We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming restaurant with a large range of eating options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oresti's Taverna

Oresti's Taverna
Daniel Stalpertstraat 93-95 | 1072XD, 1072 XD Amsterdam Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 422 2742
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 2,253 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $7 - $40
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Oresti's Taverna is a Mediterranean café and restaurant. We serve suprising dishes and tastefull wines from various countries around the Mediterranean Sea. Upon entry you will be accompanied by the smells, noise and you'll feel immediately at home due to the decor and the Mediterranean atmosphere. We hope to see you soon!
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Welcoming restaurant with a large range of eating options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a popular and atmospheric restaurant with a larger than life patron who makes you feel welcome and puts a smile on your face from the outset. The menu is wide ranging and easily catered for a range of vegetarian, fish and meat options. The waiting staff have to cover a lot of ground and service slowed towards the end of the meal - you did get the impression that you were dropping into a holding pattern (like flights around Heathrow on a Friday) as the kitchen coped with the demands placed on it by the busy restaurant. That was ok with us but it may be slightly irritating with younger children.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    61
    36
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money! Great service too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

5 adults, ordered 10 tapas + 2 wine + 2 desserts + bread basket + big bottled water. Everything comes up to about EUR 90.

Not sure about the pricing of tapas in Amsterdam, but this is superb value compared to where I came from (Hong Kong & Singaporean)!

On top of that, food was awesome! Taste was good, ingredients were fresh! We love every single tapas we ordered. Although the desserts were mediocre.

There were only three servers, running around the fully packed restaurant. We were impressed by their attentiveness and the smile they carry throughout! Definitely a job well done!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We ordered tapas style and the food was and prices were great (4euros/plate).

The Kokkonisto beef was excellent and the cheesecake was great as well.

We asked our server which tourist sights he recommended and he pulled up a chair and map and proceeded to tell us all the places we should see and which ones to avoid because they were overrated. He was refreshingly honest and now after a nice meal we have lots of plans for our week in Amsterdam

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Good quality of food (I recommend the beef stew), cozy atmosphere and Leonidas made us feel more than welcome! Thanks a lot, we'll surely be coming back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service - our long time favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Just living nearby we discovered this place a few years ago by coincidence. From that moment we consider ourselves frequent visitors - any will remain to be! The food is excellent, service warm and honest, the terrace a pleasure during summer. Orestis Taverna is one of the few places in Amsterdam that we never any have doubt about recommending to friends, acquintances and colleagues. We even brought a group of 15 friends, and while we organise such a culinary get together ever year, this year everyone was thrilled about the place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oresti's Taverna also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Oresti's Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oresti's Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.