We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #78 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
New City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived for a few days pre cruise and were happy that our exxisson hotel shuttle dropped us off right at the hotel. It is kind of in a side street, which at first take made it hard to spot when we went for a walk, but once we got our bearings realized the location was perfect. The free wifi in the lobby was useful once someone showed us the trick to connect. Rooms were lovely, bed comfortable, temperature a little hard to control. They give out free maps so no need to buy one, as we did. Walking distance to Ann Frank house, make sure to buy tix in advance, line was hours long without them, and central station. The pedestrian walk behind the hotel has a supermarket with a bank ATM, places to eat and stores to shop. It goes from the first canal up to dam square. Great way to walk without worry about getting hit by a bike :). It was raining one night so we ate in the hotel. Food was excellent. A little confusion since the restaurant has a closed sign and they serve in the outdoor cafe in the summer months so others thought they couldn't be served. "Navigator" who gives help was kind of gruff when we asked directions. Not as friendly as all the rest of the staff. We had a problem with our door lock, key code kept wiping out, required several trips back to the front desk...a long walk.

Room Tip: See if u can get one closer to the elevator, not a usual tip but the hotel is large and it can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    921
    268
    88
    48
See reviews for
329
834
109
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Raphael, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Suffering with arthritis I am a big fan of Renaissance Hotels, having experienced sleeping in their superbly comfortable beds that I wake up without any aches & pains! So I was a little disappointed that the bed was not as comfortable as I have slept in previously at other Renaissance properties

However, everything else about this hotel was brilliant. It's location is perfect being just a few minutes walk from Central Station and also a few steps from the canals, shops, cafes
The hotel staff were wonderful, when we checked in the receptionist offered us a room closer to the lift without us asking, and we arrived to a nice bright & comfortable room in a convenient spot!

The breakfast was excellent, if you did not find what you were looking for amongst the extensive choice the staff would cook it for you....always with a big smile nothing was too much trouble

We dined in the hotel and found the food & ambience most acceptable. The lobby was always busy with free WiFi users!! The gym looked well equipped and immaculately clean

This is a lovely hotel, with exceptional staff who really look after guests. I would thoroughly recommend it and would stay there again myself if I could be sure of a more comfortable "Marriott Style" bed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Most convenient hotel ever because it is a 5 minute walk to the Central station. It takes around 25 minutes from the airport to the Central station for around 4.40 pounds per person. Do not take a cab from the airport to the hotel - waste of money!

Check in was efficient and the staff members were so very friendly!

Positive aspects:
- Friendly staff especially during check in. Gave us a room on 8/F. However, breakfast staff and lobby staff don't smile. All look cold.
- They have ice machines. Make sure to get a room away from it because the ice machines are just outside a room near the lift so it may be noisy if you're in it!
- Comfortable bed. King size! (see pictures!)
- The decoration and room setup was beautiful! See pictures below. Bathroom was a good size!
- The hotel is a close walk to the RED LIGHT DISTRICT. A must see if it's your first time here.
- Also a close walk to the Anne Frank museum where you can also get on the canal cruises!
- As expected, no wifi in room unless you pay. They do have wifi in the lobby and breakfast area and lots of space to sit so it was nice to just relax and be online at the same time.

Negative aspects:
- They were not ready for breakfast buffets. Not enough staff and not well prepared.
- They had a good selection of dutch herring, the norm of eggs bacons sausages... but staff were not efficient because tables among tables had plates stacking up and they did not clear it up till everyone left. The manager we saw looked around, smiled at everyone but did not even notice the empty bacon tray in the buffet.
- We stayed for 4 nights and every day we got back to the room, they never restocked the amenities so we had to keep calling down for shampoo or conditioner. The ice bucket was never cleaned or taken away so we had to empty the water ourselves.

If you come to Amsterdamn, try the dutch pancakes - pootjes! Soooooo good! A must try! Take the canal cruises as well - you can buy the 24 hour ticket to step on and off on the scheduled times!

Best recommendation I can give to all of you is to get the iamsterdam card. We read about it where it gives you free access to museums and some restaurants but all the places we wanted to go weren't included in this deal... so we didn't bother buying it. If you do stay a week or so, purchase it! http://www.iamsterdam.com/en-GB/experience/deals/i-amsterdam-city-card I will definitely try it out next time and try all the places they give free access to!

We had a fantastic time in Amsterdam and this hotel was the best location ever especially at night when we were out all night!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were warmly welcomed when we arrived after a Red Eye flight from Atlanta. Michael checked us in, found us a room with a stand- up shower as requested ( after a few tries) and was extremely helpful and friendly throughout our stay. He recommended areas in which to walk that were slightly off the beaten path.. The location was great. We only rode a Tram one time since we are walkers and found our way with good maps - only lost our way a couple of times. Our room was very clean, made up quickly after we left it and we had plenty of towels and toiletries. As Platinum Marriott Rewards members, we had access to the Lounge for breakfast, afternoon tea and drinks and snacks in early evening. We were disappointed to find very little variety offered ( same foods for breakfast and snacks every day) as if the hotel was catering to a rapid turnover clientele rather then recognizing that some of us used the hotel as our home for longer stays.

When we returned for one night post cruise, we were happy to be checked in once again by Michael we booked us into 'our' room from pre- cruise. Unfortunately, the hotel was very crowed; it was hard to even find a lobby seat, and the lounge where we went to wait for our room to be ready was full and had several families with noisy young children putting feet on furniture and devouring the food. The hostesses ignored the behaviors of the children and therefore the needs of the other guests. This behavior occurred at breakfast as well. Tables were not cleared in a timely manner. We moved to the room with the business center and again found people with bare feet on furniture and stains from spilled food on chairs.

We really liked staying there, found the Navigators and Concierges friendly and helpful and luggage well cared for. We would return when we come back to Amsterdam, if the issues we raised are corrected. Great location and Michael's assistance was exemplary

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
231 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Renaissance Amsterdam is just a few minutes' walk from the central station but on a quiet side street, yet very handy for the trams - you can get anywhere easily. The lobby is smart, rooms comfortable with windows that open! The hotel has an Italian restaurant and also a Brown Pub serving excellent pea soup and other Dutch specialities. The club lounge offers breakfast, afternoon tea, hors-d'oeuvre and drinks - a good deal for members and those in on the club level. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The conference center is in a converted church across the road. Sometimes very large groups are booked in but soon absorbed. Shirts cost €9. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is in a very close location from the Amsterdam Central Station (4 Blocks). We made the mistake of getting a cab and it took 3 minutes and 5 Euros. It is best to walk... Also, it is central to transportation to the city center. The upgrade of the wifi and breakfast is well worth it. It also includes access to the lounge. In the Lounge it includes mid afternoon snacks and beer and juices. Customer service was great. The rooms were comfortable. We were 2 adults and 2 teens in one room. No issues with space.

Room Tip: Request if possible a room in the main building. For rooms with capacity of 4 people to a room they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Visited the hotel during a short summer break to Amsterdam in July 2013. The hotel is located on a silent nice street just off the Damrak and within 5-minutes walk to the Centraal Station. The street itself as well as the location if fantastic - with small cafes and restaurants around as well as the several nice coffeeshops in the area. Perfect for walking around, only 10 minutes walk to Dam Square, Red Light District, etc. where all the action is going on. In general - the property is modern, nice and comfortable, the only drowback is the Wing A (the oldest one) which is located good 10 minutes walk inside the buildings from the reception with the elevators change - this was really frustrating after a long day when all you think about is dropping to your bed and sleep. However, this was not a major issue. The concierge service (or, as they call it - navigators) was extremely friendly and helpful with the restaurant recommendations and bookings. Resume: very nice hotel for a short stay in Amsterdam, the city worths it, no doubt at all!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in Wing A!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Marriott Amsterdam
Marriott Amsterdam
#67 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,893 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#24 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
#143 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.