We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw to your Saves list
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The hotel de rode Leeuw is a lovely place to stop in amsterdam it is local to dams square right in the heart of the life , one mile from the central train station walking distance and although it is in dams square u get a lovely night sleep no noise at all . I would defiantly stay there again

Room Tip: Lovely place to stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    235
    92
    36
    30
See reviews for
50
267
47
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vaduz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I have been staying at many Hotels in the world, but have never seen a 4 star Hotel which was so bad. For a youth hostel, i would agree with the rooms, but bever for a 4 star Hotel.

Positive: Location

Negative: Very small room, extremely small bathroom, shower was dirty when we arrived (mold in the gaps), air con was extremly noisy and smelled greasy during work, dirty mattress.

When we came back from visiting Amsterdam at around 16.00 o clock, our room was not tidied up. I went down to the reception, to make a complaint. The guy at the reception assertet that we had the "do not disturb" card at the room door the whole day (how can a guy at the reception know every room by heart?!? He told me also he worked here 20 years so he can never be wrong)) Actually he also said that I am wrong and assumed that I am a liar. That is not what I expect to be 4 star guest care.
After the discussion, our room was made in 10 minutes (garbage bin was not emptied, bathroom not cleaned,...)

This Hotel is never worth the price. The only positive Thing I can say is that the Location is great, the rest will leave you in dissapointment, especially the extremly unfriendly reception manager.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations at all and that your complaint was not handled as it should have been. You did not speak to our Front Office Manager, who is a lady, but to a Front-Office clerk but this is irrelevant . However, the clerk is also the person who checks the minibars and he confirmed the statement of Housekeeping that the do-not-disturb light was on during the day. Confusion between the "Make up the room" and "Do not disturb"
lights can happen as both are of the same colour.
I hope that despite the bad experience with our property you still enjoyed Amsterdam as a city.
Yours sincerely
René Wildmean, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here twice. They are so friendly, informative and helpful. There was one minor mishap with a forgotten wakeup call, but luckily, I had not tours planned that day. The first time we had a typical TINy dutch room with a squgee in the shower, not a -typical of what the locals deal with. Great location, right on Dam Square. Quiet at night. The second time, we were given an awesome room, with a great big tub. The food at the hotel is great too with a 10% discount too!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
First of all let me apologize for the fact that your wake-up call was forgotten. This should not have happened and I was happy to learn that did have no further consequences.
As you mention it, our rooms come in all sizes which is the charm but also the handicap of a building of over 100 years old.
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrinton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The room was extremely small just room to walk around the bed and struggled too pent the shower room door as the bed was about a foot away from it. The hotel itself was clean,the staff polite and a great location. Stayed on the fourth floor, sounded like a few children running back and forth on the roof above.
Air con smelt musty when it was put on. Powdered milk for tea was not very nice. All in all a reasonable stay, but would have been better if the room was a big bigger.

Room Tip: The room was not as shown online, much smaller than expected, not much room to unpack clothes, no dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We regret that the size of your room somewhat contributed to your stay being not as perect as it should be. May we suggest that you book a room of another type we are offering in the future. The difference in rate is not that big and if you need more space we are able to provide it and if you prefer liquid milk with the coffee maker in your room instead of powder there is no problem. Just call our front-office and they will be happy to bring you some milk cups or even fresh milk from the restaurant.
We hope to see you again
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights for my 21st birthday. Great location for our first visit, within walking distance from the train station to the red light district, coffee shops, shopping centres and fast food chains as it's right by Dam square but no noise complaints. The room was spacious and clean, overall a good hotel and the central location of Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw gave us more time to see the city and made a great base for in between all the touristy stuff. ***

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
It is true that the location of our property is unbeatable right on the spot where Amsterdam was founded centuries ago. It is with pleasure that we learned that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back on the occacion of another birthday in the future

Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw for 4 nights in early May. This hotel had an excellent location off of Dam Square, within close walking distance to the train station, the Anne Frank Museum, and the Red Light District. The room was on the small side (as most rooms in Europe) but was clean and comfortable and fine for our stay. Wi-fi was complimentary. Breakfast was not included in our room rate, which disappointed us at first, but ultimately worked in our favor since there were some amazing breakfast places nearby. We would stay here again, no question, for its location and value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, breakfast is not included in all rates but , like you mentioned it, there are plenty of possibilities within some steps, from Starbucks to Delifrance.
We look forward top welcoming you soon again nd thank you for this review.
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was my second time staying here and was a little anxious when i noticed the building works taking place outside my room window... however, no noise and no disruption.

The room i had, was clearly upgraded in comparison to my last visit. The bedroom was warm and quiet, though smaller than the last one i had. The bathroom had been modernized and was superb.

The staff as per last time, were great and friendly.

All i can really say past this is, the location is simply superb with being so close to the train station (4mins walk), pubs & restuarants and general entertainment in the area and as such is great value for money as a result.

Room Tip: pay just a little bit more for a higher level room, it makes a big difference in space and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
All our rooms have double windows so even during the works which took place, you could be assured of a good sleep at night without noise.. The upgrade of our street is finished in front of our hotel so there are no works anymore.
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#103 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. Sure, you can find fancier 4 star hotels in Amsterdam, but what we may lack in glitz we more than make up for in authentic friendliness and true hospitality. All of our bathrooms are all new, and our rooms are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.