We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied with our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #87 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
durham uk
Level Contributor
409 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Very satisfied with our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is a lovely,well designed hotel,which offers modern stylishly furnished rooms,with very well informed,friendly staff. Breakfasts are high class,and have lots of options,and the facilities are outstanding,with the gym and club lounge really standing out! We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel. Checked in on the 21st of November 2013 staying four nights. We could not have found a better location , hotel staff , or quality of hotel. We arrived there around 12N and with a little luck and extra effort by the staff our room was ready for us. We had a club level room with a beautiful view of the front street and looking out our window to the right, a view of the canal. We had a king bed that was so comfortable , it was difficult waking up in the morning. I would make sure you spend the extra cost for the club level rooms and all the perks that come with it. When I made the reservation I let the guest service rep. know that my wife and I were celebrating one of her special birthdays. The second night there we arrived back at our hotel and found a delicious Pumpkin Pie with a happy birthday note. This is hospitality at its finest. The front desk clerks and the concierge were extremely helpful and answered all our questions and also gave us suggestions on things to do and where to eat. They even made sure we knew that buying the museum passes at the hotel saved an unbelievable amount of time, and did not cost anything extra. On top of all this, they always had a treat to eat at the front desk, day and night (those four wonderful days they offered delicious tangerines) for the hotel guests. You cannot under estimate how great that location is, two blocks from the central station and close to everything else. I have stayed at other luxury hotels in Amsterdam but this is at the top of the list. Amsterdam is a great city to visit and staying at this hotel only enhances your Amsterdam experience. Two thumbs up to the staff at the Renaissance Amsterdam hotel. When I go back to Amsterdam, hopefully soon, I will only stay there.

Room Tip: There are a couple different views. Street view or courtyard. While the street view is wonderful to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I recently stayed here for 2 days with a friend and the staff and the location are awesome. The hotel is a 5 min walk from Central Station and the staff is helpful and knowledgeable. Great dinner recommendations and the fitness center is fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Renaissance Amsterdam has one of the best locations in the city. It is a very short walk to the train station and the tram line. It is also within walking distance of all of the major museums. The room was very nice and a good size for a European hotel room. The concierge, or navigator, was very helpful and gave us some very useful information. The Club Room, if that is available to you, was very nice with a good breakfast and very nice appetizers in the afternoons.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryBoy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Despite making a fuss at check in and even presenting him with a toy, the joy ends there for children staying at the Renaissance Amsterdam. No bed for the child and no extra towels as requested.
Room rate supposedly including breakfast is only for 2 people so our 2 year old son was charged 12 euros a day for breakfast! Made worse by the greeter lying about the hotel policy.
Trying to relax in the bar after a day at the Zoo was told 'the child must wear his shoes in the bar'.
At a private halloween party the same barman tried to get us to leave saying it was 'private'. We had to get the host to satisfy him that we were invited guests.
Room only okay not as good as the Marriott brand with single glazed windows and the view of a run down alley. Carpet dirty and mysterious decor. Bought media package in room to find it did not include wifi just tv internet. Could go on and on but don't want to be a boring reviewer.
Would not stay here again Amsterdam has way better hotels in this price bracket.
.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Pros of this hotel: location good, room clean and spacious, breakfast very good.
Cons: Front of house staff definitely not as friendly as rest. Housekeeping, restaurant, and bar staff all very friendly, and very helpful. Front of house just less friendly, we asked for recommendation for Chinese food without any consultation Sea Palace was booked (which was average and overpriced!) and we felt obliged to go even though it was good 20 minute walk away. Express check out in room didn't work but we had no explanation nor apology at front desk. Just didn't have same high standards as rest of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotlady73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for a week in November, 2013. The location is absolutely perfect for walkability and access to just about everthing you might want to see. Easy train ride from Schipol to Central Station. Train station is a ten minute walk fro the hotel - and you can drag your suitcase - there are no stairs. Hotel is on a quiet side street away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but to take advantage of what is here it is simply a walk around the corner. Anne Frank House, Flower Market, Red Light District and Museum District are easily walkable. Comfortable, clean room, helpful staff. Perfect all-around stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNo30309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Vondelpark
Marriott Amsterdam
Marriott Amsterdam
#75 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,097 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,032 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing