We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, Amsterdam 1012 SZ, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #59 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Decent Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed overnight for only 1 night before flying out early the next morning. This was ideal because it was close to the train station. At the same time you can still walk anywhere touristy in the city and there are lots of quieter streets nearby to go relax at a cafe or whatever you need. Pretty standard rooms, but plenty of space and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    647
    653
    212
    66
    35
See reviews for
203
596
86
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Gate, New Jersey
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel was in a great location, but the area was very noisy. There was noise from early am to 11 or 12 pm. we only stayed at this property for 2 nights, so we really didn't bother to try and see if there was another part of the hotel that was quieter. The hotel itself was very nice, the staff was ok, nothing outstanding, just a very average hotel. The room we were assigned was very nice , the bathroom was a decent size.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the street side. We were street side 2nd floor, not good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

First time for us in Amsterdam and we chose this hotel for its location. We were able to walk directly from the train station to the hotel with our luggage and navigated the city easily on foot. The staff was wonderful. From the doormen to the concierge everyone was very helpful. We highly recommend this hotel and will stay here on our next visit to this lovely historic city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel is good, good design and good executive lounge. Rooms are good, but the area lets it down for me. Personally I think this area near the train station is not so great unless you are after sex and marijuana shops (but hey, it's Amsterdam) There is quite a bit of street noise from people shouting outside - maybe I got a bad room. I prefer to stay at their sister Marriott property which is in a less rowdy area, and near the museums and park.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Ideal for visiting the many tourist areas in the city. Closely located to the train station which is ideal if you want to explare nearby cities. The Club Loung is well-designed and with good quality food, even though it gets very crowded at time and they have a hard time replenishing the food. Concierge was very helpful and friendly. Will definetely return and recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Renaissance for 1 night on our way to Belgium. The hotel is primarily a business hotel but it suited us perfectly. Close to the train station, quiet neighbourhood, clean and modern inside and with a fabulous breakfast (one of the best we had in Europe). The front desk staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. The room was also surprisingly large. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The employees are the highlight of this facility and they are very friendly and willing to help with what ever your needs may be. The rooms are a bit on the small side but they are very nice will all of the amenities that you could need. The rooms are not always numbered sequentially so looking for certain rooms just needs a little patience. Breakfast is served starting at 6:30am and the lounge, restaurant, lobby, etc are all extremely clean. In fact, this is by far the cleanest hotel that I have ever been at. Amazingly enough, you really don't see the cleaning staff or house keepers, but they sure do an extremely awesome job for this hotel! The hotel lobby music is a bit loud near the elevators but it is always progressive and upbeat.

The only thing that I was not pleased about with this hotel is that the room doors don't seem to have a door dampener. This is very important to me as I try to get rest while at hotels prior to business. Other guests could help out by closing their doors softer but they just seem to let them slam and that causes the beds to "jar" in addition to having to wake up to a startling noise! If they do have the dampeners on them, then they need to be checked.

Ending on a good note, something that I rarely find in European hotels is adequate lighting. This hotel has GREAT lighting in the bathrooms and rooms. It is easy to properly groom in the bathroom mirrors with the bright lights.

Room Tip: I can't think of anything other than to ask the staff. The hotel is off the road and quiet in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, Amsterdam 1012 SZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.