We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel....Good/Safe location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #60 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Dauphin, Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel....Good/Safe location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

We recently returned from a European trip which included a cruise out of Rotterdam. The trip was with my 72 year old parents, so we needed a quality, safe hotel in Amsterdam that was in a good location. We selected the Renaissance based on the reviews and a relatively good rate that was available.

My parents loved the hotel, and even said it helped make Amsterdam a much more comfortable place to visit.

The renovation was very well done, so that all the public areas are beautiful and the rooms are top notch. I agree with another poster though that you should avoid getting a room with a number in the 900's, as these are in a separate building on the SECOND floor (not the ninth floor as the number would suggest). Also, it's a long walk with your bags to the room.

A couple of other things to watch out for at this hotel. First, the senior concierge staff are on the take, so to speak, as they have side deals with cabs and will try to make things using public transportation seem very difficult so they can book you a cab or a tour. They had my parents convinced to take a taxi to Rotterdam instead of the train (and a cab once we got there to the cruise terminal). The cost was $150US, but we took the train AND the cab in Rotterdam for 4 people and it only cost $70 Canadian. Needless to say, I wasn't very impressed with this concierge.

The other thing has been mentioned many times. Unless it is included in your hotel rate, and you cannot get a lower rate by rejecting it, do NOT get the included breakfast. It is very, very over priced (although nice) and with the savings per person you can enjoy a nice breakfast at many of the area restaurants (within an easy short walk). Again, this will ensure some significant per day savings.

Overall, this is a quality Marriott property in a good location, within easy walking distance (even with suitcases) from the central train station. By the way, you go out the front of the train station, across the canal and walk to the RIGHT past two main streets with lights. Turn left and walk along that street for about 200 yards, then the road forks, take the right one and you'll see a small Renaissance hotel sign (this is not the front of the hotel, relax!). It is also centrally positioned for public transportation (trams, subway, HOHO etc), as well as being within easy walking distance to Dam square and the famous Red Light District.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    655
    660
    214
    66
    35
See reviews for
207
602
88
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Convienently situated next to the main station, shopping, and red lights district. The hotel has all basics a business traveller would need: comfortable bed, an ironing board, a small but sufficient fitness room, a decent kitchen and very attentive, freindly and helpful staff.

Things less rosy: strong foul smell, sometimes even stinking in the rooms and corridors. The room #125 is located next to the ventilation pipe - the room is either stinky (window closed) or noisy (window open) at night.

The cleaning ladies are doing a good job, it is carpeting which is well beyond its term and smells so terribly..

I'm not sure whether I'd recommend thid hotel to a friend - for such quality of rooms it's rather expensive.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Great location, modern hotel however please make sure that your room is not in the 900's which is the back of the hotel. I was kept awake until 4.30am by a party in the residential apartments next to the hotel. The hotel were powerless to do anything but it meant i had little sleep that night.

Recommend it so long as you can pick your room

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Pros:
- Excellent location! Right where all the action is (bars, etc), yet nicely tucked behind. Spuistraat is a wonderful walk and so is Singel, 50 meters or so from the hotel. Close to shopping, within walking distance of the train station, etc.
- Good rooms, some larger than others. I've stayed twice and the difference in size was significant.
- Good gym facilities (access to sauna and steam room).
- Professional and friendly staff.
- Amazingly comfy beds

Cons:
- The rate fluctuates a lot. I ended up with 118 euros/night but it had gone up and down quite a bit.
- Some rooms can be a bit small by some standards, but it is the Netherlands.
- They seem to be a bit cheap on the amenities. You don't get a robe & slippers by default. You have to specifically ask, then you get it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell Berks UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

This hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the maiin train station that connects Amsterdam to the airport and is easy to find.
The staff were very helpful and gave us a good map and drew on where we should see and even made meal recommendations for us.
The staff were all very helpful, considerate and pleasant.
We were able to leave our luggage in the hotel after we had checked out and collect it just before we made our way back to the train station for the airport.
Mini bar prices etc are as you would expect iin a business class hotel but there are so many cafes and bars nearby that you absolutely do not have to eat in the hotel and I would recommend you don't because of the price.
The hotel is in an area that feels safe (we were 2 female friends on a city break).
The only down side was that we struggled to control the temperature iin the room effectively. First night we were really cold, then really hot, then just really hot the following night! Our room, although nice, overlooked a huge car park behind the hotel but, having said that, we didn't spend too many daylight hours in there so it really didn't matter.
Not really a child friendly sort of hotel....very businessy, but that's what we were after.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights on May bank holiday weekend with 2 friends. This was our 2nd time in Amsterdam, and having stayed in an absolute dump the last time, i couldn't believe how nice this hotel was for similar money. It's a 10 min walk from Dam train station, on a quiet, leafy street. We checked in and left our bags in the room, room was on 6th floor, spotlessly clean with 2 double beds and a MASSIVE, very fancy bathroom. When we came back later we found that the staff had added a third bed, a single fold out type, when they saw it was 3 lads. Fair play to them, that was a nice touch. Overall i highly recommend this hotel, very plush, comfortable and clean, and great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

The hotel was outstanding with every detail attended to. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want the comfort of an American chain with large rooms and top-notch service.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.