We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pearl in the middle of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw to your Saves list
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pearl in the middle of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Nice, renovated hotel in the middle of Amsterdam. We had a room on the roof and it was nice to listen the church bells from our window. Staff is friendly and made the stay enjoyable.
In the bathroom was nice, big bath tub and also separate shower. This is a nice hotel to stay in Amsterdam.
Extra plus for eco friendly cosmetics in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in a room under the roof. You have indeed a nice view over the roofs towards the New Church (which is centuries old). And of course, as a hotel with a Green Key Gold certicate we are committed to environmental friendly products and equipment. As an example; the whole hotel is equipped with energy saving lights and LED lights.
We hope to welcome you again in the future
Yours sincerely
Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    235
    92
    36
    30
See reviews for
50
267
47
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed in the hotel during the conference for four days. The location was good in the center of the city, and also the tram heading to the RAI conference center went just beside the hotel. The rooms were tiny but clean. My room in the 4th floor had a view to the back of the house but was very quiet to sleep. The breakfast was fine with fresh croissants, toast, some fruits, yoghourt, eggs and beacon. The staff was friendly. I think this hotel is OK if you are not looking anything fancy, and want a clean hotel in the center of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
You gave a good description of our rooms for which we thank you. We do not offer fancy rooms but simple rooms with all equipment needed such as 130V USA sockets, 220V UK sockets and many European sockets as well as free Wifi and coffee- and tea making facilities. And of course the tramway to the RAI convention centre stops at some steps of our main entrance which makes it very convenient..
We look forward to welcoming you again
Yours sincerely
Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here with some friends and occupied the whole of the 5th floor ! Here there are two very comfortable and well equipped rooms although beyond the reach of the elevator which stops at floor 4. But the rooms are exceptionally quiet, which is an advantage as this hotel is right on a busy street. The location is wonderful for access to everything, including the main rail station which is in walking distance, and the tram system with stops outside the door for very easy access to all parts of the city (you can buy a well worth it 24 hour pass on the tram). There is an excellent restaurant at the hotel serving Dutch food, and a decent buffet breakfast. All the staff whom we came across were exceedingly helpful and cheerful, a great asset to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We are happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay. Yes, the only 2 rooms on the 5th floor cannot be reached by elevator but thave nice bathrooms and a view over the roofs of the city. It's quiet over there like in the country side. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for 3 nights in September... Amsterdam was our first stop in our Europe trip and we were in town to catch up with friends. Location wise, you can't fault this hotel, only a short walk from the Central station and very very easy to find. Trams at the doorstep and within walking distance to most things !! Very very convenient for going out, or sight seeing.... The hotel is small however the staff are friendly. The rooms are incredibly small - but clean... This is not a big issue as you only really use your room to sleep so who needs that much space anyway ! The only issue we had was the noise, we could hear the people in the next room and down the hall etc... talking, doors opening/shutting etc. It was good for what we needed - if you are looking for something a little more luxurious then maybe this hotel is not for you. We would stay again although may explore other options for a 'quieter' nights sleep. The staff were very nice though :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

first it was the warm welcome and the answer to would they store our bags as we had arrived early. Of course they would happily store our bags or, as one of the rooms we had booked was cleaned would we prefer to book into that one now and freshen up leaving our bags there. the other room would be ready at 2pm.

the room was spacious and the twin beds comfortable and inviting. the bath and shower in one room was huge and the shower in the other was great hot and with a very good water pressure. there was a safe and it was free to use. there was temperature control and the air conditioning was so quiet you could sleep and not know it was on.

it is ion the main street leading from central station almost into Dam Square and with windows open it was great to hear the noise of people enjoying the city but with windows closed it was a haven of peace and quiet..

our stay was delightful and we would recommend this hotel unreservedly

Room Tip: we chose superior rooms at very little extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Of course we do our utmost to assist our guests when checking in early or leaving late. There is always the possiblity to store the luggage and we do not let our guests wait until official checkin time if roomsare available. I was pleased to learn that we could meet your expectations and hope you will visit us again in the future.
With best regards
Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our second return visit to this truly great hotel, right in the heart of exciting Amsterdam. When arriving, we were notified that we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite. The room was beautifully decorated with the most comfortable memory foam bed. We had a lovely view overlooking busy Damrak and Dam Square. Staff at reception and in the De Roode Leeuw dining room were most kind and friendly. It was great to see and talk to Peter and Jose in the dining room again. The breakfast buffet was of the highest quality and delicious, as were the dinners in the dining room(restaurant) Many staff that we talked to had been with the hotel for 20 years or more, a good indication that they take great pride in being part of this fine and historic(102 years old) establishment. In our 20 years of European travel, this hotel ranks at the very top of our hotel experiences. Highly recommended!
Marjorie and John McIlroy,Victoria BC Canada.

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior room overlooking Damrak and Dam Square.(Surprisingly quiet at night).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
It is always nice to learn that guests returned to our property because they were so pleased the first time. Indeed our staff turnover is very low and although the fact that many of our "old "waiters reachted the retirement age, we have also many of our younger staff members who are already many years with us. That is the advantage of a smaller hotel with a family-like atmosphere.
I look forward to welcoming you again in the future
|Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#103 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. Sure, you can find fancier 4 star hotels in Amsterdam, but what we may lack in glitz we more than make up for in authentic friendliness and true hospitality. All of our bathrooms are all new, and our rooms are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.