We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay in A'dam Tulip Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside to your Saves list
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Provincialeweg 38, 1108 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First stay in A'dam Tulip Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Hotel out of centre but easily reachable by car. (15 min drive)
Quiet and countryside setting on the outskirts of the city.
Expensive breakfast, nice pleasant restaurant staff but one staff member at reception was "addressing me" without even looking up from the computer screen. It was unpleasant and impolite as well because I felt as if I was not important enough to even look at and it makes you feel unwanted.
Another unpleasant item are the hairs left on the bathroom floor.
Going there by car is ok, is difficult by metro (luggage etc....)

Room Tip: Second floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    153
    92
    43
    34
See reviews for
42
131
22
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. 30 minutes on the metro and then a 10 minute walk along the side of a motorway without a proper pathway. The hotel could do with putting on buses from the metro station and airport. Apart from the poor location, the hotel was clean, modern and the rooms were a large size. The staff were fine and check in is open until late. If they put regular buses on from the metro station and airport I would award them four stars but, unfortunately it has to just be three.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Tulip Hotel. As others have said it is a little out of the centre of Amsterdam but none the worse for that. Our ground floor room was quiet with a view over the gardens and a canal. It was peaceful and well air conditioned. The bed was comfortable and the room had all amenities. Our rate was inclusive of breakfast which was extensive, fresh and with a choice for every taste. Perhaps because we did not view it as an additional cost I can not criticise it as others have.
The walk to the metro was no problem although directions by the hotel staff were vague. For us this hotel succeeded by being quiet and with extensive free parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at the Tulip Inn in Vienna and the two do not compare. While this hotel is as advertised, it is lacking in some areas. The hotel is a little distant from the metro (1km) and through a construction area. The metro will take you downtown. The hotel would like you to reuse your towels, which is great! However, a towel rack or hooks of something in the bathroom to hang them from would be a good idea. The two hangers are not sufficient. There are no drawers or wardrobe to speak of, just a shelf for you luggage. The hotel breakfast is expensive at 15 Euro's each and no restaurants around to pick from. Don't bother asking for ice, it comes in a paper cup. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just arrived home after 2 night stay. Great staff and very friendly. Room clean and tidy. It's about a 10 minute walk to the local metro station and about 15 minutes into Amsterdam Central but we didn't mind. It is lovely a quiet where the hotel is situated and has good transport connections. The staff were kind especially when we tried to check in early and they said it would cost an extra 25 euros but when I explained the morning we'd had they waived the fee and gave us our room straight away. Great as a cheap stay if you don't want to stay in the centre itself.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This Hotel was very average. No nice Lounge to sit in at night. Breakfast very slap dash. Staff seemed not to know what they were doing. Far too far from the City. We had to walk for about 15 minutes to get to a tram to take us into the city which took about 20 minutes and had to do the same journey in the evening on the way back. I definitely would not recommend this Hotel.
This Hotel is geared for Bus Tours and couples on there own not renting a car should avoid it. I am sorry I have to write such a bad review.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed in the hotel for a night in May 2010 due to its competitive pricing.I was returning back back from my Paris trip and decided to give this hotel a try.This hotel is farther from the city and I had to walk down with my luggage for around 20 odd minutes to find the hotel.It was late in the evening with no one around and I finally found the place.The rooms are pretty neat but there is not much to do and you need a taxi to venture out.The overall ambience of the hotel is good and the staff is good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside

Address: Provincialeweg 38, 1108 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.