We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convenenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #62 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Friendly, convenenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Renaissance Amsterdam is just a few minutes' walk from the central station but on a quiet side street, yet very handy for the trams - you can get anywhere easily. The lobby is smart, rooms comfortable with windows that open! The hotel has an Italian restaurant and also a Brown Pub serving excellent pea soup and other Dutch specialities. The club lounge offers breakfast, afternoon tea, hors-d'oeuvre and drinks - a good deal for members and those in on the club level. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The conference center is in a converted church across the road. Sometimes very large groups are booked in but soon absorbed. Shirts cost €9. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    719
    219
    70
    36
See reviews for
249
659
95
355
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is in a very close location from the Amsterdam Central Station (4 Blocks). We made the mistake of getting a cab and it took 3 minutes and 5 Euros. It is best to walk... Also, it is central to transportation to the city center. The upgrade of the wifi and breakfast is well worth it. It also includes access to the lounge. In the Lounge it includes mid afternoon snacks and beer and juices. Customer service was great. The rooms were comfortable. We were 2 adults and 2 teens in one room. No issues with space.

Room Tip: Request if possible a room in the main building. For rooms with capacity of 4 people to a room they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Visited the hotel during a short summer break to Amsterdam in July 2013. The hotel is located on a silent nice street just off the Damrak and within 5-minutes walk to the Centraal Station. The street itself as well as the location if fantastic - with small cafes and restaurants around as well as the several nice coffeeshops in the area. Perfect for walking around, only 10 minutes walk to Dam Square, Red Light District, etc. where all the action is going on. In general - the property is modern, nice and comfortable, the only drowback is the Wing A (the oldest one) which is located good 10 minutes walk inside the buildings from the reception with the elevators change - this was really frustrating after a long day when all you think about is dropping to your bed and sleep. However, this was not a major issue. The concierge service (or, as they call it - navigators) was extremely friendly and helpful with the restaurant recommendations and bookings. Resume: very nice hotel for a short stay in Amsterdam, the city worths it, no doubt at all!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in Wing A!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Location and space are two reasons to stay here. It’s really close to the train station, and it’s practically across the street from my favorite restaurant, Moti Mahal. It's also on a quiet street, so there have never been any issues with noise. We usually don’t stay in U.S.-based chains when we’re overseas, but this one doesn’t feel like a Renaissance. The rooms are spacious but not at all generic. This time, we had breakfast at the hotel due to a really early train departure (so it was the only thing open). Again, not the generic breakfast I was expecting; it was actually quite good. This was our fourth trip to Amsterdam, and we've stayed here the last three times. It's consistently good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Three generations of us stayed at the renaissance on a 2 night stay,great location 3 minutes from central station but in a quiet road.Breakfast was taken sitting in the sunshine at the cafe across the road beside the canal,right next door to this was a tapas restaurant where we had lunch on the first day.The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble,we had a very spacious room ,with very comfortable beds and pillows.
The hotel was situated in a very convenient location for exploring amsterdam,we took a city tour hop on hop off bus ,trip down the canal and a visit to the Anne Frank museum is a must although we found early evening a better time as there are always queues.Most places are within in walking distance but the trams are an excellent form of transport with a ticket costing 2 euros80 and lasting an hour.Bicycles are also really good for getting around the city.Lots of museums including Maritime,Van Gogh,Heineken experience and manny others.Plenty of things to do whatever the weather and for all ages.Will definitely return

Room Tip: A room overlooking the quiet street provides a nice outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a great stay at this property. The rooms were clean, modern, and spacious (particularly for Europe) and appointed with everything I expected (including a kettle) and the beds were quite comfortable. While we didn't have much of a view from our room (it overlooked an alley and another building), the room was very quiet -- not always the case with a hotel in a central tourist district.

The lobby and other public spaces look great -- again quite modern and stylish. The hotel staff was friendly, pleasant and helpful for us and it was never a problem that we didn't speak any Dutch.

We had access to the lounge, which provided a nice selection of breakfast items on weekdays (though some items like cheese and yogurt occasionally ran out and weren't refilled), and access to soft drinks and snacks during the rest of the day (including an afternoon tea with pastries). I didn't make it to the weekend breakfast in the restaurant, but my friend traveling with me did and said the experience was rather chaotic.

The location was great for us -- a very short walk to the train station, trams, and all of central Amsterdam. I loved being able to walk out the door and be just minutes from canals, restaurants, and all the character one expects from visiting there. However, the area near the hotel does have a number of "coffee shops", red light windows, and interesting "souvenir" shops, so parents traveling with their families may need to explain some things to their kids.

Getting to the major art museums like the Rijksmusueum was pretty easy too -- there's a tram stop just a few blocks from the hotel, and from there it's a direct, 10-15 minute trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel using points, and it was a great experience. The location was really nice.. The room did seem a little small ...a king with a rollaway bed. There was no extra room to spare. The navigator staff (front end concierge) was excellent. They answered all of our questions and were even able to sell us a tram ticket and canal cruise ticket right at the desk which saved us time in line. We loved Ben, part of the navigator staff. We did not give it 5 stars because on our final bill they had added over $50 worth of mini bar items, none of which were ours and the concierge lounge staff was not at all friendly, bordering on rude.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.