonable rate for our stay, and found it a great way to start the day. (food in Amsterdam is expensive).
There are plenty of fast food and sandwich places right in the area, if that's your preference.
Our room was very nice. Maybe we were lucky, because the size of the room was fine.
Excellent lighting, which again, is not a given in many hotels. And a real closet for clothes and suitcases! The bathroom was "snug", but certainly adequate, and very nicely appointed. I'll never understand the "half shower curtain sheet of glass " in so many hotels - the floor still gets wet.
Glad we stayed here.

Room Tip: We didn't have a view of the street, but that's probably why it was quiet - it's a trade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    256
    103
    41
    31
See reviews for
54
297
52
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend to celebrate King's day in Amsterdam. The hotel is less than 10 minute walk from Centraal station - if you walk out of the main entrance of the station just walk straight down the road as you come out (mind out for trams!). You come to Dam Square and the hotel is there - opposite side of the square to Madame Tussaud and just after KFC and McDonalds!.

I had a room on the 4th floor - it was a single room as the prices were a bit high given that it is a special celebration weekend. The single room however was really nice - clean, comfortable and had everything I needed. The decor was neural but nice - canvas of Amsterdam's canal on the wall. There was a TV, desk and chair in the room as well. There was AC/ heater in the room, however I did not need these as the windows open fully so you can get some air in the room.
Granted it wasn't the biggest room in the world, but then again I wasn't there to spend the weekend in my room. It had a very nice shower room with complimentary toiletries.
There was a mini-bar with reasonable prices (2.50euro for a can of coke) and there was room service available, however I did not use this so cannot really comment.

The wifi in the hotel is free and had good connectivity. Also there was an English plug socket in the room as well as European, so I didn't need to use a converter.

The staff were all really nice and friendly, readily available to give advice. They give you a free map of the area on arrival which is nice. You can also leave your luggage and collect it later; check out is at 11am, so it is worth storing your luggage with them and collecting it later.

Location wise; you are right in the heart of Amsterdam and can pretty much get wherever you want to go. The river cruises go from a dock just by the station, there is a shopping street right behind the road the hotel is on (usual shops; H&M, Hema (you can get a 1euro breakfast in here as well as other food/ clothes), as well as food shops, restaurants, etc.). The red light district, Meuseumplen etc. is all right on your doorstep. My only hesitation would be; if you are looking for a very quiet weekend then you might want a hotel a bit further out where the area is quieter. However if your coming for a party/ fun weekend the the Dam Sq. is probably where you want to stay.

From the airport; you can get a train from Schipol airport to Centraal station - it takes about 15minutes. You can get a ticket from a ticket machine (they are in English as well, however they only take change or debit/ credit cards not notes - it is E5.10 single fare). It is all well sign posted and the boards tell you what platform to go to so you cant really get lost!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

However - I found the room very awkward. There was next to no room in the wardrobe. The sink in the bathroom was too high. The shower head moved round on its own making it impossible to have a normal shower, and the switches for the bed lights were too far away if you are in bed trying to switch them off. The room was clean, but they only supplied "Earl Grey" tea bags.
The breakfast hot choices was poor. Scrambled egg - Nasi Goering - and very salty bacon.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 2 days at the end of a Rhine River cruise. Checked in about 11 AM, and left our bags with front desk staff since no rooms ready yet. When we returned about 2 PM, the room was ready as promised - and the staff had already moved our suitcases into the room! Checkout was fast (early flight to catch), and taxi already called by front desk.

Stayed in a premium room, which was large and generally well-furnished (double beds were acceptable but not great). Particularly liked the leather armchair and matching desk chair (I'd buy that desk chair model if I could find one).

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to a premium room, which are definitely not "too small" as mentioned in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights and had a very pleasant time. The room was clean and bigger than expected (third floor). Elevator access from lobby. We arrived super early in the AM and the staff was very accommodating with check out bags early and getting us settled in a room within a few hours. We did not eat in the restaurant but it looked very nice. Very conveniently located to tram stops and walking distance to many sites. Shower does not have a shower curtain, which seems to be normal but was a bit of a shock for us, lol.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel on Avois points and also paid cash towards it as it took most of the points I had so for a one night stay after a river cruise and and we wanted one in the central so it wasn't cheap. Hotel was in a good location but we were given a room on the 5th floor which meant you had to get a lift to the 4th and then go up a very narrow, steep flight of stairs to our room which at our age and bad knees wasn't good. The hotel took and brought our luggage down for us and the room was fine apart from having no carpet just lino on the floor.
We told the reception that we were very disappointed but were not offered another room. We also find out the next day that they had other rooms on other floors so I don't understand when we complained why we weren't offered another one. If you book this hotel and you are an OAP make sure you request a room which is not on the 5th floor.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I cannot emphasize how great the location was. Was in the city center. I walked with my husband to the Red Light District, Ann Frank Huis, restaurants, cafes and shopping areas. Employees were also helpful with informing us how to get around and where to go. Would stay here again bc of the location alone IF the rates were cheaper (4/20 spiked the local rates).

Room was really small and bed was uncomfortable to the point that my husband was unable to sleep bc of back pain. Complained to management who claimed there were no more rooms until he said he was going to cancel the charge. Ended up moving us to another, bigger (but still small) room and putting a pillow top on the mattress. This helped.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. Sure, you can find fancier 4 star hotels in Amsterdam, but what we may lack in glitz we more than make up for in authentic friendliness and true hospitality. All of our bathrooms are all new, and our rooms are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.