We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw to your Saves list
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great location right in the centre of Amsterdam, the hotel was very clean and the rooms were modern and well lit. Good value for money considering you are on the doorstep of Dam Square and the hotel staff were very helpful with guiding you to all the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We were pleased to learn that your birthday trip was an enjoyable one. Amsterdam has a lot to offer and we do our best to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible.
We look forward to seeing you again in a not too distant future
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    247
    99
    39
    31
See reviews for
53
285
49
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here in late August for a weekend.
In my humble view, one key aspect of any experience is having realistic expectations.
So, when one books a 4 star hotel on Expedia, one expects a 4 star hotel, particularly when paying upwards of $300 a night for a room. Expedia themselves say that 4 star hotels include Hyatts, Intercontinentals, Omni etc.
There is no possible way that anyone could call De Roode Leeuw a 4 star hotel.
The hotel is well located near Dam Square, a short walk from the Central Station.
Staff are friendly enough at check in.
However, the lobby is smaller than the average sized living room so is very congested when more than 2 people are simultaneously checking in and out.
Rooms are average and of no better than 2.5-3 star standard.
Which would all have been fine if one had booked and paid for an at best 2.5-3 star hotel.
This place is perfectly average but no better than that on its best day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
I fully agree with you that our property cannot be compared to a Hyatt or an Intercontinental. Unfortunately the stars-system varies from country to country and that's why it's great to have sites like Tripadvisor where you can make your choice based on comments and experiences of other guests. And as far as our rates are concerend we also have lower rates than the quoted hotel chains. You are mentioning a rather high rate for our property which make me conclude that you have visited our property during a period that the whole city was full. We hope that nevertheless you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you for your comments

Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is right in the middle of Dam Square. It takes 30 min to get there from Schiphol airport - 20 min by train and 10 min by foot. Perfect service, respectable staff, tasty food in the restaurant. We celebrated Bday of my husband and spent really good time there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We were pleased to learn that you spent a nice birthday of your husband with us and that you enjoyed it. I would not pretend that we are one of the best hotels of Amsterdam but I kbnow that my staff and myself are doing our best to make our guests feel at home.
We look forward to welcing you again

Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Don't waste your time if you're looking for a hotel in Amsterdam, just book it, you'll get a good service as well as the good location.

It has a very good security system, nice room view, nice room in size, respectable staff

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
The best hotel in Amsterdam is maybe not the case as there are many more hotels and some are of a very high standard (and rate too). But we do our best to make the stay of our guests an enjoyable one. And yes, security is important to us. We do not only have the latest equipment for smoke detection but also state-of-the-art key cards with RFC chips.
We were pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again in the future

Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Went on a business trip, took a basic twin room. Good location in the centre of Amsterdam, very clean, very helpful staff, and excellent housekeeping. Not so nice: WiFi was very slow (unusable for videoconferencing), and the bathroom was really small. And I mean really small. You can't comfortable sit, the paper dispenser is at a backbreaking location, and the shower does not have a door/curtain. Which basically means that showering means flooding the whole bathroom. Apart from that, it's quite recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We thank you that you recommended our property. The questionable architecture is a result of transformations in a 102 years old building. In the first half of last century there were only 3 shared bathrooms per floor. Only after the second world war, whe tourism to Europe started,individual bathrooms were added in an existing building. This resulted in a strange mix of bathrooms. Some small and others big. The only solution would be to build the hotel from scratch but that is not the solution we are choosing for understandable reasons.
We look forward to having you here with us again
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Recently back from vacation in this great city, stayed here for 5 nights with my brother. We were coming from Prague so were quite shocked when we arrived on a Saturday night to a crowded downtown city locale! The hotel, right in the middle of Dam Square, is in a great spot. Very easy for trams, just in front of the hotel and Central Station a 5 minute walk down the street,Also easy to walk (or bike) to most attractions. The room was adequate size for a city hotel, though I had upgraded to a "superior" room which was supposed to be a bit larger. Modernly designed room and features, good sized bathroom with the infamous European shower stall with no door or curtain, but the flood sloped toward the drain, so the bathroom did not flood with every shower! Only complaints would be wifi was sketchy, biut if paid for high speed connection was much more reliable. Occasionally there was a sewage type odor coming from the bathroom, was told it was the pipes draining system that was sometimes sluggish! It didn't infliltrate the room but a bit of a turn off, otherwise the stay was great with a friendly staff. Dd not try the restaurant so can't comment on it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We thank you for your review and are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay. As far as our free WiFi connection is concerned, we provide extra bandwith against a surcharge but now are reviewing our full internet and multimedia offer. By mid 2014 we will probably not provide pay-tv anymore but instead of that a free very high-speed internet and an extensive choice of TV programs so our guests can use their tablets and notebooks to watch the streaming movies of their choice while having enough bandwith at all times.
We are sorry for the smell in the bathrooms. Indeed, depending on the wether conditions there can be a smell in some rooms for which we apologize. This has nothing to do with the cleanliness of the bathroom.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again
With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with a real handy location, just near Dam Square. The room was lovely,quiet and very comfortable. We didn't have any food at this hotel so I can make any comment there, but it was certainly handy for restaurants and some great bars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. It's a pity that you did not have time to enjoy our typical Dutch specialties at Restaurant De Roode Leeuw. We are famous for it.
Looing forward to welcoming you on another occasion
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#95 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. Sure, you can find fancier 4 star hotels in Amsterdam, but what we may lack in glitz we more than make up for in authentic friendliness and true hospitality. All of our bathrooms are all new, and our rooms are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.