We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Credit
Ranked #79 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
bnei yehuda
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The Renaissance is a decent 5* option in a great location. in the city center, surrounded by all kind of restaurants, for all tastes and budgets, but in a quiet side street. Rooms are on average size for Amsterdam, but bed is perfect, as usual on a Marriott. I never needed so much help from a hotel's staff like in this visit, and they were perfect in each time!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    889
    264
    83
    47
See reviews for
310
807
106
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Awesome place to stay for walks around Amsterdam. Clean, up to date, nice lobby, and good food available there and nearby. The only thing we didn't like is that a couple times the staff wasn't very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Recently spent four nights here when on a business trip and my stay was lovely. Located within walking distance to Central Station and DAM Square, it is a saunter to many interesting places. The room was very comfortable, staff was supremely gracious, and the breakfast buffet was delightful. I had access to the Club Lounge and it's nightly array of appetizers and drinks was a highpoint....a good way to meet travelers from all over the globe. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My partner was in Amsterdam for business and chose the hotel due to location to Central Station. We were very pleased with location, very attentive staff who made the stay excellent and the room was clean/efficient/comfortable ( a bit small but typical for European hotels). The Club lounge on the Second Floor was also a very welcome plus; useful for relaxation, business and breakfast/snacks. The gym is also nicer than the average hotel gym. Concierge was very helpful, friendly and patient.
The location of the hotel is ultra convenient to so many Amsterdam transportation hubs as well as tourist sites. Within a 3 minute walk to Central Train Station.
Overall, a great choice for a pleasant stay in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

i've not long returned from a two night stay here (27/07 - 29/07) with my dad - our requirements were a little luxury without compromising on location and this hotel went above and beyond our expectations!

we liked:
- as mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is a five minute walk from centraal station which is ideal for accessing the airport and/or other cities across the region. my dad was insistent on getting a taxi until a driver pointed out the hotel - cringe! it's pretty much a straight walk, although it is signposted in case you're like us and can somehow still get lost!

- we were checked in ahead of the official time thanks to marielle, although we found all the staff across the hotel to be very friendly and accommodating. unfortunately on our only full day, it decided to TORRENTIALLY rain (it was that bad, it's worthy of capital letters) but the navigators on reception were quick to offer us an umbrella which actually saved our day. we left our coats at home in an attempt to pack light so without this, we would have spent the majority of our time in amsterdam within those four walls!

- location for the hotel generally is spot on - the closest areas are dam square, the red light district and the anne frank house although amsterdam isn't a big city so the furthest you'll be walking is 20/30 mins (depending on your pace!) to the museums. the hotel is just off the main tram line that goes to all the main attractions if you're not a walker. we were given a free guide map at check-in which was well-loved and appreciated throughout our trip.

- the room itself (706) was modern, clean and very comfortable. i can see why american visitors may consider it small but i'd say it was standard for european hotels (i.e. not that small, just only when compared to rooms in the states!). we had a twin room which we requested on arrival; beds offered a great night's sleep, all the amenities you'd expect of a five star property were provided (didn't get round to the robes and slippers, sadly!), good TV channels - the offering of BBC1 and BBC2 was a pleasant surprise! - and the AC was ideal too. i agree with the comments about sometimes hearing our neighbours (as a result of being in an connected room) but we were hardly disturbed.

- we booked a club room which was worth the extra money in our opinion. this gave us free wifi, which i never had any trouble with (i sympathise with those who didn't get this included as the standard rate for it is pricey, but if internet is that important to you, you might as well upgrade to get the additional perks!), breakfast and access to the club lounge throughout our stay. you get to enjoy breakfast (during the week) in the club lounge which offered a relaxing start to our day, and the afternoon tea and cocktail hours gave us a much-needed pick-me-up after long walks round the city! if you want to make your stay extra special, this is the way to do it!

- there was a string of decent restaurants across the road from the hotel offering mexican, steak, italian, seafood...which meant we didn't have to look far for a good dinner! the hotel is just off the beaten tourist trail so we never had to wait for tables. as we had breakfast included, we didn't venture to the hotel's own offerings but there is a huge choice of cafes in the nearby area if you choose not to dine in-house.

other tips and findings:
- a lot of people have commented on the pavement works outside the hotel. we weren't on this side of the building and were therefore undisturbed by it. as others have recommended, ask the hotel in advance for a room away from the works if you are concerned with this.

- there are a few 'red light rooms' near the hotel (even though the actual red light district is a good five minutes walk away) but i really think if you are offended by this, don't come to amsterdam! in terms of general safety, i felt very safe in the area by the hotel, more so than other cities i have visited in europe/the world. the whole drugs/sex thing is very much part of the culture and i found the openness to be a positive aspect of the city as no-one is secretive about it. whilst you may walk past one or two 'characters', they don't bother you unless you choose to involve yourself with them.

- it is much quicker to get around amsterdam by foot or canal bus than taxi so make sure you come prepared to do it yourself! this is why the hotel is particularly ideal if you're coming in by train or plane as you don't have to drag your luggage far. similarly, pack for the weather as you can't easily hop in a taxi if you get caught in a downpour (we had to abandon our trip to the anne frank house due to getting suitably drenched in minutes!).

- on the subject of the anne frank house, book your tickets online in advance, unless you have the time/patience to queue. it seems to be the only attraction you can't buy tickets for elsewhere in the city once you arrive.

- it's really easy to get to centraal station from schiphol airport - just a 15 minute train ride! i think the trains left for the airport every 30 mins so you won't need to allocate hours to get back.

we couldn't fault our stay at this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting guaranteed comfort with a dash of luxury. we would go back in a flash!

Room Tip: book a club room if you want more than just a nice place to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We arrived early for check in hot and tired after the travel by train from the airport (do not travel by train when its 30 degrees and there are no seats). The hotel kindly allowed us to book in several hours early. This was lovely as we were able to freshen up and get on with enjoying our holiday. The hotel location was great, perfect for exploring the city. The staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Their R-Navigator sorted taxi's when we needed them, offered suggestions of places to visit/eat, advised on the best routes to places and were absolutely lovely. We did not eat at the hotel as we wanted to experience Amsterdam to the full. However the bar was a peaceful tranquil place to sit and relax after a busy day sightseeing, they had some delicious cocktails, my favourite was the Lizzie it was gorgeous a must try. I will definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone going to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor the views were lovely and it was very quiet and peaceful. The air-condition...
See more room tips
Green Features: There were a number of notices in our room indicating the environmentally friendly policies and how you could help, from the changing of sheets and towels. I did not do any further investigation into this area but the Netherlands is very environmentally friendly anyway.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Our flight from the US arrived Saturday before 8 am and even after taking the train from Schiphol to Central station and walking 5 minutes to the hotel, it was barely 9. As a Marriott gold, I was warmly greeted and invited to have breakfast in the restaurant while our room was being prepared. After a delicious breakfast of omelets, sausage, fruit, waffles and coffee, we had time to explore the area around the hotel. Kattengat, the small street where the front entrance is located is undergoing a complete redo, so we mostly came and went by the Spuistraat entrance. Since we arrived on a Saturday, street work was not going on, but Monday morning, when it started, our room, which fronted on that side, was subjected to noise starting very early. My request for a different room away from the noise was quickly fulfilled, so we were only disturbed that one morning. The hotel has a great location within walking distance to the Anne Frank house, the 9 streets and the Jordaan area as well as easy access to the 2 and 5 trams that go right past the Rijks and the Van Gogh museums. There are several Brown Cafes near the hotel, as well as shopping areas and Dam Square. Though there are a few "red lights" near the hotel, the real red light district is several blocks away, but I can say my wife and I never felt uneasy anywhere we went, day or night, near the hotel or anywhere else in Amsterdam. As for the hotel, it is very modern, clean, well kept and as I have mentioned, well located. Our first room was very nice, though small by US standards. Our second room was larger, with a sitting area, loveseat, coffee table and chair. It faced the interior of the hotel with 2 windows and while the view was only of other rooms, it was very quiet. The lounge served wine and beer, a nice selection of warm and cold snacks every evening as well as tea with sweets in the afternoon. Weekdays, a hot breakfast was served there as well. The lounge staff were all wonderful people who went out of their way to insure we were taken care of. The hostess of the restaurant, Paula, I believe is her name, was very accommodating, as were the front desk and the concierges, who recommended restaurants, were able to supply museum and boat tickets and post mail for us. They saved us a lot of valuable time. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Once street construction is complete I don't think there will be a bad room, but if you want qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Marriott Amsterdam
Marriott Amsterdam
#68 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#25 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
#49 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.