We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oresti's Taverna

Oresti's Taverna
Daniel Stalpertstraat 93-95 | 1072XD, 1072 XD Amsterdam Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 422 2742
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 2,322 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $7 - $40
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Oresti's Taverna is a Mediterranean café and restaurant. We serve suprising dishes and tastefull wines from various countries around the Mediterranean Sea. Upon entry you will be accompanied by the smells, noise and you'll feel immediately at home due to the decor and the Mediterranean atmosphere. We hope to see you soon!
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Good quality of food (I recommend the beef stew), cozy atmosphere and Leonidas made us feel more than welcome! Thanks a lot, we'll surely be coming back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    41
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service - our long time favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Just living nearby we discovered this place a few years ago by coincidence. From that moment we consider ourselves frequent visitors - any will remain to be! The food is excellent, service warm and honest, the terrace a pleasure during summer. Orestis Taverna is one of the few places in Amsterdam that we never any have doubt about recommending to friends, acquintances and colleagues. We even brought a group of 15 friends, and while we organise such a culinary get together ever year, this year everyone was thrilled about the place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

After visiting a more expensive restaurant the night before, we were looking for somewhere cheaper with just as good reviews. After searching trip adviser we came across this. Delicious food, friendly staff, cozy atmosphere and great value. Seemed to also be popular with locals as there was a family in there celebrating their sons graduation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A touch of Greek Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

A touch of Greek Cuisine in the heart of Amsterdam. If you are Greek you definitely need to visit this restaurant. Delicious food, great ambiance. very friendly customer care from the owner who takes care of his customers himself. Interesting wine list

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I visited here in October for my birthday and had a great evening. We had planned to visit another tapas place in the Jordaan, but decided to go to De Pijp for a stroll, as we usually stay in that neighborhood when visiting. While checking out the menus, I was intrigued by the offerings at Oresti's. The restaurant is cozy and welcoming and the food did not disappoint. Of the various tapas we ordered, the bacon-wrapped dates and the goat cheese with honey and pine nuts were the most memorable (we have tried to replicate them at home, but they aren't nearly as good). I was looking for a cozy and romantic place to celebrate my birthday and Oresti's delivered. I look forward to returning when visiting Amsterdam in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oresti's Taverna also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Oresti's Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oresti's Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.