We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a business traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #57 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for a business traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The location is fantastic, just a short walk to the Centraal Station, lots of cool little restaurants and shops nearby. If you are looking for something that may "enhance your Dutch experience", you probably want to look elsewhere. This hotel is just like any other Renaissance/Marriott around, all the way down to the powdered eggs served at the buffet. But, if you want consistency, then this is your place. Rooms are nice, clean, not too European, i.e., LOTS of pillows! Americans love that crap. BUT, the exterior walls are not very sound proof! I had to listen, each night, to noise of pedestrians and partiers across the street, and there was this insanely bright light shining almost directly into my room. THAT was seriously annoying. Like anywhere else in the city, you are at no disadvantage for not speaking Dutch. If/when I come back to Amsterdam, it will depend on my needs. If it's for business, I'll come here. If for vacation, I'll pick something more in line with local culture.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT on the street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    679
    211
    63
    33
See reviews for
237
636
92
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. we stayed in room 247 for 1 night and the room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was clean with a bathtub. The location was very close to all major sightseeing places including shopping malls and restaurants. The breakfast was very limited for a five star hotel and the wait on the eggs corner made it hard for others to reach for plates or the rest of the buffet. Internet is not free and we were lucky to have internet reach to our room since we were above the lobby. the concierge was very helpful with recommendations for things to do or where to eat. Its a nice hotel only if you are willing to pay the price tag!

A note to mention, the minibar fridge is censored so if you remove anything from the fridge for more than 30 seconds it will be added to your bill even if you do not use it. Be ware!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Montana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

but it is not. There is no better location. We've stayed in four locations around the city, all claiming to have the best spot. Renaissance can state that as an understatement. Whether it is for work or play, this hotel seems comfortable and supportive of whatever agenda. One of us worked; one of us simply rested.
Staff is excellent, handling every request (even ones that required back of the front desk assistance) with extreme patience and care.
Only complaint we had in a four-day visit was that the Executive Lounge was so crowded. It was disturbing to watch guests pounce on appetizers and make dinner by taking half of the container. Lines formed for "free wine." Staff could not keep up with this type of guest behavior but certainly tried.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a junior suite, which was really a one-bedroom. Absolutely quiet and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Good hotel, although expensive.
Rooms are excellent, with great bars and restaurant.
Close to railway station.
Recommend for business travellers.
I would strongly recommend and stay here again.
One of Amsterdam's best but expensive

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Typical business hotel (I was there for a conference), except no free wifi in the rooms (only in reception area). Poor experience at breakfast - rather than simply note our room numbers, the "welcomer" insisted on checking first whether our breakfast was included, and refused to let us sit until he had. It wasn't, but we were quite happy to pay separately. On discovering it wasn't included, he STILL wouldn't let us sit, but insisted he had to "go upstairs to check with management". We lost patience and left. Hotel breakfasts at expensive enough without having to wait interminably for their bureaucracy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms starting with 9. They're not on the 9th floor, they're in a different building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Lovely lounge great staff excellent location. Really inventive menu nice restaurant with middle eastern food lots of staffing doormen concierge walk to local bar one minute comfy room games to play in lounge free nibble snacks

Room Tip: Ice machine on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very clean and nice hotel in a perfect location in the centre of Amsterdam. Very good breakfast buffet, and very nice rooms.

Do have to say that to my opinion the rates for internet/other stuff are way too high though, that's why they wouldnt get 5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.