We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, clean but expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Credit
Ranked #78 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“OK, clean but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Clean and functional hotel. Friendly staff, comfortable bed. Food in restaurant is fine, but expensive, would suggest that you eat at any of the nearby restaurants.
Close to central station, an easy walk

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedwigLinden, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Rennaisance Amsterdam. We appreciate hearing from you and will use your feedback to improve our services and offerings. We look forward to having you as our guest on another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    894
    265
    83
    47
See reviews for
313
809
107
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have stayed here thrice in the past 2 weeks. Excellent location - a stone's throw from Amsterdam Centraal station. Rooms are very elegantly furnished and the lounge is first rate. Very much central and a joy to be staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was staying with my wife in this hotel for 5 nights.
Hotel is very convenient located only 5 minutes walk from central railway station. Most city attractions are walkable from the hotel.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Room was very good, nice furnished and decorated, very clean and comfortable.
Our room (3rd Floor) was very quiet, facing the main street and the side alley.
Breakfast was great but very expensive. (In our case, breakfast was included - Highly recommended).

Downsides:-
- Internet in the room is very expensive.
- The hotel does not have facilities you are expecting to find in a 5 stars hotel:- No Spa, No Jacuzzi, No swimming pool....
- Housekeeping Is a little bit flimsy: -
They kept charging us false bills for consuming items from the minibar (all cancelled at check out).
For a strange reason, they did not put a new soap bar every day, and we have request it many times.
Only one night they offer us a courtesy chocolate bar.

Room Tip: Avoid using the hotel internet service. Book your room with breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great hotel. Friendy staff. Beautiful hotel lobby. The room was spacious, even for four people. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was also nice and spacious. WIFI was slightly expensive, as was the buffet breakfast - but there was at least a good selection. Wonderfully located. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Staff at hotel was wonderful and helpful especially Boet at navigator desk and Browyn at guest services. Fabulous location and clean room with great matresses. Found the hotel to be very guiet (room 541). Would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
199 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel was really good, and I enjoyed my stay. Perfect position in the center but at the same time in a quite street. Very comfortable bed, nice bathroom, good breakfast and most of all, amazing personell. It is not easy to find this level of kindness in the Netherlands, but here everyone was perfect. Even the maintenance guy in the elevator was kind. I would indeed come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The decor was lovely! The Location ideal no matter what you are into or plan to to do. Felt very safe and had a better night sleep than we did at the Krasnapolsky (which was my first choice but was not available for our enire stay). The staff was very cordial and helpful especially with our toddler. I especially loved the breakfast which had an excellent selection of freshly prepared food.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Marriott Amsterdam
Marriott Amsterdam
#68 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,833 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#24 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
#50 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.