We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel very well situated!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw to your Saves list
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel very well situated!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, situated in the center of Amsterdam, close to all interesting places.
We took a superior room and for European standards, the room is large and very cozy.
A gret place ti stay when you are in Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
I was happy to learn that you did enjoy your stay at our property and the central location, only 10 steps from Dam Square.
Hopefully we will see you again in the future
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    235
    92
    36
    30
See reviews for
50
266
47
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just a short walk down from the station and on Dam Square this hotel is in a great location. It's clean and functional but not luxurious. Despite booking several weeks earlier and requesting a double superior room we were allocated a twin room on arrival that was small and if superior I would hate to see the economy version. We did however get an upgrade for our remaining two nights to a junior suite overlooking the square, which did conform to the superior description that we had booked. Very clean throughout with an excellent bathroom, security is also very good. Overall an enjoyable stay once we had got over the disappointment of having our request for a double room ignored.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Unfortunately it is not always possible for us to give a double bedded room, when this is requested. That's why we always mention that this type is only available according to availability. Unfortunately some bookingsites forget to mention this. Nevertheless, I was happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we could fulfill your wishes by upgrading you to a Junior Suite. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
With best regards
René Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

a clean caring hotel right on t e edge of Dam Square but well insulated from the noise of the street below. Friendly staff welcome you to their lovely hotel and look after your comfort. this was our second stay and they welcomed us back and we were so pleased top be back it was like a homecoming.

when i return, as i know i will, i will stay again and feel at home

Room Tip: we had the comfort rooms which were spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
It was nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that a third visit will follow soon.
Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Located on the main street running from Amsterdam Central Station which is a 5 minute walk away, the hotel is perfectly sited for exploring the City. The rooms are reasonably sized with a comfortable bed. The free wi-fi is particularly welcome.

Despite being on the main street, there was no noticeable street noise in the room despite being at the front of the hotel.

The staff were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Indeed, our location is the best in town and Amsterdam is a wonderful city.
We hope that you will plan another visit in the future
With best regards
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This was our second stay at the Hotel Amsterdam--De Roode Leeuw. We had a spotless, superior room with plenty of space, a very nice bathroom, minibar (really cold), comfortable beds and a fabulous breakfast. The hotel staff was always helpful and polite. The hotel has tram passes available for sale (you don't have to hunt around in the shops) and lots of suggestions for things to do. The location is almost at the Dam, which is the center of the old city, and just across the street from the best known department stores in town. We asked for, and received a room near the back which was away from street noise. Close to ATM machines, tram stops, restaurants--what more could you ask for? We would stay here again and hope to have the opportunity to do so soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back to avoid noise from construction near the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We are flattered by your nice comments but are still trying to improve. As from september we shall have our glasfiber network in place allowing our guests to enjoy a still faster internet connection for free. This will allow them to view movies streaming on their mobile devices and a lot more.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again

Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The economy rooms are very small, but nice and clean. Our room was facing the backyard so no street noise from Damrak. The service in the lobby was very good. And the location of the hotel is great, just next to Dam Square!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Many thanks for your review. Indeed the economy rooms are small but that's why those rooms are also the cheapest we are having. Nevertheless, the equipment is the same as you will find in the other rooms with the expception of the coffee machines and make-up mirrors in the superior rooms. We were happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, close to restaurants and sights to see in the heart of the city. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We got a room with 2 single beds and it was clean and quiet. We went for King's Day and the staff was kind enough to give us a quiet room so we could sleep at night and not be disturbed by the noise outside and we did sleep well. The room itself and the bathroom were quiet small and tight but for the money and location it was a good deal. The only drawback was that showering in the bathroom inevitably got water all over the floor since there was no shower curtain or door between the shower and rest of the bathroom.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room not on the street side because there is heavy traffic outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We appreciate your comments. In fact some of the bathrooms are getting quiet wet when showering and we try to find a solution for that. King's day is the busiest day in Amsterdam with a huge crowd visiting our city but outside that period there is no heavy traffic in front of our hotel besides the streetcars. Due to the double glazing even the rooms at the front are quiet provided that the windows are closed well.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#105 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. Sure, you can find fancier 4 star hotels in Amsterdam, but what we may lack in glitz we more than make up for in authentic friendliness and true hospitality. All of our bathrooms are all new, and our rooms are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.