We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view, excellent breakfast, but far from the city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside

Save Saved
You added Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Provincialeweg 38, Amsterdam 1108 AB, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Lovely view, excellent breakfast, but far from the city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The location of the hotel is not strategic as it is very far from the city center. It would be no problem if you come here with the group bus like us. The view is lovely, while the hotel personnel are very friendly. The breakfast is also excellent with a lot of choices. The rooms are reasonable. We stayed here 2 nights.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel if you don't have your own transportation :-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    147
    107
    51
    42
See reviews for
25
87
16
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there during the much needed renovation for one night on a business trip. It was the worst experience ever, as I'd never stayed in a 3 star hotel before, I was alarmed when I called for an ironing bored and had to fetch it from reception myself. Carry my luggage in after check in.
I must say the newly renovated rooms are clean and decor refreshing & the free wifi is a plus. The lights kept going off and we needed to shower and iron for an urgent meeting & were late. The next day they has to book us into another room as the electricity out,could not be fixed on our room. After moving all our luggage there, full of soap I might add, as the hot water cut off in our room, there was no hot water in the room we were moved to either. Apparently they failed to leg us know at check in that there would be no hot water after 10 'o' clock due to renovation. So we had a bath in ice cold water. The breakfast was a good spread for three stars & the waitress was helpful & friendly, breakfast room nicely decorated & modern.
When we checked our the lifts were out of order and we had to carry our 60kg luggage down so many flights of stairs & got lost cause there were no clear directions during renovation.
Apart for all this, I'm sure that if the improve their services i.e. bellboy, room service, concierge, wake up call, newspaper, fruit basket on arrival, this modern decor and renovation can make them a 4 star property!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Located on the outskirts of Amsterdam (not ideal for Amsterdam sightseeing). Lovely view. Free parking. Nice room. Friendly staff. Couldn't get the wifi/wlan to work, though. Paid around €70 for a single room (walk in rate).
Restaurant mediocre. Breakfast expensive (not included).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

No shuttles and to carry luggage from the metro it is a good twenty five minute walk. Must be in good shape. The cost for a taxi is very expensive. The food was below par. Cost us $320 American money for two nights. Charged for water at dinner. No hair dryer, shampoo,lotion etc.looked out our window at scaffoling...not pretty. Would not stay here again

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here whilst working in the area and found the accommodation most comfortable with helpfull staff. The hotel was undergoing refurbishment at the time of my visit however this did not detract from a well functioning hotel. I ate in the restaurant which was prompt in service and good value for money. I enjoyed my visit and look forward to my next stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside

Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside Hotel
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Riverside
Address: Provincialeweg 38, Amsterdam 1108 AB, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.