We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location for city touring with family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #59 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Location for city touring with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel was the best location for us to have as a home base during our tour of the Netherlands. It is walking distance from the train station, Canal boat tours and has fantastic rooms. The hotel is very nice for family trips. We ended up with a suite so all four of us could have one room. Other hotels tried to put us into two rooms, The Renaissance Navigators ( Concierge) was always helpful in suggestions for dining, tours and travel in the area. They have maps of the area that highlight all the key spots for your visit.

Room Tip: Doesn't have a pool which was a bummer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    655
    664
    214
    66
    35
See reviews for
208
603
88
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Nice hotel interior and efficient reception staff. I think I was just unlucky to get my room in the top floor of A-Wing. The problem with A-Wing is that you have to go to the 2nd floor then walk for a distance then take a 2nd lift to the A-Wing rooms. Being in the top floor of the A-Wing also has a disadvantage of having the room effectively cropped making the room feel smaller, but everything else is of excellent quality. If I were staying with the family it wouldn't have been the best of experiences but for a single business traveller I think it was ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

A 7-minute walk from the centraal station, this hotel has almost everything right, except for the absence of free Internet access which is now freely available in many good hotels. Staff at reception and restaurants is very friendly. The concierge desk, which the hotel calls Navigator desk, is also very helpful and courteous. There are a large number of restaurants and eating joints within walking distance of the hotel, The Dam Square is a 10-12 minutes walk from the hotel and just a 2-minute ride from a tram station located close to the hotel. The lounge bar on the ground floor is chic and alcohol and food is pretty reasonable priced. Won't mind staying again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

nice hotel ,good service ,location was great,employes where helpful and nice.
my only complait is that there no free internet not even in the lobby,in this day of age upselling internet has gotta stop.
ps there where other hotels that had free internet in there lobby so i used that but shouldnt have too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our room was a large double double with room for a roll away, but that is where the luxury ends. We had 3 towels. When I asked for more - none arrived. However, when the maid knocked to see if she could clean the room, she was happy to provide towels - she was unaware of my request for towels an hour earlier.
The refrigerator is really a self-charging mini-bar, so don't move anything to store your own food or medications. Luckily, when we did we had an exceptional staff member who was understanding and reversed the charges. When he later found out there was a problem at the airport with my husband's ticket, he also allowed him a late check-out and helped us make accommodations and transportation arrangements for an additional night. He recommended we buy our tickets to the Van Gogh museum at the hotel to avoid the long lines.
His hospitality contrasted with the bell men - who didn't offer to open a door or pick up a bag until my 11 year old daughter took the bell cart to unload our luggage herself! Their response, "that is against policy!" They must be on the take - because I never saw them help anyone - they do smoke and socialize in the alley though - so look there if you need one.
When we bought tickets to the Van Gogh museum from the "navigator desk - which is also the bell desk, we were told they were out of child tickets (children get in free) so we would have to wait in the line anyway. I'm glad I purchased the tickets, because at the museum they moved us to the front of the line since we were only purchasing a free ticket! When we asked to have our bags held until we left the town, we were asked when exactly were we leaving - the bell man recommended we pick up our luggage at 6PM - why?
In contrast, the bell man who delivered our luggage, was cheerful and welcoming.
The bartenders were also excellent. Helpful, cheerful, attentive, but not intrusive. The appetizers were tiny. Our vege chips were undippable because they were the size of the chips at the bottom of the bag!
So if you can get past the lack of welcome from the front desk and some of the bell man, you will enjoy this average hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a double double with room for a roll away -no extra charge, but the room will be large
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Renaissance Amsterdam is a brilliant hotel. It is in the centre of Amsterdam with everything within a stone's throw away. The reception was very warm and gave me a very good overview of the city. Please book the Canal ride at the hotel as they do not charge more and provide special service. Room had all the prerquisite amenities.

Room Tip: Avail their canal ride service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cutchogue, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel at the start of our vacation. It's location is very convenient to the Central Station where the train from the airport goes and also for the docks where cruise ships leave from. It is also very near to the canal cruise docks. Many of the sites you want to see in Amsterdam are within walking distance from this hotel or just a short canal boat ride. The hotel staff was very friendly, professional and helpful in pointing out attractions and how to get to them. I would recommend this hotel as a very good place to stay on a visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.