We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #60 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The location of this Hotel is wonderful! It's about a quarter mile walk to the main station. It is nestled in a quiet alcove, yet steps away from decent places to grab a bite to eat, a small grocery store. Single Canal is a few blocks away. One of the most trendy shopping areas is a short walk away and there are many cafes, coffee shops, and interesting areas to prowl near by. We were not afraid to wander the neighborhood in the evening, although we were never out after 10 pm. Americans will be happy with this hotel because the beds are as you would expect in The States. Comfortable mattress (not two twins shoved together), crisp linens, and standard height.off the floor. The room is generous in size with plenty of room for baggage and things. The room was cleaned and the bed crisply made daily. Check in was handled quickly and with courtesy and staff were always available to help guests plan daily activities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    655
    663
    214
    66
    35
See reviews for
208
602
88
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bernardsville, NJ
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance for three nights. We stay in a lot of Marriott hotels as we are Marriott Rewards members. The hotel lived up to the Marriott name.

The room was spacious, clean, and in Marriott style. The bed was incredibly comfortable.

I used the fitness center- well equipped and modern.

The location is great. If you are traveling by train or wish to travel to the airport from the hotel, the hotel is a five minute walk from the Central Train Station. (NOTE: Airport trains run every 15 minutes and take about 15 minutes to arrive at airport).

In addition, the hotel is great to head in any direction in the city. If you are looking to rent a bike and do as the residents of Amsterdam do, rent a bike at Hotel Scooters (make a left out of hotel and a right at the corner...13 Euros per day for a bike).

With our Marriott Rewards status, we were provided free breakfast. On the weekends, the breakfast is served in the restaurant and is abundant.

DAY TRIP- Recommendation:
Rent a bike. Take the free ferry across the canal by the Central train station. Follow the signs for Volendam. Ride out to Volendam for lunch and drinks. WARNING: 30 miles roundtrip. But you are on biker paths and see amazing views.

Two complaints (not so much for travelers, but for Renaissance staff that may view this):
1- We had to go to the front desk three times because our room keys did not work. That is problematic especially when the elevator requires a room key to select your floor. There apparently was a problem with the front desk machine.
2- The hotel offers free WiFi to certain Marriott Rewards members. Instead of providing a username/password or some other type of access, you have to create a password every 24 hours to access the WiFi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at the Renaissance for 3 nights with my wife and 1 year old daughter in late July 2013. The location is conveniently located <5 minutes from the central station. Many of the historical sites and museums are located within a 15 minute walk. The room was clean, modern and the A/C worked perfectly. The service was the best I have ever had in Europe. The cleaning staff, front desk, concierge, guest services, bar tenders, and the hotel restaurant staff were all amazing. Traveling with a 1 year old presents many problems; however, the mentioned staff made these problems their own and graciously helped me find resolutions. E.g., After mistakenly buying buttermilk at a local grocery for my daughter, I asked the bar tender if he had milk to fill a small cup. He asked how old the baby was and then recommended whole milk, which he provided for free. I could go on and on...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for one night, during our last night in Amsterdam. With my platinum status, we were upgraded to a “Superior room” – which was a nicely appointed one-room suite with full living room. The location was fairly good – very near to the train station (only a few blocks away) and walking distance to the bars/restaurants. Also, the surroundings were not too noisy. Unfortunately, the negatives far outweighed the positive attributes. Housekeeping woke us up in an attempt to clean our room at 8am on a Saturday (on the day of check out – which they should have known); there was a smell in the corridors during the entire time of our stay; the bathroom was incredibly small and only the bare minimum number of towels was provided; the breakfast was of extremely poor quality; and the clientele was very very touristy – large families; children running around constantly; extremely loud conversations in hallways, in the lobby and at breakfast. There were many tourists hanging out in sweatpants, ripped t-shirts, etc. The rooms were NOT soundproof (so be warned). I would not recommend this hotel to either business professionals or tourists looking for a charming experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great location - 5 minute walk to main train station in Amsterdam, minutes to red light district, flower market, and many other tourist attractions including canal tours. Concierge was very helpful. Restaurant was nice but not great. I would stay there again if I visited this wonderful city again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is one of three of business options when staying in the centre. The hotel is fairly good, the location is great but for some reason staff training is non-existent! When checking in I was told that I'd have a twin. Errr no I won't, I didn't book one and not being an 8-year old I don't want one. After arguing the point for what seemed like an eternity and being told that they were fully booked and there wasn't one available, one was found. It was a decent enough room, but was located half a mile from the reception via two lifts and a tunnel between hotels.
On the plus side, breakfast was very good!

Room Tip: I'd would email the hotel to confirm room choice if booking via an online travel agent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

5 minute walk from rail station, centrally located, and very friendly. we enjoyed the benefits of the club lounge, including free drinks and food, but you do need to get in before many of the American visitors grabbed most of the food. We had a very comfortable stay and had no complaints at all

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.