We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good,But could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, Amsterdam 1012 SZ, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #53 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good,But could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in December for christmas.Ideally situated for all attractions,and a 5 minute walk from the central station.The hotel itself is immaculate.But as you would expect from a 5 star,You pay out for everything inc.normal tv.Apart from that..Enjoyed staying there .

Room Tip: The new block has terrible views of the back alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    608
    610
    192
    61
    33
See reviews for
188
554
83
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed two nights in December at this property. Was initally confused on the direction upon exiting the Centraal station but once we found the hotel, we realized it is so near to the station. It will be great if the hotel can provide clearer directions to the hotel from the station.
Was given a spacious family room with two double-beds for a family of four. Having stayed in tighter rooms in the UK and Brussels, we really enjoyed the spaciousness. Even the bathroom was large.
Although the club lounge was closed and being a Marriot Gold member, we had our breakfast at the restaurant and tea and drinks at a specially cordoned off area for members.
Location was fantastic being near the central station which allowed for a easy day trip to The Hague and our onward trip. It is also the main area where canal boat cruises begin. Also within easy walking distance to tram stations and major attractions like the Anne Frank place and Royal Palace.
The family enjoyed ths stay and agreed that it was the best hotel on our trip this year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

With the rates we paid I can say that it's really ordinary. First of all my room was so farmI had to walk for 4 minutes from elevators. If you forget anything and if you remember downstairs poor you. Second my room was facing one of the non traffic streets full of shops and coffee shops and was very noisy till late and incoming goods very early in the morning. Bed was comfy, bathroom small and not comfortable, showerroom was small. Breakfast was OK but again nothing special. The location was superb but there are many hotels around and you simply find the same with even lower rates.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

They call themselves a 5 star hotel. They are in fact a 3 star and because I'm nice. The front desk staff is condescending, pretending to be nice. They have rooms that are a 10 minute walk from the front desk. (Including taking two different elevators or one elevator and a flight of stairs) Cheap small room for 200 euros a night. Parking? 50 euros a night. Breakfast? Forget it. They charge like a 4/5 star and they don't even get close. Location is central if your stay in Amsterdam is based on smoking weed. Other than that is a crappy hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights (Nov 24-28), but this was my, like, umpteenth stay :)

As usual, check-in is fast, check-out is even faster (just say "i agree with my bill" when you leave :), room is good (bathroom could be better), lounge has good food (both breakfast and evening set) but pretty limited drink options -- still, it's easy and cheap to eat/drink in multiple venues outside. Once you get used to it, it's really nice.

Hotel is in a really good location, less than 5 minute walk to Centraal station and metro. Tons of food choices around.

Will stay again here (and again, and again...) - why bother looking for another hotel if this one is good enough?
(actually, I might once try that Hilton next to train station, they had a nice bar)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Went to this hotel last summer for 2 nights. I know the city reasonaly well, and the Marriott name and the location spoke well for it.
The common areas were under a bit of repair when I was there, and while they seemed nice, they were also a bit small. Seemed to be some sort of conference going on while I was there. Never ate in the hotel.
Room was very nice, clean and modern, and fairly large by Amsterdam hotel standards. Service was good, plenty of front desk staff cleaners.
The location is really where this place shines. Right off the the main street in Amsterdam, it is close to everything you would want in the city. It is also on a bit of a side street, so it is also secluded away from the big crowds as well.
What I find odd about this place is that it is rated 5 stars. This hotel is not 5 star, though it is a very nice 4 star. But at what I paid, it was just too expensive for what I got. If price comes down, I would stay again. Overall, a bit overrated, but I would still recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my fiancé, for a romantic weekend get-away. We were mostly pleased with our stay. The location is perfect, 5 minutes walk from the central train station and close to many city center attractions.

The staff was courteous and service minded. The room was quite small but nicely decorated and always clean. The breakfast was all we could ask for and more.

The one thing that holds the fifth star is the fact that you have to pay for WiFi in the room.. which in this day and age is quite unheard of to be honest.

Room Tip: Get a room high up to avoid street noise (especially during weekends).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Also Known As:
Renaissance Amsterdam
Amsterdam Renaissance
Address: Kattengat 1, Amsterdam 1012 SZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list