We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #60 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Brazil
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Ideal for visiting the many tourist areas in the city. Closely located to the train station which is ideal if you want to explare nearby cities. The Club Loung is well-designed and with good quality food, even though it gets very crowded at time and they have a hard time replenishing the food. Concierge was very helpful and friendly. Will definetely return and recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    653
    660
    214
    66
    35
See reviews for
207
600
88
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Renaissance for 1 night on our way to Belgium. The hotel is primarily a business hotel but it suited us perfectly. Close to the train station, quiet neighbourhood, clean and modern inside and with a fabulous breakfast (one of the best we had in Europe). The front desk staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. The room was also surprisingly large. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The employees are the highlight of this facility and they are very friendly and willing to help with what ever your needs may be. The rooms are a bit on the small side but they are very nice will all of the amenities that you could need. The rooms are not always numbered sequentially so looking for certain rooms just needs a little patience. Breakfast is served starting at 6:30am and the lounge, restaurant, lobby, etc are all extremely clean. In fact, this is by far the cleanest hotel that I have ever been at. Amazingly enough, you really don't see the cleaning staff or house keepers, but they sure do an extremely awesome job for this hotel! The hotel lobby music is a bit loud near the elevators but it is always progressive and upbeat.

The only thing that I was not pleased about with this hotel is that the room doors don't seem to have a door dampener. This is very important to me as I try to get rest while at hotels prior to business. Other guests could help out by closing their doors softer but they just seem to let them slam and that causes the beds to "jar" in addition to having to wake up to a startling noise! If they do have the dampeners on them, then they need to be checked.

Ending on a good note, something that I rarely find in European hotels is adequate lighting. This hotel has GREAT lighting in the bathrooms and rooms. It is easy to properly groom in the bathroom mirrors with the bright lights.

Room Tip: I can't think of anything other than to ask the staff. The hotel is off the road and quiet in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, with a good location, a couple of minute walk away from the lanes. Nice club lounge, very spacious. However as I'm a rewards gold member I did get a room upgrade. The room was very small but nicely furnished. Not sure what a standard room would've been like.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saronno, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

we stayed at the renaissance amsterdam hotel in october, the hotel is amazing, the room was not so big but comfortable, the personal really kind, check in and check out really fast and easy, the only thing to complaint was internet, 8€ per day? in 2013?
I suggest this hotel to my friends for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

if you visit Amsterdam the Renaissance Hotel is convenient because of its central position. The location is close to the central station and you can easily access the historic center.
The staff is friendly, helpful and the standard rooms are small but clean. Like others in the city the hotel doesn`t appear in the latest standard. This in mind, watch out for promotions and don`t spent too much for a room rate

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having recently stayed at the Renaissance Amsterdam, I was very disappointed, especially by the staff and the service. Having arrived at 8pm, I was made to wait nearly 20 minutes to check-in, due to only one person checking people in, and having trouble dealing with a customer, what was worse, was the same happened on check-out, and neither person acknowledged or apologised for making we wait.
The rooms are comfortable, and the location is average, hence my score that this is an average hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.