We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside to your Saves list
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Provincialeweg 38, 1108 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bath
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Happy with hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed here in January on a business/leisure trip for 3 nights. We took a taxi from the Airport which was 57 euros, and was a 25 minute trip at a busy time.
If you arrive by No. 53 Metro, turn left out of the Gastenplas Metro Station (last stop on the line) and follow the cycleway/footpath past the rear of the Campenile Hotel, then follow the footpath up the slope, and follow the footpath all the way to the road junction where the hotel sits (you will have passed a campsite on your right and the Prins Willem horse centre, also on your right).
The hotel is a decent 3 star, probably about Premier Inn standard, with better public areas. The rooms are a good size. Ours room was clean. It had two single beds, desk, wardrobe, TV and table + two chairs. Reasonable bathroom with shower gell and tissues, but no hairdryer (you can borrow from Reception for a deposit).
The Lighthouse Bar and Flavours restaurant are pleasant public spaces, and both serve food. We ate dinner in each and the food was good - 15 to 20 euro for mains, but also sandwiches and pasta, salads from 6 to 11 euros. Breakfast was good too, with fruit salad, cereals, pastries, cold meat, cheese and scrambled eggs and bacon (but no baked beans!)...Drinks prices were ok for a hotel with 3 to 4 euros for a glass of wine.
Hotel staff were polite efficient and helpful.
It was a fairly quiet hotel and we slept well.
In good weather there is a riverside terrace to enjoy the location.
The hotel is located on the outskirts of Amsterdam, but you can catch a Metro (53) into Central Amsterdam. We got a 24 hour ticket for 7 euros. The Metro station is about 15 minutes walk from the hotel. It's a pleasant walk in the daytime, but not one I would want do alone late on a winter night (taxi from the Centre of town a much more expensive, but better bet). We had no problems with the Metro, which is an efficient service. Get off at Waterlooplein and you avoid the crowds at the Central Station.

We thought the hotel was good value. It would be particularly suitable if you were arriving by car as there is a large free car park, and you could avoid the cost of parking in Central Amsterdam.You are also well placed for some car trips to the coast or villages etc.

If you intend to spend most of your days in Central Amsterdam, it may better to consider a more central hotel and pay more, especially if you plan being out late a lot.
As for the hotel itself, it was good value, and we would have no problem in staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    160
    94
    44
    34
See reviews for
42
137
22
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
osann-monzel
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The room was very hot, since there was no AC and it was NOT clean. There were stains, dust and crumbs on everything and hair all over the bathroom. The shower had no nozzle and the pressure was low. We didn't ask for a different room, so I'm not sure how they would have handled the complaints. The good things about this hotel were that the metro to Amsterdam was a 10 min walk (not good if raining), the staff spoke English and was very helpful and the television had the Discovery Channel in English! The restaurant was good but pricey. This place is great for city trips because the metro is cheap and the hotel has free parking, but that is it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Excellent hotel with very spacious rooms, very well maintained bathrooms and an overall ambiance that is very pleasing. Upon entry to room, I was pleasantly surprised with the aesthetics and scenery outside.

In addition, the Hotel offers a free parking outside. wiFi is free only upto 1 hr a day.

However, the breakfast restaurant and it's waiters demonstrated why this is not a 4 star.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Got a really bad experience with this hotel without entering any room! In fact, a room had been booked by the work of my fiancé for 10 days. Unfortunately the dates were not convenient for us so we wanted to cancel it but apparently it was not possible. So due to the dates we arrived one day later. The blame on us, we didn't call to inform the hotel but as the reservation could not be cancelled we thought the room was already for us. When we arrived (and the hotel is not easy to reach when you have to walk with luggage) the hotel was completely booked! We asked if there was a room available for the following days and there was no more room according to the receptionist. So we had to leave the hotel and take a taxi to find a suitable accommodation for the night. And now we are asked to pay for the length of the supposed stay whereas we never entered the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel and found it to be good with plenty of parking spaces and very helpful staff both on reception, in the breakfast room and restaurant.

The rooms were very large and comfortable with very clean bathrooms. The breakfasts were excellent as were the evening meals (although there was not a large choice) it was cooked and presented to the hightest quality.

I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed at the Tulip Riverside for 4 nights as part of a group. Nice hotel with good sized, clean and comfortable rooms. Plenty of storage, clean comfortable bed, large clean bathroom, desk, small table and chairs. My room was at the front overlooking the main road, but no issues with noise. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially with some of the older members of our group. Very good breakfast - scrambled eggs, bacon, cereals, fresh fruit salad, bread, rolls, cheeses and ham, plenty of tea/coffee. About 8km out of city centre, but got taxi in (approx €30 - not too bad if sharing). Evening meals were good. If you don't mind the location, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed in Tulip Inn for 2 nights on the August end long weekend. It was quite far from the city and took an hour to reach there (vs. 20 mins mentioned in their website) as the direct Metro was not working. We took a bus and then a Metro to reach the nearest station from where it was a 15 min walk (and again i would not call it as FEW mins as their site says). This was the worst part as we had to spend a lot of time travelling to city centre which is what we went to visit.
It is a basic hotel located near the river. Rooms were quite large and comfortable and the place looked beautiful in the morning after the rains. There was no kettle etc to make tea/coffee. Breakfast was good.
Overall recommended only if you have a car and you get it at a good price

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside

Address: Provincialeweg 38, 1108 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.