We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw to your Saves list
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here twice. They are so friendly, informative and helpful. There was one minor mishap with a forgotten wakeup call, but luckily, I had not tours planned that day. The first time we had a typical TINy dutch room with a squgee in the shower, not a -typical of what the locals deal with. Great location, right on Dam Square. Quiet at night. The second time, we were given an awesome room, with a great big tub. The food at the hotel is great too with a 10% discount too!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
First of all let me apologize for the fact that your wake-up call was forgotten. This should not have happened and I was happy to learn that did have no further consequences.
As you mention it, our rooms come in all sizes which is the charm but also the handicap of a building of over 100 years old.
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    269
    112
    43
    33
See reviews for
60
316
55
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrinton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The room was extremely small just room to walk around the bed and struggled too pent the shower room door as the bed was about a foot away from it. The hotel itself was clean,the staff polite and a great location. Stayed on the fourth floor, sounded like a few children running back and forth on the roof above.
Air con smelt musty when it was put on. Powdered milk for tea was not very nice. All in all a reasonable stay, but would have been better if the room was a big bigger.

Room Tip: The room was not as shown online, much smaller than expected, not much room to unpack clothes, no dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We regret that the size of your room somewhat contributed to your stay being not as perect as it should be. May we suggest that you book a room of another type we are offering in the future. The difference in rate is not that big and if you need more space we are able to provide it and if you prefer liquid milk with the coffee maker in your room instead of powder there is no problem. Just call our front-office and they will be happy to bring you some milk cups or even fresh milk from the restaurant.
We hope to see you again
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights for my 21st birthday. Great location for our first visit, within walking distance from the train station to the red light district, coffee shops, shopping centres and fast food chains as it's right by Dam square but no noise complaints. The room was spacious and clean, overall a good hotel and the central location of Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw gave us more time to see the city and made a great base for in between all the touristy stuff. ***

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
It is true that the location of our property is unbeatable right on the spot where Amsterdam was founded centuries ago. It is with pleasure that we learned that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back on the occacion of another birthday in the future

Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw for 4 nights in early May. This hotel had an excellent location off of Dam Square, within close walking distance to the train station, the Anne Frank Museum, and the Red Light District. The room was on the small side (as most rooms in Europe) but was clean and comfortable and fine for our stay. Wi-fi was complimentary. Breakfast was not included in our room rate, which disappointed us at first, but ultimately worked in our favor since there were some amazing breakfast places nearby. We would stay here again, no question, for its location and value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, breakfast is not included in all rates but , like you mentioned it, there are plenty of possibilities within some steps, from Starbucks to Delifrance.
We look forward top welcoming you soon again nd thank you for this review.
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was my second time staying here and was a little anxious when i noticed the building works taking place outside my room window... however, no noise and no disruption.

The room i had, was clearly upgraded in comparison to my last visit. The bedroom was warm and quiet, though smaller than the last one i had. The bathroom had been modernized and was superb.

The staff as per last time, were great and friendly.

All i can really say past this is, the location is simply superb with being so close to the train station (4mins walk), pubs & restuarants and general entertainment in the area and as such is great value for money as a result.

Room Tip: pay just a little bit more for a higher level room, it makes a big difference in space and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
All our rooms have double windows so even during the works which took place, you could be assured of a good sleep at night without noise.. The upgrade of our street is finished in front of our hotel so there are no works anymore.
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Partner booked this as a birthday treat. First time I have been to Amsterdam. He requested a room with a view, and did we get one! Own double balcony above the restaurant, overlooking Dam and Dam Square. When windows were shut, no noise could be heard. Was nice to stand on balcony and people watch.

Room was massive, and very beautiful. Wooden floors, nice firm bed and bedding. TV, Coffee Maker, Alarm clock with iphone dock, Internet access. Funky door controls to add Do Not Disturb signs. Massive bathroom, with wonderful shower and bath. Only disaapointment was no light above the sink so dark when trying to shave.

Staff were very friendly and helpful (apart from one guy, who came across quite miserable). Would definitely recommend and look forward to staying there again sometme. Same room please!!! :-)

Room Tip: Room 101, was amazing! Great view, noisy if window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
It was a pleasure to learn that you had a nice stay at our property. Apparantely you had one of the Junior Suites at the front so it makes it easy to figure out for me which one needs more lights above the sink. I apologize that one employee looked miserable. We do our utmost to give a happy time to our guests but also to our staff so I hope next time he will look happier.
We look forward to your next visit
With best regards
Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I visited Amsterdam last month for a conference. The hotel's main draw is its location. It's next to Dam Square and the shopping belt at damrak & a short walk to the red light district.

I had a standard room with a king (actually queen) size bed. That cost me €205/night. The room was reasonable in size which resulted in a very small toilet. So much so that the bathroom door could not be opened completely with the bed in the way. There was no shower door or curtain which meant the toilet was flooded every time I had a bath. Thankfully I was alone. If my kids were with me, I dread to imagine the state of the bathroom after they finish with it.

The TV screen was too small for the distance it was placed from the bed. Otherwise the room was well equipped with a minibar & safe.

Most interestingly, the room I had was sloping! I had a sense after being in the room for a day. So I took a can of coke from the minibar and placed it on the floor at one end of the room. True enough, it rolled quite briskly to the other side.

The lift was small and extremely slow. I guess that is to be expected in an old hotel like this one. The breakfast of scrambled eggs bacon, cold meats, cereals, yoghurt juice and toast was adequate but the same everyday.

The jewel in this establishment is the staff. Courteous, polite, helpful. Always with a smiling face. They do their best with what they have.

I guess I would consider returning to this hotel the next time I visit Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
103 years of history also show in our building. Although all our safety and IT equipment in the back-of-the-house is state-of -the art, the building shows its history. For decades after the opening in 1911 our guests had to share bathrooms on each floor until it was decided that private bathrooms were a "must". Giving each room a private bathroom must have been a headache for the architect with the result that some rooms have small and some huge bathrooms.
One lift is also a restriction we are facing. We were one of the first properties to install flatscreen TV's but the size of TV's for consumers has grown since so in September of this year, all rooms will reveive new flat screen TV's of a bigger size together with quicker internet connections and a better coverage and a huge number of TV channels. This will remain FREE of charge.
Your experience with the sloping floor amused me, although it is a serious matter. Sloping floors are very common in Amsterdam as the houses are standing on (wouden) poles in a swamp underground. This is why you will notice many houses in Amsterdam leaning against others. I was happy to learn that the staff made a great impression and I hope we shall have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future
Yours sincerely
Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#118 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,811 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#112 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. Sure, you can find fancier 4 star hotels in Amsterdam, but what we may lack in glitz we more than make up for in authentic friendliness and true hospitality. All of our bathrooms are all new, and our rooms are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.