We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #66 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Waconia, Minnesota
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awesome Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel has a great location - easy to get around the city on foot. Very helpful staff, good breakfast, clean rooms. Our room was not ready when we arrived, so we went out to tour the city. When we returned, we were given a room with 2 queens and had confirmed a king bed room. We were changed with no problem - but the day after we left, I got an email saying that we were a no show for our reservation and were responsible for a 1 night stay. I responded to the email saying that we had checked out the day before from room 302 but heard nothing in response.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    828
    244
    76
    43
See reviews for
286
751
104
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights - very convenient and central location, helpful concierge and bell staff. Good in-house restaurant and very decent gym. Check-in service was not great - no assistance with bags and my room turned out to be in this awkward and very distant location off the 2nd floor. Ended up hauling my 3 pieces of luggage myself which was disappointing. Not sure I would stay here again but the location remains a big plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is centrally located, within walking distance to most popular attractions in Amsterdam. A lot of resturants, coffee shops, bars and shopping districts nearby. Central station is a 5-8 minute walk (also walkable with suitcases if you're arriving from the airport). Dam square is also about a 10 minute walk. Rooms are on the small side but perfectly clean and of high standard. Staff is very attentive. Every morning the hotel puts an espresso machine in the lobby where guests can make drinks free of charge. Overall we had no complaints and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Among the best hotels in Amsterdam.

Superb, central location. Great clubroom and attentive staff at all times.

The bar is second to none and is manned by genuine friendly people.

The food in the restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes, New York
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We ended a multi-week European vacation in Amsterdam. We chose the Renaissance both for its location and our ability to cash in Marriott Rewards points for free nights. From the moment we walked in the front door, the staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Although our room was not ready upon arrival, we were given a key to use the Club Lounge. Ultimately one of our desk clerks brought us our key and had our luggage sent to the room. Our room was large and very comfortable. What prevents me from giving this property a fifth star was the Club Lounge. The breakfast was only okay and the evening cocktails and nibbles the same. We have had much better in our travels. For business a great hotel. For vacationing a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room which is away from street noise. Inside rooms probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

After a recent stay in Amsterdam I realized that quite a few things were missing from my luggage when I arrived home.i called the hotel and sure enough I had left them behind in my room.the employees in charge wrapped and packed my belongings and sent them to me at a significant charge to them.they sent me a letter telling me that the package was sent.this is my opinion was going above and beyond.we enjoyed our time in Amsterdam and were very happy with this well located comfortable and well run hotel and will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Located in the old city, 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central Station, it is convenient for visiting the main city attractions. Nice lobby and common area, rooms are spacious and practical, the corridors a little bit impersonal but overall a pleasant place to spend some days to visit the city. Responsive and efficient staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.