We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #61 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sebastian, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

A ten minute walk to the central train station. You can walk to anywhere in Amsterdam in 30 minutes. The hotel is comfortable, clean and the staff is friendly and efficient. We had an inside room with no view but it was quiet and that was important to us. The hotel has a sidewalk cafe with a small pub which was really nice. They also have a larger bar area but that is relatively dark and in need of updates. You can walk to the red light district in 5 minutes but it is rather seedy and there are so many beautiful areas of Amsterdam that I would not waste much time in the red light district. I recommend taking the "Hop-on-Hop-off" canal boat ride. For one fee you can spend all day going from one place to another, or just stay on the boat and view the entire city to determine what part you want to revisit on foot. I highly recommend the VanGogh Museum, the Rijksmusem, the Canal Museum and the Ann Frank house. Try to go online and make a reservation for the Ann Frank house. You will need to do it about 30 days before your visit. If you have a car you should just leave it at the hotel and walk around the city. I wouldn't even consider driving around this city, the roads are narrow, there is no parking and you will spend all your time dodging bikes and pedestrians. And, if you think it would be fun riding a bike around the city you are crazy. if you want to ride a bike then get one near Vondelpark and ride around in Vondelpark. It is a large park near the Rijksmuseum and is beautiful. The park also has a few places in it where you can stop for a beer or a glass of wine. Please remember to rate this review. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, take an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    719
    219
    70
    36
See reviews for
249
658
95
354
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed 9 nights in a Club Level Room. We had our 13 yr old son and having the buffet breakfast and the pre dinner lounge (drinks and smaller buffet) were a big advantage. Walking distance to Central Station and agencies that offer excursions.Staff was great , from Kirsten who checked us in to Laura in the first floor lounge to Ismail and Leo at the Navigator desk couldn't ask for nicer folks. In fact they were able to help us after we had realized that we double booked an excursion , they called the company ( we don't speak Dutch) and work with them to rearrange. By the way when you have Club Level and access to the lounge, free wifi while in the lounge, no reason to pay, you have a key to the lounge go in whenever you have the urge to plug in. Would stay there again in a NY minute

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent staff and very nice hotel and great location. The Staff is 5 Star. I would stay there again. There is road construction right in front of the hotel now June 2014 but nothing to do with the hotel itself. A definite 4 star and if I could I would rate it 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, MN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We chose the Renaissance because it was a Marriott property and we could use points. It turned out to be a fantastic experience! The hotel is only about 500m from the train station, so a very easy walk. They also have posted signs along the way to direct visitors to the hotel (what a plus!). The hotel was beautiful and very clean. We really enjoyed the lounge experience as well...a full breakfast, snacks and beverages all day long, and a great happy hour with complimentary drinks and hors d'oerves. We highly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed 4 days for work in June 2014. Hotel is very central to everything, rooms are big, bed is comfy. I was on the 8th floor, nice view. Personally, would have liked it if I could have upended the windows a bit more, but overall no problems.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Amsterdam was our last stop on a long Europe trip with our two teens. Picked the Renaissance due to the central local and the reasonable rates. The hotel was nice, very typical for an American hotel. Breakfast was a good selection for an included buffet. It was a good location for walking around the central streets of Amsterdam. Although we found the city a bit too rough for our young son. He was uncomfortable with all the rough crowd walking the streets. The staff in the hotel were average, not up the the European standards we had experienced on the rest of our trip. If you want a reasonable hotel in the heart of the old city this could meet your needs.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback concerning your stay with us on Trip Adivsor.
We would like to insure you that our guest satisfaction is one of our highest priorities and we regret that this was not entirely apparent during your stay. Our expert Navigators have wonderful advises for multiple things to discover in our exciting city for families travelling with children and teens. We therefore hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future when we will be more than happy to assist you finding the right locations to visit.
With best regards,
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff are really welcoming and the rooms are perfectly clean. Wi fi in room is expensive at €19.95 per 24 hours, and isn't 100% reliable to say the least - but that didn't really matter too much! Breakfasts are fantastic - recommend the omelettes which are really tasty! All in all a great stay!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTeam, Assistant Front Office Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I would like to thank you on behalf of the Renaissance Amsterdam for your feedback, in regards to the staff service, the clean room and our breakfast.
Please rest assured your comments in regards to the internet have our fullest attention and are reviewed within the team.

I am glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to have you as our guest once again in the near future.

We thank you for your time and remain, with best regards
The Renaissance Amsterdam team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.