We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #59 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Nice hotel, great breakfast. Quite expensive but Amsterdam is for accommodation...

Room was clean and well appointed. They even have an English plug socket which was really handy and BBC1 and BBC2. What more could you ask for?

Location was superb too!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    618
    641
    204
    59
    33
See reviews for
211
605
88
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the end of our trip. The hotel was lovely, the room was charming and comfortable. It was a bit of a maze to get to our room, but no big deal. The staff was just amazing, friendly and helpful. The location was fabulous, so close to everything. Definitely a good value

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We arrived in the early morning straight from the airport. They gave us our room without a blink of an eye they gave us our room. As usual the "Marriott" bed wonderful. It may be a large hotel, but don't underestimate the value of an extremely comfortable bed after a trans-Atlantic flight.

The cafe was great. We sat in the late afternoon, drinking beers, and people watching. The food was good, too.

The extra special treat at this hotel is the Concierge. He was amazing. We simply asked for some ideas, directions. He gave a mini course on the history of Amsterdam as he circled places on our map. You could tell he was so proud of the city and wanted us to share in his joy!

We were taking a Viking River cruise and the boat was docked very close by.

Great place for the weary traveler!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our DFDS Amsterdam mini cruise, and would definitely recommend it. The hotel is practically round the corner from Central Station but still in a lovely part of the city. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and friendly, they also let you leave your luggage there while you explore on your last day! Rooms are huge for a city centre hotel, gorgeous bed we didn't want to leave and amazing breakfasts too!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very nice hotel near the train station. Also near many places to eat and drink. Red light district is close but not to close. Hotel is nice rooms are on the small side and it is clean. The Executive Lounge is small but nice and the smack food they serve is fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed overnight for only 1 night before flying out early the next morning. This was ideal because it was close to the train station. At the same time you can still walk anywhere touristy in the city and there are lots of quieter streets nearby to go relax at a cafe or whatever you need. Pretty standard rooms, but plenty of space and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Gate, New Jersey
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel was in a great location, but the area was very noisy. There was noise from early am to 11 or 12 pm. we only stayed at this property for 2 nights, so we really didn't bother to try and see if there was another part of the hotel that was quieter. The hotel itself was very nice, the staff was ok, nothing outstanding, just a very average hotel. The room we were assigned was very nice , the bathroom was a decent size.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the street side. We were street side 2nd floor, not good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.