We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We stay at this hotel for 1 week and it was a very nice experience.
The club lounge was good and the staff was very friendly.
The hotel location is very convenient for visiting the city but also a very comfortable hub if visiting other places.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    745
    228
    73
    39
See reviews for
257
689
99
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I'm a Marriott fan, and this hotel is a great stop for work or vacation. It is located near the central train station, and walking distance to so much of what makes Amsterdam great. We had a large sized room with a great view. The service and food were superior. Easy choice for anyone who doesn't like to use rental cars or cabs and take public transport.

Room Tip: Get there early, be a platinum member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance 4 nights before a river cruise. The location cannot be beat as it is so convenient to Centraal Station. We did a lot of walking and found it was easy to get to most places in a reasonable amount of time. For places further out we used the tram and train.

We upgraded to the club lounge because it included breakfast, evening reception and internet. The lounge staff members were excellent and the choices provided in food and beverage were very good. The lounge was closed on our last morning, which was a Saturday, but we were told ahead of time that the breakfast buffet in the restaurant downstairs was free as an alternative. I asked for a room in the main building as that had been recommended by another traveler on TA. We were given a relatively large king room on the 4th floor with a decent view.

There is a grocery store very close by if you go out the front revolving door, turn right and go to the end of a short alley. Our friends ate at the restaurant on the corner (you can see out the front door of the hotel) and loved it. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Just had a two day stay in this property with my family. I always read reviews before I go and I understand the mixed feelings many people have with this property.

I think the reception staff is the worst I have encountered in my many hotel stays. Condescending, Snobbish, Giving wrong information, Not knowing anything about Marriott Rewards Elite Members and so on. I don´t know who or where they got there training but this is absolutely the worst that can happen to a property. I got a room on the 5th floor of course next to a construction area very convenient with a light sleeping baby, off course no upgrade and so on. Checking out was again a terrible experience with the dragon lady of the reception busy explaining people how to use and login on the internet instead of doing her job off checking in and out guest so after 10 minutes finally she could free up sometime for me ! well done ....

Lounge: Good service, enough wine and beer and decent evening snacks. Breakfast is a bit poor in comparison with the Marriott Amsterdam.

Parking Prices 58 euro a bit steep in my opinion.

The positive,
The Navigator staff, Lounge staff and room staff are really wonderful people. They help you out and are very friendly. Maybe they can replace the reception staff.

This experience showed me that if you find a good property stay there.
Normally I stay in the Marriott Amsterdam. Nice staff and good service for Platinum Rewards Members and recommended that property instead of this one. They won't see my at the Renaissance Amsterdam again due to their reception staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street construction and hope for a room with no neighbors since the wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very sorry indeed that your two days stay with your family at our property did not turn out as you had expected.
We apologize for all inconveniences you encountered. The services you described do not reflect our normal high standard of operations. We invite you to send us a e-mail to renaissance.amsterdam@renaissancehotels.com so that we will have a chance to further investigate and get back to you in person.
We thank you for your time and remain,
with best regards,
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here for a romantic one night stay as a little treat before we went away on our honeymoon.

It was an amazing place and top quality service as you would expect in a 5*. All the staff were so friendly and helpful.

It was also located in the heart of Amsterdam which was great!

Highly advise anyone to stay here if you are considering it! We will certainly be returning!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great front of house staff but back office needs to be more responsive.

We stayed here and were upgraded to Elite status with access to club room with free buffet breakfast. We have no problems with accomodation, room or staff.

However, as we were there over weekend breakfast was only available in Scossa Restaurant and we were charged €28.50 each per day, poor value for medicore fare. At check out were told this is normal as club room only operates Monday to Friday.

We had a meal one evening in the Café and three weeks later the charge is still held against debit card despite the cost being debited and paid on the night.

I've contacted hotel, both by phone and email, to release this pre-authorisation and as of now it is still held 18 days later and have yet to even receive an acknowledgement.

Room Tip: Careful you don't have rooms X10. They opposite ice machnes and overlook an alley where bottles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

It is a very short walk from the train station on a quiet road in a decent area. As a platinum member I was upgraded, given access to their executive lounge, free Wi-Fi. Welcome gift options were not the best (drinks/ light snacks only) so opted for points. The room was a good size with sofa/coffee table and desk areas. The bathroom was OK with a combined bath and shower but not the best toiletries. The lounge was really good though - quiet large, decent breakfast options, afternoon tea with small treat selection, hot and cold snacks at night with free beer and wine only available from 5:30 to 9:30. It has an internet connected computer with printer that was free for use. When the lounge is not open for breakfast at weekends, they let you have their restaurant's breakfast buffet for free.

I would stay here again if the rate is competitive but do not believe it is worth a premium over similar hotels such as the nearby Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.