We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed there 3 nights at easter and it was very comfortable. We received an upgrade in the junior suite which was "wow"! Next to the hotel was a fun fair but we didn't notice much noise. Staff was very kind and helpful. It is located in the centre and close to everything you want to do in A'dam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
You were lucky to receive an upgrade to a Junior Suite which made your stay still more enjoyable. I was happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam at our property.
We hope this will be a reason for you to return in the future
With best regards

René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    221
    82
    35
    28
See reviews for
46
248
43
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We recently stayed here for a three night break and the location is the hotels best feature. The rooms that we had were small and basic. They were clean and modern but the room was really too small. The bathroom had a shower and toilet and the wash hand basin was in the bedroom as the shower room was too small for it! The bed had a good quality mattress but the bed sloped inwards from both sides so we ended up both in the middle of the bed! Not great for a good nights sleep. The room had air con which was great. There was a lot of noise outside at night which impacted on sleep but we were very central so can't complain about this. The hotel has the slowest ever lift! Amsterdam still as beautiful as ever and don't regret booking here as got a good deal but wouldn't stay again :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
A historical building has some disadvantages such as rooms in all different sizes and a slow lift and one room with the wash basin outside the bathroom, which I understand was the room you occupied . But we do have superior rooms of a larger size which have also a bathtub and an espresso machine. We regret that you won't use us again and apologize that we could not meet your expectations
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from April 11th - 13th in room 103, perfect view and really lovely room which was spotless, it was close to all the cafés which was the only reason for us going to Amsterdam in the first place.
Staff were great and checked us in 5 hours earlier which was a bonus as we arrived at 9.30am and our room wasn't supposed to be ready til 2pm.
McDonald's right next door and KFC for all your midnight feasts.
Overall the hotel location was perfect, room was fabulous no complaints & we will deffo be returning very soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
You came to Amsterdam for the café's and indeed our city has a lot of them. From traditional "brown"café's to more trendy ones. it was a pleasure for me to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our property and I hope to see you back in the future\yours sincerely

René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very nice inside and out. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was much smaller than I had expected but being in the center of the city its to be expected. The only thing that we did not like were the beds. Coming from America we are used to box springs and firm mattresses. The mattress was very soft and as it was really two twin beds put together my wife and spent the night rolling into the center of the bed. She had no complaints as she saw it as bringing us closer together. LOL. I on the other hand felt the quality of the bed everyday when we woke in my back. Other than that it was nice and I had no other complaints. Regardless of the bed, I would probably stay here again if I returned as it was conveniently located close to everything you would want to do in Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levallois-Perret, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Location is really the plus for this hotel. Rooms are tiny but has been renovated recently. Id you don't plan to stay in yourroom during your visit, this hotel is for you. Staff is nice and very helpful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We thank you for your review. Indeed, some of our comfort rooms are not very big but for those who want a bigger room we offer our superiors as alternative against a small surcharge.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcome you again
With best regards

René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth, staffs
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent four nights at this hotel and would highly recommend it. The staff were extremely professional and friendly. We had two meals enjoyable meals during our stay and the wine was very reasonable for a central city hotel. The location is excellent and is only a short walk from central station - there was no need for a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our property and its location and look forward to seeing you again in the future
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw couldn't be easier to find if you go to Amsterdam by train. 10 minute walk from Central station. Just head from the station straight along Damrak. The hotel is 2 minutes from Dam Square and about 15 minutes from Rembrandt Plein where you will find some restaurants. Plenty of places to eat in the city centre. 5 minutes fro the red light district if that's your thing.
The hotel reception staff were welcoming and helpful. The room itself was clean and well kept but you will find a lack of draw space and limited wardrobe room with minimal hangers. Not a problem for a few nights but if staying for a week may be an issue for the other half.
Room cleaned each day with towels changed if required.
We stayed in room 220 with a great view of a brick wall but thankfully no noise could be heard from outside which was a plus, as road works were ongoing over night outside the front of the hotel.
Overall, a decent hotel in a spot for easy access to the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We thank you for your review which gives a good description of our property. Happily the works at the tramrails have come to an end so our guests are not disturbed by the works anymore.
We hope to have the plewasure of welcoming you again in the future
With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. Sure, you can find fancier 4 star hotels in Amsterdam, but what we may lack in glitz we more than make up for in authentic friendliness and true hospitality. All of our bathrooms are all new, and our rooms are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.