We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really central hotel, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #61 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really central hotel, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend on a city break, it's a business type hotel so the design reflects this. The hotel is really central and about 4 mins walk from the train station. We requested a high floor and got a nice room on the 4th floor with a view. The room was spacious, the beds are really soft - too soft for our taste - but they had lovely feather pillows.
All the staff we met were really friendly and there is always a 'navigator' in the lobby to help with directions. We didn't get breakfast on our package because it was so expensive ( €28 each per day) but there's lots of nice cafés on the canals nearby.
Tips: ask for a room on a high floor to minimise street noise, request extra towels - we only got one 'bath' towel each and the other towels are teeny.
Restaurant Tip: La Pearla in the Jordaan area is famous for its pizzas but you'll have to book in advance - we didn't so we went to another Italian restaurant 'Assaggi's' on the same street. We had a lovely meal and they serve late ( they were still taking orders at 11pm on Fri). There's also lots of lively bars in this area so it's a good spot for a night out.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    719
    219
    70
    36
See reviews for
249
658
95
354
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Just got back from a city break (17/03/14 to 21/03/14) to Amsterdam. What an experience!!! Firstly, the journey from Schiphol Airport to the Renaissance hotel was a piece of ....... was very easy. Catch one of the frequent trains (approx every 15 mins) to Amsterdam Centraal station (4 euros), then exit the station on the south side towards the town. Bear right towards the taxi rank then cross the bridge over the canal and head straight over at the traffic light controlled cross roads. The hotel is approx a 3 minute walk from here down a side turning on your right. Simples!!!
As you enter the lobby through the revolving door you are welcomed by any number of friendly, English speaking staff, all waiting to help you as much as they can. The whole decor and ambience is one of quality. If your room isn't quite ready then don't worry, they will store your luggage in a secure room whilst you start exploring) we even received a call on my mobile when our room was ready...hows that for service?). The 2B Lounge Bar on the lower ground floor is very warm and comfortable where you can order hot or cold drinks and quality food from an extensive bar menu (I'm not a big burger eater but I thought I'd give the one on the menu a try. It was probably one of the best burgers I've tasted).
Now....about our room (244). It had everything we needed for our stay (kettle, ice bucket (ice machine down corridor on same floor), iron, ironing board, hairdryer, full length mirror, fridge, tv, expensive wifi ;-) ). The bed was huge and very comfortable. The view from the window was of the 17th century domed Koepelchurch conference/event venue and a small restaurant in an old traditional looking building. The room was made up every day by the excellent maid service.
We had paid for breakfast when booking our room so when we saw how much effort had gone into the huge offering, it would have been rude not to try it all ;-). (Note to self...must go on a diet now). Once again, the staff were very polite and friendly and nothing is too much trouble (if you would prefer your eggs a different way then just ask).
To sum it all up, we were lucky to have found this hotel on Airmiles (or should I say Avios) so we don't think our finances would have stretched to paying the full rate. The hotel was very clean and the decor and finishes were to a high standard. The food was also to a high standard as my now rather oversized stomach will confirm. The location was perfect and we would definitely book this hotel again when in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard would be quieter but your view would be sacrificed. More chance of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedwig v, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our hotel, the service and our offerings. We were indeed very happy to learn that your city break to Amsterdam and to the Renaissance was a great experience and that our ambassadors were able to assist you in
making your visit a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back, next time your travels will bring you to Amsterdam again.
With best regards,
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Four of stayed at the Renaissance Amsterdam during Easter week 2013 and had a wonderful time. As other reviewers have stated the hotel is in a perfect situation - 5 minutes from Centraal Station, 5 minutes walk to Dam Square and in the other direction lots of lovely streets to wander around beside Amsterdam's beautiful canals. The hotel is the perfect base for exploring this exciting city - we mainly walked and also used the canal transportation, again easily accessible from the hotel.

Our rooms were allocated in different parts of the hotel, we were in the main hotel close to reception and our friends were situated quite a walk away in the annex wing although this did not cause any problems. Both rooms were very comfortable and clean, the bathrooms were modern and spotless with the usual amenities. We slept well and were more than comfortable. We had breakfast included in our rate which we all thoroughly enjoyed - an excellent buffet with varied choices of hot and cold food.

Most evenings we returned to the hotel bar for a night cap and found this a relaxing, enjoyable environment to end our day exploring.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely consider staying in the Renaissance Amsterdam when I return to Amsterdam. And Amsterdam is definitely a European city you should visit at least once in your lifetime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunkyMiya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed here for a long weekend with my sister. It was my first time in Amsterdam and this hotel was perfectly placed. A five minute walk from the station (Centraal) but slightly confusing as to how to get there. Luckily there were signs for the hotel. As this was at the back of the main road it was fairly quiet and was not disturbed during the night. Check in was smooth, the staff pleasant giving us information as to where to eat etc. Our room was a nice decent size. I personally thought it was spacious but my sister thought otherwise (had stayd in larger apparently). There was no wifi in the rooms, however you could access it in the corridor and there is complimentary wifi in the lobby. The room included an iron and ironing board together with safe.

As you leave the hotel, there are many places to eat. We did not have breakfast at the hotel as it was fairly pricey. There is also a supermarket a couple of minutes on a small strip of where food places are. If you are looking for views from your room, this is not the best place but fantastically located. 5 minute walk from Dam Square and the station. There was a canal literally a stone's throw away from the hotel.

The night before you check out, your invoice is slipped under your door to reflect any charges you have incurred. We had to pay City Tax is not included so don't forget to make allowance for that.

Fantastic location but price should have included breakfast or wifi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Clean and functional hotel. Friendly staff, comfortable bed. Food in restaurant is fine, but expensive, would suggest that you eat at any of the nearby restaurants.
Close to central station, an easy walk

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedwigLinden, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Rennaisance Amsterdam. We appreciate hearing from you and will use your feedback to improve our services and offerings. We look forward to having you as our guest on another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have stayed here thrice in the past 2 weeks. Excellent location - a stone's throw from Amsterdam Centraal station. Rooms are very elegantly furnished and the lounge is first rate. Very much central and a joy to be staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was staying with my wife in this hotel for 5 nights.
Hotel is very convenient located only 5 minutes walk from central railway station. Most city attractions are walkable from the hotel.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Room was very good, nice furnished and decorated, very clean and comfortable.
Our room (3rd Floor) was very quiet, facing the main street and the side alley.
Breakfast was great but very expensive. (In our case, breakfast was included - Highly recommended).

Downsides:-
- Internet in the room is very expensive.
- The hotel does not have facilities you are expecting to find in a 5 stars hotel:- No Spa, No Jacuzzi, No swimming pool....
- Housekeeping Is a little bit flimsy: -
They kept charging us false bills for consuming items from the minibar (all cancelled at check out).
For a strange reason, they did not put a new soap bar every day, and we have request it many times.
Only one night they offer us a courtesy chocolate bar.

Room Tip: Avoid using the hotel internet service. Book your room with breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.