We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Central Renaissance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off
Ranked #58 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent and Central Renaissance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Four of stayed at the Renaissance Amsterdam during Easter week 2013 and had a wonderful time. As other reviewers have stated the hotel is in a perfect situation - 5 minutes from Centraal Station, 5 minutes walk to Dam Square and in the other direction lots of lovely streets to wander around beside Amsterdam's beautiful canals. The hotel is the perfect base for exploring this exciting city - we mainly walked and also used the canal transportation, again easily accessible from the hotel.

Our rooms were allocated in different parts of the hotel, we were in the main hotel close to reception and our friends were situated quite a walk away in the annex wing although this did not cause any problems. Both rooms were very comfortable and clean, the bathrooms were modern and spotless with the usual amenities. We slept well and were more than comfortable. We had breakfast included in our rate which we all thoroughly enjoyed - an excellent buffet with varied choices of hot and cold food.

Most evenings we returned to the hotel bar for a night cap and found this a relaxing, enjoyable environment to end our day exploring.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely consider staying in the Renaissance Amsterdam when I return to Amsterdam. And Amsterdam is definitely a European city you should visit at least once in your lifetime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    689
    213
    67
    34
See reviews for
238
642
92
335
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
FunkyMiya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed here for a long weekend with my sister. It was my first time in Amsterdam and this hotel was perfectly placed. A five minute walk from the station (Centraal) but slightly confusing as to how to get there. Luckily there were signs for the hotel. As this was at the back of the main road it was fairly quiet and was not disturbed during the night. Check in was smooth, the staff pleasant giving us information as to where to eat etc. Our room was a nice decent size. I personally thought it was spacious but my sister thought otherwise (had stayd in larger apparently). There was no wifi in the rooms, however you could access it in the corridor and there is complimentary wifi in the lobby. The room included an iron and ironing board together with safe.

As you leave the hotel, there are many places to eat. We did not have breakfast at the hotel as it was fairly pricey. There is also a supermarket a couple of minutes on a small strip of where food places are. If you are looking for views from your room, this is not the best place but fantastically located. 5 minute walk from Dam Square and the station. There was a canal literally a stone's throw away from the hotel.

The night before you check out, your invoice is slipped under your door to reflect any charges you have incurred. We had to pay City Tax is not included so don't forget to make allowance for that.

Fantastic location but price should have included breakfast or wifi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Clean and functional hotel. Friendly staff, comfortable bed. Food in restaurant is fine, but expensive, would suggest that you eat at any of the nearby restaurants.
Close to central station, an easy walk

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedwigLinden, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Rennaisance Amsterdam. We appreciate hearing from you and will use your feedback to improve our services and offerings. We look forward to having you as our guest on another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have stayed here thrice in the past 2 weeks. Excellent location - a stone's throw from Amsterdam Centraal station. Rooms are very elegantly furnished and the lounge is first rate. Very much central and a joy to be staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was staying with my wife in this hotel for 5 nights.
Hotel is very convenient located only 5 minutes walk from central railway station. Most city attractions are walkable from the hotel.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Room was very good, nice furnished and decorated, very clean and comfortable.
Our room (3rd Floor) was very quiet, facing the main street and the side alley.
Breakfast was great but very expensive. (In our case, breakfast was included - Highly recommended).

Downsides:-
- Internet in the room is very expensive.
- The hotel does not have facilities you are expecting to find in a 5 stars hotel:- No Spa, No Jacuzzi, No swimming pool....
- Housekeeping Is a little bit flimsy: -
They kept charging us false bills for consuming items from the minibar (all cancelled at check out).
For a strange reason, they did not put a new soap bar every day, and we have request it many times.
Only one night they offer us a courtesy chocolate bar.

Room Tip: Avoid using the hotel internet service. Book your room with breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great hotel. Friendy staff. Beautiful hotel lobby. The room was spacious, even for four people. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was also nice and spacious. WIFI was slightly expensive, as was the buffet breakfast - but there was at least a good selection. Wonderfully located. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Staff at hotel was wonderful and helpful especially Boet at navigator desk and Browyn at guest services. Fabulous location and clean room with great matresses. Found the hotel to be very guiet (room 541). Would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Otel, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.