We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice but be prepared to travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside to your Saves list
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Provincialeweg 38, 1108 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Merseyside, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good choice but be prepared to travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a really nice hotel having been recently refurbished. The rooms are nicely appointed with all the usual facilities and the interior is now looking very smart. Didn't use the bar but dined one night and my wife said the mixed grill was the best she'd ever had. Staff very pleasant and always willing to assist.

This hotel was ideal for our needs as it has a large free car park and so is useful if you are seeing the Netherlands by car. If you are planning to use this hotel as a cheap base to see Amsterdam then you should be aware that it is located far outside the city. However with a bit of effort (10 minutes walk to the station) you can use Amsterdam's excellent metro system and then be in the city in about 25 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    145
    88
    42
    34
See reviews for
42
128
22
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed with a corporate group during the ESC congress in Amsterdam. Hotel was almost finished with renovating - only a small part of entrance was under reconstruction, but all the work was done during daytime, while most of the guests were out in town.

Rooms are just as they should be -refurbished, modern, comfortable. Not too big, but not small at all. Bathroom was very nicely done, with a bathtub and new fixtures. No minibar in the rooms, but the hotel bar has very OK prices.

Since we came as a group, check-in was done very fast. Staff was more than helpful - I would hereby like to thank all the girls at the reception for their patience and kindness.

Breakfast was a standard buffet, with an reasonable choice of meat, cheese, dairies, cereals, pastries etc.

We also had a dinner at a hotel restaurant - a very nice choice of dishes. Waiters were quick, discreet, nicely done, boys!

If I should search any flaws, then the only flaw would be location: quite far from the city, but there is an OK metro connection relatively near the hotel. Connection with RAI Congress Center is excellent - a direct metro line 50 leads you to the Congress Center (cca. 15 minutes).

Besides the location, my best recommendations to Tulip Inn Riverside.

Room Tip: Try having a room on upper level, with a view on a lake and a park behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are a moslem then better you never choose this hotel. The staffs were not friendly and so arrogant. After taking long road to reach this hotel which is placed in far away from the center city, you will face unhelpful and unfriendly staffs in this hotel. We had cancellation from booking.com just two days before when we were in Milan, so we arrived at this hotel and could not have any room even we offered cash payment, and when we asked help to find another hotel near by, the staffs just said "don't know!". I will never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Recently refitted, the hotel seems nicely done out. With a very good price including breakfast, the hotel was good value for one night, as I had a car. The room however, although recently refitted, could do with more attention to detail to guests' needs. For instance, in the bathroom, there was nowhere to hang towels, so they were hung over the grab rail by the toilet (I was in a disabled room). Also, for ladies, there was nowhere to make up sitting down with a mirror. Whilst the desk had a nice table and chair, with a desk lamp, there was no mirror. It might be because it was a disabled room, but don't disabled females want to make up?

As I said however, good value and nicely fitted out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked this hotel for 3 nights. We knew it is outskirts of Amsterdam, but price and free parking attracted us.
Checking in was a bit slow as only one receptionist. But she was nice and polite and explained to us how to get to Amsterdam.
Room is big and clean and modern, so is bathroom. Hotel is next to a canal and quiet.
We drove to the metro station everyday, only couple of minutes away, and parked in the small free car park. Took the metro then tram into the city. No problem at all.
Only grip is there is no kettle in the room (pretty normal in Europe?), though you can borrow one from the reception with a bit of deposit. The inside of the kettle isn't as clean as should be though.
We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very nice hotel in terms of location, service, and rooms comfort. The hotel is located outside of the city by the river and there is a big park just across the road. Metro station is 7-8 minutes away (walking distance). It's got to be your choice if you want to see Amsterdam and to relax in a pleasant countryside-like atmoshere simultaneously.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The location of the hotel is not strategic as it is very far from the city center. It would be no problem if you come here with the group bus like us. The view is lovely, while the hotel personnel are very friendly. The breakfast is also excellent with a lot of choices. The rooms are reasonable. We stayed here 2 nights.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel if you don't have your own transportation :-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside

Address: Provincialeweg 38, 1108 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.